We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort for a weekend in late November. We had a one bedroom with a kitchenette and a wood burning fireplace. The bedroom and living space were small but immaculate. The Kitchenette was surprising large with granite countertops and well stocked with cooking supplies (pots, dishes etc.).

We loved the wood burning fireplace but did find the firewood a bit pricey ($9 and we burned it all in one evening). The couch was a bit uncomfortable but the bed was really comfortable.

The resort is just outside the town site of Banff, which is great if you want some quiet and quick access to nature. They have a free shuttle bus that will take you downtown, but if you have a car parking is free in Banff and the town is relatively easy to navigate. I would recommend a trip to Cave and Basin and the Banff upper hot springs while in Banff. If your budget allows ($$$) Sunday brunch at the Banff Springs Hotel is very good.

  • Liked — The wood burning fire places
  • Disliked — the uncomfortable sofa
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    244
    124
    44
    25
See reviews for
189
227
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

We had a two bedroom condo for a week in November. The unit can accommodate 6 people and there was enough room for our family (2 parents - 2 kids). You could fit 6 adults for a night or two but for a week it would be too crowded.

The two bedrooms were small but there was enough room for us. We had to move some furniture around in the bedroom but there was room for a playpen for our little one.


The good:
Overall we were very happy with our stay and We will stay at this resort again. The condo had everything we needed, the resort had a great pool and hot tub which we used everyday and the fitness facilities were well equipped.

The Resort had kids board games to borrow which we appreciated.

The sports desk and front desk staff seemed very helpful.



The Bad:
Prior to checking in I had called several times to ensure that we got a renovated unit. I was told the morning of check-in that we would have a renovated unit. When we got to our room it was not a renovated unit. - But it was no big deal because it seemed fine. but after a week in this unit I can tell you that it definitely needed renovations...But on the other hand we did not have to worry about our kids spilling on the floor LOL.

The fitness room had great equipment but the room itself was in need of renovations.

The un-renovated units do not have real ovens.

The resort has wifi but it is not free...about $60 for the week. or you can pay / day.

  • Liked — Great facilites for children
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We booked into this Hotel in the beginning of August, on check in we were staying in one of the seperate cottage style suites on the main site but away from the main building.
where we found these suites a little on the small size for a family stopping for more than a couple of nights, very little drawer or hanging space, noise was not a problem as we were on the top floor. and Traffic noise was never an issue.
we ate one night in the "Seasons" Resturante which was a truly excellant experience, the waitress ( whos name i sadly cant remember) was most attentive 5 stars for that. all the staff were most helpfull, to be honest i may not stop there again only for the reasons of trying somewhere more in Banff for the walkability side of things.

  • Liked — Seasons Resturante
  • Disliked — Lack of Hanging and Drawer space
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

It was with great fear that we took this resort for a week of timeshare. However, from the moment we arrived it exceeded all our expectations. We asked for and received one of the renovated units, 2 bed sleeps 6. the bedrooms are small but with a little orgainsation they are fully functional and the units were terrific and easily accommodated 3 adults. We went on the walking activities organised by the resort and we had a great time. Most of the staff were young, friendly and obviously from overseas but they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. This is a great place to stay when visiting Banff, they have a shuttle bus that runs on the hour from 11 to 11 and being out od town it is very quiet. We had a fantastic time here.

  • Liked — Totally renovated and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

This was a pure gamble on our part when we booked the hotel. We knew that the older, non renovated rooms were disaster areas, so when we got to the hotel late, and feared that the only rooms available were the old ones, we were happy to see that the room was a renovated one.

We stayed in the "Two Room Suite" (2 bedrooms, a queen bed in each, 2 bathrooms, one with a tub, one with a shower stall, full kitchen and sofa sleeper). The room was beautiful, had a good view of the mountains, had some chipmunks running around on the hotel grounds (like by trees, sidewalks), but the rooms were quiet and wildlife free. Additionally we saw caribou on the hotel grounds. Clean rooms, and the brand new dishwasher was very nice. The beds were new, as was the sofa bed. Staff was very helpful. Only 2 phones in a 2 floor condo style room however, one in the kitchen (lower level) and one in one of the bedrooms upstairs. Additionally, the lack of Air Conditioning was a bit of a problem, although to the room's credit, it did come with two of those rotating desk fans.

The hotel restaurant was over priced and apart from a few select dishes, such as the nachos, should be avoided. The pizza I ordered was more like a life preserver with a paper thin amount of toppings, and a over sized crust. as for the hotel parking, it is a bit tight.

  • Liked — The room was brand new!
  • Disliked — No A/C, food was over priced.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

We love Banff so much we own an annual timeshare at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort. There are just two timeshare properties in the whole area, so it is not like other ski towns where you have choice. The Banff three ski areas are amazing and the spring skiing divine. Lake Louise and the ski slopes there are so close by. We love Canada and this National Park is one of the most beautiful on earth. The Banff Rocky Mountain Resort property itself is in an incredible location - actually inside Banff National Park preserve which is about 2 miles and walking distance from the best downtown area where there are terrific grocery stores (a huge Safeway), amazing restaurants, lots of shops, apres ski fun, and great nightlife. Because the resort is not in the town itself, it must adhere to the national park rules and building codes - which explains why the small 1/1 rooms which are on the lower floors have in some areas of the room 7 ft ceilings and are only 350 sq ft. If your idea of a great ski vacation place is nestled in the woods and away from the bustle and want an alternative to a boring hotel room, the noise of staying in town, or staying on the ski mountain - this is the place. The Resort grounds are literally in the woods and you have many gorgeous mountains to see all around you, all sorts of interesting animals wandering about, incredible nature trails, peace and quiet, etc. right outside your door. It's rustic, and you need to understand that. The 2/2's are on the upper floors and are quite spacious, approximately double the size of the 1/1's - 750 sq ft, very high ceilings, etc. All have balcony's and lovely fireplaces (buy wood in town - it's cheap) and ample outdoor space to enjoy the fresh air. There are even rooms that are available to those traveling with pets (dog friendly), which is a nice touch. The property renovations are due to be done within the next year...Canada has a shortage of day laborer workers in the Banff area, so construction projects can take a long time.

Our trip this year was fine without issue (we were in a renovated room and knew the rooms are small and have limited storage space) - that is until our last night. Our upstairs neighbors (a group of college students) were partying hard and louder than loud for two straight hours lasting well past midnight and were smoking (against the rules as well). The front desk and night management did nothing to quell it. Certainly, they blew us off! We were aghast. It was late, we were tired, and there should not have even been an issue with dealing with this. We had to call 3 times to get someone to even call the other room, and even then, the young folks at the front desk were quite defensive of the young folks upstair "just having fun". Never mind that there are specific rules about the number of people who can stay in one unit, and also the National park has very, very strict noise ordinances as does Canada. Furthermore, the property is not the best designed and the rooms have very poor noise abatement. So, if you are downstairs and the upstairs folks are loud or walk around in ski boots, it echoes loudly. The front desk and anyone who works there knows this. It can be easily dealt with if travelers are considerate of one another. When we directly reported the two hour noise problem to the day manager on duty the next day she could not care less, did not make a record of our complaint, and was so incredibly rude to us (and we are owners!). It's obvious to a seasoned traveler that the staff there has little or no training in customer care, is allowed to get away with general bad attitudes, is not trained to properly handle situations, etc. The other item worth noting is that they hire college students to be the room cleaners. So, let's just say the attention to detail is not there and the cleaning standards are not in keeping with three star or better hotel room quality nor is the cleaning consistent. We wish that Royal Host would address the staffing and maintenance issues. As owners, we heard countless stories from those there as hotel guest on not getting even the small issues addressed (leaving them with a bad experience and folks leaving negative feedback here). The lack of hospitality and professionalism by the front desk staff and the lack of professional management standards and related performance IS the problem, and is quite fixable.

Of course, there are individuals who are great - the sports and recreation desk manager was fantastic and gave us some of the best recommendations, tips, and restaurant advice, given that he is a local. He was highly professional and very personable (go Neil!). But he is but one exception.

  • Liked — Great facility, especially the sauna and sports rooms
  • Disliked — Front desk staff are poorly trained and unprofessional
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Al
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed July 2-July 6, 2008. We got an upstairs 2 bedroom and 2 bath condo with the senior discount for $295. It has an outside sitting area and they brought us extra chairs. Our unit was on the same side of the street as the office, newly remodeled (I got the must have for remodeled on this site) and not far from the hot tub. It was all so clean and beautiful. The bedrooms are so small you could not put a suitcase down on the floor, but we managed. The living area has a nice fireplace, a dining table and plenty or room for a family. The food in Banff was so expensive we ate in two nights and ate a picnic two days. I would get my food at a market before you get to Banff and only go to the Safeway for this and that cold items. We got two small bags for $115. Off was ten bucks and you NEED it here. Lots of mosquitos in Banff this year. Super unit for couples that travel together or families. A bit out of town so you do need a car. Wonderful.

  • Liked — 2 bedrooms and two baths
  • Disliked — small bedrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.