We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
West Kelowna
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel and it was great. We were upgraded to a wolf suite which was wonderful as we were able to cook our dinner and breakfast. The suite was very well equipped and the loft bedroom was extremely comfortable. The location was good as we were able to cycle to Vermillion Lakes . As the resort is a bit out of town, it is very quiet, but certainly within an easy walking/biking distance. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. We would definitely stay here again, as we did not encounter some of the concerns that have been.mentioned.

Room Tip: The wolf suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcome upon your arrival and that you were pleased with the junior suite that you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    261
    129
    47
    28
See reviews for
206
238
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a really good value hotel with great room layout, friendly staff and good amenities. It's also only a short drive to Banff town centre.
We are a large family so find their room layouts excellent for fitting the maximum number of people in a room comfortably whilst still allowing each person o have some privacy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our room size suited your needs as a family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The receptionist was really helpful and welcoming. We stayed in a standard room 1001. It was clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable. They provide free shuttle to and from Banff downtown. Very happy with my stay here. The scenery is beautiful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time in Banff. Yes, the scenery is beautiful. We were happy to see that the Front Desk staff made you feel welcome at the resort and that you were pleased with our junior suite. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Banff again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for seven nights. The rooms could use a little bit of a face lift but overall they were well worth the price. The two bedroom condo, provided a good night of sleep after a day of hiking. The flat screen TV came with a DVD player if you asked for it. The kitchen is adequate for breakfast and the rooms were clean. The fireplace was nice, but you had to pay for the un-seasoned wood. The location was minutes from town and a though we didn't use it, a free shuttle is provided. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. Glad to see that you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park and the time you spent with us at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed at this resort about a half dozen times and won't be staying there again. It's a shame how badly it's deteriorated over the years service wise. We planned this romantic getaway in advance and wanted to stay at this resort because of the quiet location away from the town and knew what the accommodations were like in advance so we weren't disappointed there. What was disappointing was the service, because of the Canada day long weekend the resort was full but that doesn't excuse not cleaning a room, the front desk told us that they had 170 plus rooms to clean ???? At almost $300 per night I expect to come to back to a cleaned room, period. The noise from the adjoining rooms went until after 1 am and the front desk did nothing to address it so we had to ask the guests to please keep the noise down. Again when your paying these kinds of rates you'd expect a good nights sleep and unfortunately that's not what we got on our weekend getaway. Very disappointed. The resort did give us a free movie for our troubles. If you are staying at. This resort don't take a bottom unit.
Banff is a beautiful place to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $50 and stay somewhere better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
This is truly disappointing. Yes, Banff is a busy place over long weekends and during the summer months. I am so sorry that we did not meet your needs with the service we provided. Our staff did call security to deal with the noise issue but they did not respond in a timely manner. We also could have provided more help to you upon checkout. I was glad to see that you liked the accommodation you booked. I hope that you will return to the resort in the future and would like to discuss your visit. Please contact me directly at 403-762-7456 or send me an email with your contact information and I will call you. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice "cabin type" accommodations ... very good shower ... very good cable tv .... good kitchen with fridge and stove .... small bedroom ..... the restaurant was very poor in food quality and selection but the restaurant staff was polite and efficient .. front desk staff fair .... they were however able to find my folio and email me a copy immediately upon request a couple of weeks after the visit ... close to downtown .... fair choice given the price .. very good value

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letrips66
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were a group of 4 and saw a two bedroom condo option when looking at lodging choices. Reviews are all over the board, so our expectations weren't overly high; however, we were only planning to sleep in the room, not spend much time there. The cost was $230 CAD per night, or only $115 per room, which we could never have found for a decent hotel. When we arrived, we were upgraded to the "Wolf Building" since they weren't fully booked. Except for carrying our 50 pound suitcases up to the second floor, it was nice. Not fancy, but fit our needs perfectly. We liked the wolf motif and they had some beautiful pictures on the walls. There were two bathrooms, both with showers, to help us get ready quickly. The only criticism was the king room didn't have enough room to open up both our suitcases and had to put one outside the room in the hall. And as many others have pointed out, it's a little removed from the downtown area, just a mile from the TransCanada Highway and a few minutes drive to downtown Banff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.