We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a pleasant stay in Banff. The staff was very friendly. You can take the shuttle bus to downtown, we used it once, the rest of our time we used our car. But it's nice to have that option. The room was clean and you have everything you need. The only downside of our stay were the upstairs neighbours, you could hear every step they take, the floor was cracking with every step. The first night they started moving around at 1 am, and the second night it was like they were rearranging their entire room at 2 am and it lasted for about 1,5 hours.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    222
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
166
208
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here over Easter for 4 nights. The upgraded "wolf" suite was nicer aesthetically, but it was so small. Also, it was on the 2nd floor. We were not made aware of any ski lockers either so we left those in the car. I was not worried about theft as Banff is a safe place. There were 4 adults and 2 young children in our party. It was annoying how the kids had to sleep in the cramped living room on the pull out making it impossible for the adults to socialize. There are two bedrooms upstairs and a large full bathroom. On the main floor was the cramped living room, small kitchen with a very small fridge and a large dining table. Other appliances were fine. This unit cost $400/night. Having been to Banff many, many times before and knowing the prices, I was surprised at what we got for $400/night. I really expected more. On the other hand, the pool was nice for the kids, two hot tubs were nice to soak at night. In the summer the tennis courts and playground would come in handy as well. So this resort has great amenities, but its getting dated and overpriced. The beds were comfy and it was clean, so those go a long way!

Room Tip: Wolf rooms are updated, but I think mainly on the 2nd floor, which makes lugging heavy bags up the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Beautiful scenery. We stayed here for 7 nights. Just the two of us with our little dog. Stayed in a one bedroom which is on the bottom floor and quite small, nice but small. last time we had a 2 bedroom and that was perfect. Will do the 2 bedroom next time. Room was very clean, staff very nice. Went for a nice hot tub every day and visited the gym nearly every day. Is a little way out of town but they offer a free shuttle service every hour starting in the morning till 11 at night which was so handy. Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here in Dec for 5 nights with our family of 5. We booked the wolf condos and had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with full kitchen, sofa bed, fireplace. It couldn't have been better place for our family to spend Christmas! We felt at home with plenty of room. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable, well looked after and for a winter stay- were everything we hoped for and more. The staff were friendly and the shuttle into town was fantastic. The wolf Condos were wonderful for us and our 3 kids and we loved being just out of town and with the access to the abundance of snow and easy access to the walking trails etc.... Our kids loved having a fire each night and being able to cook our own meals was wonderful when we wanted to have some time indoors or a quick easy trip into town was no problem also. The facilities were great, our kids loved the outdoor pool/spa and all tours etc..we took picked us up right at the door. We can't recommend this resort highly enough for a family stay in Winter. We would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Ask for the wolf condos. Rooms close to the road were fine and give our kids a huge area to play in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for one week. We had originally booked a one bedroom loft suite, which turned out to be rather cramped, noisy and in need of updating. This was disappointing as we had upgraded for this! However, the management were able to move us the next day to a refurbished 2 bed condo, which was incredibly comfortable, roomy and much quieter due to its location away from the road. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and our stay, after moving, was very enjoyable. Although somewhat away from the centre of Banff, the regular free shuttle from the resort worked out very well. We used the outdoor hot tub, which was also very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, and be aware that the one bed units are OK for two people. If on a longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of January 2014. The Resort itself is looking a little tired and could do with an update as could the rooms. However, I did not deter from us having a great holiday break with friends. The staff at the Resort were very friendly and accommodating and the regular shuttle service at night is a godsend! The proximity to both skiing resort is decent, although you do need a car when visiting Banff is you want to ski in my opinion. The ski bus isn't the cheapest over a week and it gets very busy.

PROS
Apartment was well set up, good equipped kitchen
Shuttle service into centre of Banff
Large outdoor hot tub
Good staff

CONS
Needs some modernisation
Location is far from. Banff town centre
Restaurant menu was limited and gave a cafe/ snack feel

TOP TIP - usual the shuttle bus; it's free!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We Travelled here with 2 other families from the UK, our third trip to Banff but the first to Rocky Mountain Resort. We found the accommodation suited us really well, with a practical kitchen area , open log fire and two queen bedrooms upstairs. The bedrooms were pretty small but the we didn't spend very much time in them other than sleeping. There was just enough room for all our kit including 4 pairs of ski boots. We would have preferred one double and one twin room (for our teen kids) but the sofa bed downstairs worked just fine. Overall, we all much preferred the larger apartment style space than a hotel room.

The housemaid service was excellent, as were the front desk staff and the shuttle service drivers, always friendly and very helpful. The teens loved the pool and pool table in the bar.

We were a bit apprehensive about choosing an out of town resort, but the combination of fast and efficient taxis plus the complimentary shuttle bus into Banff worked really well.

In Summary, we had a great ski holiday in the Banff national park, and we would be happy to go back and stay at the Rocky Mountain Resort again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.