We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo and great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great condo and great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in the Wolf condo and it was perfect for our needs. The condo had 1 bedroom, new kitchen, bathroom and fireplace in the living room. It;s very nicely appointed with slate tile, granit and wood. A decent space to spread out. The hotel is not in Banff townsite, but has a free shuttle bus to and from Banff (or you can walk about 2.5 km to Banff along a paved trail) and there is a Bus that goes to the ski hills as well. You can purchase lift tickets and bus tickets at the front desk- very convenient.
The outdoor hot tub is nice too. Staff were very helpful and provided everything we asked and answered all our questions. It is also pet friendly in most rooms.

Room Tip: Book one of the newly redesigned Wolf rooms. They are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    211
    112
    38
    22
See reviews for
161
198
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The rooms are indeed small but quaint and clean. Our issues began at check-in. We are timeshare holders and exchanged our amazing accommodations in Florida for a getaway here. We have a 2 bedroom unit and were only able to get a one bedroom unit here. Yes, we asked about an upgrade but were told they were "too busy" to look into it (we checked in on a Wednesday evening). I checked online and there definitely were 2 bedrooms available. So the five of us crammed into a very small one bedroom on the ground level. Our next issue came with the noise level. We could hear the people speaking, I don't think they were yelling, above us. And every time they moved a chair about, it was grating. Nothing to complain about as it seemed they were just going about their regular business. The next biggest issue was some sort of banging noise we were woken up to multiple times each of our 3 nights there. I don't even know how to explain that noise (kind of like a big sheet of metal that's bent and then sound it makes when it pops back into shape????) I can explain one noise I heard a few times though - a creaking door sound. It was loud enough to wake me and make me think it was my bedroom door but then I realized my door was wide open. When I heard it next, I realized it was something outside. Maybe both sounds had to do with the age of the facility???? No clue but they woke my husband and I on several occasions. Since staff was too busy to deal with a room upgrade we didn't bother complaining about a noise we would hear in the overnight. I didn't have faith there could be much done about it though I guess now they're hearing my complaint. Anyway, twice we swam in the pool and it is fine but in sore need of a good scrub down and updating as does the indoor hot tub. Overall, this place was straight up disappointing. I would recommend staying elsewhere if you're visiting Banff. A basic hotel room offers the same size as a one bedroom unit here and even my hotel experiences in Banff were much quieter and more pleasant to deal with staff.

Room Tip: Always important to read reviews and make your choice based on all that you read (good and bad) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Got back a week ago from a 2 week stay, and have just booked again for next year
Lone wolf loft apartment was really well set up, spacious and clean. It was plenty warm enough even without the log fire when it dropped below -20C
Staff were delightful and exceptionally helpful.
It's useful to have your own vehicle, but the shuttle works well too.
No problems with noise from other guests and the sound of the train in the distance at night (as reported elsewhere) - even with the window open - wasn't a problem, it just added to the whole iconic 'Canadian experience' for us British tourists!

Room Tip: Go for one higher up/loft to avoid noise from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very good value for a group of three adults. We stayed in a 1brm Wolf condo after reading reviews about some of the other units being dated. Ours was renovated to a high standard and very comfortable, although the living space is small. The gym area looked to have more than the usual equipment and the pool was used regularly by one of us. Peppers serves pizza and burgers if you're in a bind for dinner. Would definitely stay again.

Pros: all staff are fantastic. Very friendly and accommodating housekeeping and front desk staff. Good sized kitchen and well equipped for cooking.

Cons: some might consider the location inconvenient; we had a car so didn't need to use the shuttle but it runs hourly. Some noise from the unit upstairs (a toddler's running footsteps) but nothing that was truly bothersome. Our unit was on the later housekeeping schedule so we were usually home when they came round but that wasn't too much of a big deal, unless you're obsessive about your bed being made.

Room Tip: Upper level condos are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We've liked this place for years and have stayed on a number of occasions - for time share weeks as well as single nights passing through Banff. Good resort location on edge of the Banff townsite. Commendations to the staff, including 'Francis' (a conscientious Irish maintenance worker at the resort) and 'Ben' (gracious & friendly gentleman at the front desk).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just back from a 5-night stay at RMR. Located approximately 3-km's from downtown Banff. I was worried that the location would be awkward in terms of experiencing the town; however, I was pleasantly surprised. After our stay, I would say that in many ways RMR enhances the experience and here is why:

1- Hourly shuttle right to downtown Banff from 11am to 11pm. In ways, it is quicker than walking from many of the other properties located closer to town.
2- Ski buses pick up here first which ensures a seat up front and on the first bus. RMR is also the first stop at the end of the day which allows guests to be the first dropped off. Huge plus in both directions
3- Limited party scene unless you ride into Banff. Allows you to really experience the National Park in a natural setting. We had elk, coyotes and eagles around the property.
4- Heated indoor lobby allows you to wait in comfort for both the shuttle and ski buses.

Good amenities:

1- Indoor pool and both indoor/outdoor hot tub are great for kids and your sore ski muscles.
2- Peppers bar feels like a home rec room and is just welcoming after a day on the slopes. The happy hour prices are fantastic and staff is very friendly.
3- Great for ski groups.
4- Go for the updated Wolf condo units -- Very nicely renovated.

Negatives:

1- The rooms are small but they maximize storage space within the small square footage.
2- 2-adults and 1-child is the maximum number I would put into a studio or 1-bedroom unit. 4-people will be cramped in this floor plan. Go for a 2-bed unit or 1-bed loft configuration.

That is pretty much it. The property is often overlooked but I will certainly consider it for future trips. I happen to be the group leader on this last trip which is why I am so familiar with all the configurations. Of the 38 in our group I did not receive any negative feedback about the quality of accommodation at RMR.

Room Tip: Note the small square footage. Couples should consider the studio or 1-bedroom. If you are a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came as part of a family group to ski. Although we were initially a little disappointed about the small size of our rooms, the staff were extremely accommodating - helping us find rooms that would accommodate our needs. Two families ended up sharing a four bedroom condo, which we definitely recommend! There was plenty of room for each family to have privacy and a large common area where we could be together in the evening to visit and relax. We were very pleased with our stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.