We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Frontier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came as part of a family group to ski. Although we were initially a little disappointed about the small size of our rooms, the staff were extremely accommodating - helping us find rooms that would accommodate our needs. Two families ended up sharing a four bedroom condo, which we definitely recommend! There was plenty of room for each family to have privacy and a large common area where we could be together in the evening to visit and relax. We were very pleased with our stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    238
    121
    41
    24
See reviews for
183
218
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great value. Fabulous service. Spacious and clean room. Quick drive to downtown. Stayed 2 nights with my boyfriend. We'll definitely return! Some heads up- For hotel shuttle pickup in town be sure to wait at the back of the hotel or you will miss it as we did. For shuttle to sunshine mountain from the hotel wait outside for the bus or it will leave within seconds.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stay here every time I go to banff with a large group of people. The place is great for young adults, never had any complaints and the staff is extremely friendly. Has a sweet hot tub an pool to use as well. Highly recommend to anyone looking to have an awesome party night in banff! The shuttle service is great as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Located very close to the highway for easy access the 3 ski resorts: Norquay (12 mins), Sunshine (20), and Lake Louise (45 mins). We stayed in a second floor, 2 bedroom unit (4 adults, 2 children). The unit has an outside ski rack (bring a lock), very useful for keeping snow out of the unit. There is ample closet space. both bathrooms are modern. Kitchen is reasonably appointed. We did need to run the dishwasher at least once a day to have enough plate/flat ware. Nice quality linens for the bath and on the beds. Lodge staff were very courteous and provided addition dishwasher soap. Laundry, squash courts, exercise room, pool, hot tubs AND a nice bar are just a short walk down the driveway! We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The rooms are quite small but very well stocked. We had a family of 4 and rented a Queen Condo room. The kids slept on the pull out couch that is in the living room area so that entire space was unavailable. The kitchenette is as soon as you walk in the door up against the back of the couch making it very difficult to get in and remove wet boots and coats. Other than feeling like the space was a little too small for the 4 of us it offered us what we needed. The Kitchen is full stocked with appliances and dishes making meals possible. We paid an extra $25 a night to bring our dog with us. Please keep in mind that if you have a large dog this could be an issue. The staff are very friendly & helpful. Our bed was VERY HARD and both my husband and I did not sleep very well because of it. They do have a feather bed topper on the bed? but we still had very stiff backs waking up. There is a shuttle bus that runs to town on the hour and picks you up in town at quarter past the hour. It holds 14 people so make sure to be one of the first waiting if this is how you intend to travel. We enjoyed the outside hot tub every evening as a nice wind down from our day. This is a very nice property and would recommend to family & friends and we would stay here again for sure ourselves!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We just came back from enjoying a 4 day stay at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort. We rented the Wolf Loft Condo and were very pleasantly surprised. The recently renovated suite was clean and spacious. There was a well-stocked full kitchen, wood fireplace and a comfortable king size bed. The resort has an indoor pool, sauna and hot tub in addition to an outdoor hot tub.
The resort is a 5 minute drive from the town site but that wasn’t a problem because they offer a free shuttle service to town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit at the BRMR for 2 week at the start of April 2013.

The resort is the only timeshare within Banff National park and is located close to the highway and a 5 minute drive to town. There is a free shuttle to Banff town every hour on the hour from 11 am till 11 pm.

Our 2 bedroom unit was located on the top two floors of a three story building. The living area, dinning table, kitchen and bathroom (shower only) were on the 1st floor with both bedrooms (two doubles) and full bathroom on the 2nd.

The unit was very clean on our arrival and was well equipped (Dishwasher, Microwave, Full cooker, Large fridge/freezer, etc) with lots of storage areas. No washer/dryer but these are available in the main building.

The resort had a full programme of activities for all ages. One of the organised activities is a camp fire on Saturday evening, it’s free and our kids loved roasting marshmallows over the fire.

The resort is part of the Banff Lodging Company which allows restaurant and spa charges from a number of hotels in town to be charged back to your unit. We’d highly recommend the The Keg Steakhouse at the Caribou and Chili’s Grill at the Fox Hotel.

Overall we felt that this was a very good resort in a fantastic ski location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Especially the shuttle driver who accommodated our request to be dropped off at a stop other than the regular stop on a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.