We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driven by one hundred times, first time to stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Driven by one hundred times, first time to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place is located a few minutes outside of the town and I finally decided to stay there when I saw a deal on the place. Our room was not small, it had a gas fireplace that warmed the room nicely, we had a view of the forest and when you openned the door to our room we were close enough to the trees to expect to see wildlife. I was pleased with what we got for the price and there was nothing wrong with anything there. The bedding and pillows were not the highest quality and I was not fooled into thinking 5 star accommodation. The breakfast buffet was similar to the better free hot breakfasts you get in urban areas, but this one was over ten dollars each. The outdoor hottub was filled with noisy people, but they had a quiet indoor one and a sauna that heated up nicely. Don't be scared to stay here, if you don't mind not being able to walk to anywhere else.

Room Tip: I would take a room with a forest view on the bottom floor. Ski racks outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    201
    106
    38
    21
See reviews for
158
192
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The 2 bedroom condo was great size wise but certainly not upgraded to the standard of some others we saw. That was acceptable based on what we paid for it though, so that's okay. It is a long way out of town so don't plan on walking into banff itself - especially in winter. The regular shuttle works fine though. The biggest issue was this place had the crappiest free wifi ever. Hence this is getting posted from calgary airport on their much better free wifi! Still would stay again but might get a bit pickier on rooms if we booked far enough in advance.

Room Tip: You probably have to engage with them and ask about the standard before you book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a large room in an outer building, with a stunning view over the mountains. Spent three nights here which were memorable. The front desk staff striven to fulfill every single demand we had. Excellent overnight sleep. This place is located in the outskirts of Banff, in the middle of a forest, but there is a shuttle to the city if you don't have a car. It was pricey, but all hotels in Banff are the same, so I might even consider it as a deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here as a group of friends. Found the room to be very comfortable, it had everything we needed. Rooms were great, on the smaller size but overall everything we needed. Cleanliness of the room was the only issue, the shower could have been cleaned a little better, but overall pleasant

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

While we had a great time, the units were a little on the small size and a little bit noisy from the neighbours. Couldn't asked for a better location though, accessible, close to all you want to do and see. Customer service was a little non existent especially in the bar area, which is a shame really and I think because the staff are not long term so don't really take on board what you are saying especially when it is a complaint. Wifi was dreadful and was constantly down, this could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the roads and one that has been insulated to take away the noise of neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in Banff in late September and thoroughly enjoyed the town and surroundings. Whilst we were comfortably in our stay at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort (comfy beds, good sized rooms etc), we endured several issues: the Wi-Fi was consistently slow or not working, and the front desk dismissed our enquiries by saying it must have been peak usage times. We tried to access the Wi-Fi many times and there were always problems. Secondly, when we booked online, we booked and paid for a breakfast each, for the 2 mornings we were there. This was clearly stated on the invoice. Upon arriving we were given a card/voucher to use for the breakfast the next morning. When we arrived for breakfast, we were informed we had only one choice from the menu (!) and then the card was handed back to us, we assumed for use on the second morning. On the second morning, we were informed the card was only good for one breakfast each. We discussed this with the manager at checkout, because we had prepaid $16CA each for what we thought was 2 breakfasts each, however the menu option we had cost $10.50CA - so why would the internet option be $6 more? He was completely adamant, refused to acknowledge our annoyance and nothing was offered in return. It was a shambles. I'd happily stay in the room again, but because of our experience with the staff and service, I absolutely refuse to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed our week there. Our room was overlooking the mountains and back far away from the main road that we didn't hear any traffic noise. There is a computer in the restaurant which is very slow at times, but that may be because of the area. The front desk staff were very helpful with things. When we had a problem with the thermostat, someone from housekeeping came within 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Being on the ground floor did not have any problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.