We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The 2 bedroom condo was great size wise but certainly not upgraded to the standard of some others we saw. That was acceptable based on what we paid for it though, so that's okay. It is a long way out of town so don't plan on walking into banff itself - especially in winter. The regular shuttle works fine though. The biggest issue was this place had the crappiest free wifi ever. Hence this is getting posted from calgary airport on their much better free wifi! Still would stay again but might get a bit pickier on rooms if we booked far enough in advance.

Room Tip: You probably have to engage with them and ask about the standard before you book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baletravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
romania
Level Contributor
275 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a large room in an outer building, with a stunning view over the mountains. Spent three nights here which were memorable. The front desk staff striven to fulfill every single demand we had. Excellent overnight sleep. This place is located in the outskirts of Banff, in the middle of a forest, but there is a shuttle to the city if you don't have a car. It was pricey, but all hotels in Banff are the same, so I might even consider it as a deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here as a group of friends. Found the room to be very comfortable, it had everything we needed. Rooms were great, on the smaller size but overall everything we needed. Cleanliness of the room was the only issue, the shower could have been cleaned a little better, but overall pleasant

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CwtchHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

While we had a great time, the units were a little on the small size and a little bit noisy from the neighbours. Couldn't asked for a better location though, accessible, close to all you want to do and see. Customer service was a little non existent especially in the bar area, which is a shame really and I think because the staff are not long term so don't really take on board what you are saying especially when it is a complaint. Wifi was dreadful and was constantly down, this could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the roads and one that has been insulated to take away the noise of neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in Banff in late September and thoroughly enjoyed the town and surroundings. Whilst we were comfortably in our stay at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort (comfy beds, good sized rooms etc), we endured several issues: the Wi-Fi was consistently slow or not working, and the front desk dismissed our enquiries by saying it must have been peak usage times. We tried to access the Wi-Fi many times and there were always problems. Secondly, when we booked online, we booked and paid for a breakfast each, for the 2 mornings we were there. This was clearly stated on the invoice. Upon arriving we were given a card/voucher to use for the breakfast the next morning. When we arrived for breakfast, we were informed we had only one choice from the menu (!) and then the card was handed back to us, we assumed for use on the second morning. On the second morning, we were informed the card was only good for one breakfast each. We discussed this with the manager at checkout, because we had prepaid $16CA each for what we thought was 2 breakfasts each, however the menu option we had cost $10.50CA - so why would the internet option be $6 more? He was completely adamant, refused to acknowledge our annoyance and nothing was offered in return. It was a shambles. I'd happily stay in the room again, but because of our experience with the staff and service, I absolutely refuse to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoppy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed our week there. Our room was overlooking the mountains and back far away from the main road that we didn't hear any traffic noise. There is a computer in the restaurant which is very slow at times, but that may be because of the area. The front desk staff were very helpful with things. When we had a problem with the thermostat, someone from housekeeping came within 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Being on the ground floor did not have any problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesa707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We always try resorts without the kids and see if we would return. Won't be returning here. We had an online deal for a regular room but paid an extra $20/night to upgrade to a one bedroom suite. We were promised newly renovated rooms. The room was nice, but they forgot insulation and sound proofing when they renovated. We returned to the front desk to see about switching rooms because ours was very loud, but that would be more money of course.
Upon checkout I was asked the usual "How was your stay" and the front desk clerk, a girl from England, did nothing, sort of like...oh well, will that be all? Really? Said I would not return, and no attempt to make things right. Terrible customer relations.
If you're from out of town, don't be fooled when address reads Banff Ave. This resort is not even in the town of Banff, it's FAR! It is in Banff National Park, right off the highway. Many more great, nicer, friendlier places closer to town than this place.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor, you will hear EVERY step people upstairs take
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacFamily7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing