We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Carstairs, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend in one of the newly renovated Wolf condos. We were offered the free upgrade upon checkin. We have 4 small children and it was fully equipped for our needs. The kids loved staying in a king size bed! The modern decor is very nice.The beds were extremely comfortable and the wood fireplace is a nice touch.
It was very clean, as was the pool. We spent quite a bit of time in the pool area!
We didn't eat in Peppers, so we can't comment on that.
The only problem that we had was when we ordered some firewood, it took over an hour to get it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    219
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
166
206
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nothing Fancy. A clean, if somewhat dated room. The resort itself has beautiful mountain views.
The shuttle into town is a great addition for those wishing to have a drink or two with dinner since the location is actually a couple of miles out of town.

If I return to Banff again I think I personally would have to consider staying somewhere a little closer to the “action”. However the slightly remote location could of course be a positive depending on the intent of your trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the resort. Got an upgrade on arrival. Big two storey apartment with full facilities. Very clean, modern decor with very comfortable beds. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we had good meals in the bar and the room.
The only thing is its about 2 or 3 kms from Banff proper. Can be of benefit though as we sat on the verandah relaxing in the late afternoons watching the ever busy chipmunks in the trees and listening to bugling bull elk calling through the forest at the back of our room.
Would I stay there again? Definitely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having read the reviews on here we were certainly wondering what the Time Share was going to be like.
As we pulled up in our RV you realise that this is not some huge resort, more cosy.
As for comments on here about poor reception staff I have no idea who they were talking about, we were met by 3 well presented, friendly and very helpful people. In fact all the way through our stay the reception staff have been great, even at 3am in the morning when some ignorant guest with a huge motor home decided to start his generator, staff were quick to respond and got him off site.
We had a 2 bedroom unit over the road, these are the non renovated units, yes they are a little old, nothing major to worry about though.
The units have a large kitchen, ample space for 4 people and plenty of places to store everything. They may not have the latest flat screen TV's or air conditioning but you don't come to the Rockies to watch TV, and if you have to then TV still works.
The WiFi to a lot of people is essential and is very good.
The BAR staff...well what to say............A fantastic bunch of people, all with a smile and a cheery hello when you go in, these guys and girls are from all around the world so take 5 minutes to speak to them, you get back what you put in with people we find.
The bar staff and chef I was speaking to have a lot of enthusiasm for this place and some good ideas, i.e. make the bar into a proper sports bar, as they say this resort is the 1st place anyone see's coming off the highway so make it more appealing.
Everybody else on site was as friendly as these guys and always spoke.
The pool / sauna area needs a bit of freshening up and having the laundry access through the bar area is either genius or really strange depending on your opinion, personally I would lose it or move it.
This place certainly has potential and I would be more than willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room was clean and bed comfy! However when I booked the room I wasn't advised we would be away from the main hotel. We had a place across the road. The breakfeast was nothing to brag about. Restaurant seemed old and needed to be updated..one small old toaster for everyone. Front staff was wonderful and helpful though. We got back at 3:30 and our room was still not cleaned. However the front desk was very accommodating in getting us clean towels. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place is very average. I would not stay here again. It is very much set up for winter stays. There is no air-conditioning and the 2nd-floor room was hot and stuffy all night. It comes with a desk fan and we had to have the window open with the fan in front of it blowing all night in order to be able to breathe. The beds were very soft and old. When we complained about both of these things to whomever was on the desk at night and asked if we could have another room, he was very rude and said that all the rooms were the same. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway since we spent all the time out exploring beautiful Banff park.

The hotel is located far from the town center. This may be good or bad depending on what you want. We picked this place because it was one of the cheapest options. I think I'd pay a bit more next time and get a better place.

Breakfast at the hotel was OK. The dining area looks like it hasn't had a remodel in a long time. Did not use the pool or spa so can't comment on that. Front desk staff was very nice during the day.

Room Tip: No AC in any rooms. Beds are soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Last week was our second stay at the resort and altogether we have stayed in three different units. The staff is very helpful, personable, and engaging. The shuttle service is an absolute plus. All the units are very comfortable and very clean and the grounds are so well kept and pretty. Also went to breakfast at Peppers Grille one morning on our last visit which was very good and priced well. We stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom condo on our first visit with another couple and had room to spare.The kitchen with large pantry were great as we prepared most of our meals. During our last visit, we stayed in two different units. The executive suite was very nice; our unit on the end upstairs had windows on the vaulted ceiling side which could be left open for wonderful mountain views. It had a full size fridge, bar sink, cabinets, table and chairs. The front desk provided a microwave upon request. All three units had plenty of storage, closets, and counter space in the bathrooms. Our junior suite accommodation was a little dark. Even though it was on the end, there was a utility unit attached to the building and therefore the extra window beside the bed shown on the website pictures was eliminated.

Room Tip: If you book a junior suite, I would recommend getting an upgrade or making sure the reserved unit is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.