We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute mountain awesomeness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Super cute mountain awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We rolled into town mid-afternoon without a hotel. My group was looking for something that would sleep four and still be affordable in the gorgeous town. Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we gave the resort a call. The rate was great for a two story two bedroom condo with a foldout couch. The décor is SO cute (we were in the wolf condo). Everything was themed wolf! Photos, pulls in the kitchenette, etc. This place would be great for a small family or group of friends. Perfectly located on the drive in to town. I even saw a fox as I was leaving. Nature! Book here if you like adorable, affordable cabins! Oh! And if you need a shuttle to the airport, the Banff Airporter picks up here! Easy way to get to Calgary!

Room Tip: Ask for the wolf condo! So cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    222
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
167
209
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great place to stay around. Great swimming pool.
Nice service and rooms.

Good place as for a vacation.

The location is quite central and thus very convenient to star travels.

Should be better over the winter!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a cheap roadside motel, with some renovated condos. That's it. Yes, the Wolf condos are relatively new, so if you're going to stay here, choose one of those. But do not make the mistake of getting your hopes up. I don't have time to enumerate the problems we had with this place. Exhibit one was that I had to order a front desk person to physically come to my room so that I could show them the thick layer of dust around the edge of the bedroom floor after two days of calling to ask for a proper housekeeping visit. (Other issues - soft beds, rock-hard pillows, housekeeping at 6:30 pm, long check-out lines, dirty pool, jungle gym literally falling apart - hazardous, 20-year-old playpen offered to us in lieu of the crib we had confirmed, not in town so you have to drive to dinner, very small condo, no conditioner in the shower, etc.) Bottom line is that Banff is inside a national park. As such, development is strictly limited, there is no new construction, and no competition/reason for hotels to improve. IF we ever return, we'll stay in Canmore - way better options just 15 minutes away. Next year, we'll return to Aspen, CO.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here beginning of July 2013. Travelled from Calgary after the stampede to stay here. The 1 bedroom is way way way too small. Maybe for 1 person. We upgraded to a 2 bedroom and loved it. Omg. It was so close to the town and so close to everything . We loved it here. Would have been fantastic if the was an outdoor pool. Omg wait until u see the mountains. Love to return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely, well equipped accommodation, very clean and modern. Great beds, dishwasher and on site laundry. No air con but fans provided. Use of bbq was an unexpected bonus. The pool is very tired and needs updating. Located some distance from town although a shuttle bus is provided. Overall is very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: choose a wolf condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband stayed here and found it to be quite comfortable. Perfect place to stay in Banff. Convenient location impeccable rooms and gracious staff. I would recommend this resort without hesitation. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. 30th Aug 2013. We had requested a queen bed but instead were given a room with two full beds. We were told nothing else is available. Then we realized they gave us a room on the second floor. In spite of requesting a room on 1st floor, since my wife cannot go up stairs due to health problems, they refused to change our room.
No internet was available in the night. They gave us a coupon for the restaurant in their premises, however we couldn't go since it was on the lower levels which meant taking stairs. The coffee maker in the room did not work, we had to make it work. The only + was the scenery. Apart from that this place did not feel like it was worth the money charged for one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.