We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for touring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Banff
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for touring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a great hotel. Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The pool area could do with a little work on it but is great for a quick dip at the end of a busy day. Staff were helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    197
    103
    38
    20
See reviews for
155
186
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband, 2 dogs and I stayed for 1 night after camping for a week in the rockies. For us, it was a great place to stay. We stayed in a Wolf studio unit, which was just remodeled, so everything was new. The studio unit was clean, well appointed and the staff even brought a dog bed, treats and dog dishes for our dogs.

As others have mentioned there wasn't air conditioning and no view, but for us, this wasn't a requirement for our stay. Putting the fan in front of the open window at night was plenty fine for us, as the nights were very cool.

The only reason I put 4 stars instead of 5 is because the bed was a bit worn. Big dips in the pillow top. We were so tired, it didn't matter, but it might have been a little annoying had we stayed in that unit longer.

Room Tip: As for one of the Wolf units, if it fits the size of your party. They are all just remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice, quiet place to stay,
We, 3 adults, got a nice room with kitchen and a separate bedroom.

The resort has a decent pool.

Friendly staff.

One dowsinde:
the sofa bed was worn out, noisy and even dangerously unstable.

Our advice: nice place to stay as long as you do not have to use bunk-bed!

Room Tip: do not accept a room in which someone has to sleep on the sofa bed. Do not bunk on the sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

A lovely resort with nicely spaced out accommodation of individual lodges and groups of lodges nestled amongst some majestic mountains a short distance from the centre of Banff. Easy access into town with a shuttle or by car.
Facilities were of high standard and included pool, gym, squash and tennis courts and other actives were on offer.
Service was excellent and the restaurant fun and good value.
Would definitely stay here again and so much to do in the area, could stay for 2 weeks here no problem!! Beautiful resort

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

While in Banff we stayed here three nights and were quite happy with it. The room was neat and tidy and cleaned up well each day. We did not use the restaurant at all but each evening I went in there to use the free computer and internet which was very handy. The resort had activities planned for each day if you wanted to be involved. I think there are a lot of timeshare owners staying there as well and they all seemed to be happy. The resort is just out of town on the main road which is handy. If you do not have or do not want to use your own vehicle you can go into town and return by their shuttle bus. there is a pool , spa etc there but we did not partake of them. The resort is well presented with lots of flowers about with nice mountains nearby. Good value we thought.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Housekeeping sitting around in large groups while our room was not attended. They came late after 4 PM to see if we needed anything. We had returned from hiking and found the room not cleaned. Therefore, we declined cleaning thereafter.
Refrigerator freezer too small for ice. No ice buckets provided for ice.
No views from most rooms.
Restaurant in the basement while kids played pool (disconcerting). They have a nice dining area upstairs which was not open. The food, however, was very good considering the first impression of the restaurant was uninviting.
Could not walk to center town had to take the shuttle. The shuttle was very convenient though.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from housekeeping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all, it's been a while since I stayed at this hotel. We visited Banff and this hotel in september 2012 and stayed here for about 5 days. Its situated close to the town/village of Banff and close to the highway, so its very convenient when traveling around.

The rooms were ok. Nothing special. It was big enough, good beds and we only stayed here during the evening/night. During the day we were outside, enjoying nature, hiking and driving around. Very fun to see elks in the garden in front of our room almost every morning!

We didnt have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so can't say anything about that. Neither did we use the swimmingpool, spa or sauna.

Biggest plus for us: the hotel is very close to the town/village of Banff, close to a few great hikingtrails and the service was great. Nice staff.

We would return here the next time we visit Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.