We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Banff
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were upgraded to a second floor one-bedroom loft suite (not the Wolf condos) in the buildings across the road from the main lobby. It was very comfortable with plenty of room for two. Having a full kitchen was great. The only down side was that there is no A/C and opening the windows meant noise from the road while keeping them closed felt stuffy. But, with the upgrade it was a great value. We liked being out of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    168
    83
    35
    17
See reviews for
133
167
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

In 2012 we stayed at this resort with one of our daughters and her family. It was a little crowded for the six of us, but who spends a lot of time indoors when there's so much to experience outside. My husband and I enjoyed it so much we returned on our own this year (2013) two weeks earlier then last year. A totally different experience, but just as wonderful. The resort offers an indoor pool, restaurant, free wi-fi, workout room, laundry and grounds where wildlife walks through. Out our window we could see majestic mountains and a long waterfall. Just 2 miles from downtown Banff and convenient to Canada Hwy 1, the location is quiet, the staff friendly and did I mention wildlife (elk, deer and Columbia ground squirrels walking through the grounds! We would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for one night during the big Calgary flood. The power for most of the town, including the Resort was out from early evening till early morning. Certainly not the Reslrts fault nor the staff. The staff was very helpful. The beds were amoung the best I have slept in. We had a long drive to Banff and another long drive the following day. We had a great night sleep which made the long drive more bearable. Lol

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Banff Rocky Mountain Resort is a beautiful resort located just outside of downtown Banff. I stayed in a Junior Suite, and while it is in need of some minor updates, the room was comfortable and very clean. It was spacious and had all the amenities listed such as a fireplace. The resort itself has a wide variety of activities such as a swimming pool, squash courts, a gym and hiking/biking trails surrounding it. The staff were very friendly, especially the Australian guy that worked in Pepper's Restaurant. The food was good as well. Nothing too imaginative, but fresh ingredients and large portions make up for that! The only downside is that some of the rooms are located on the 2nd floor of the buildings, which have no elevators and the stairs are narrow. I had a large suitcase and struggled to get it up and down the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains and on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was a little worried since we were only paying $89/night through Expedia, but we loved this resort. The room was nice and cozy and was facing the woods, so it was nice and quiet. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

As a whole, this resort met our needs nicely and I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is quite a large resort on the outskirts of Banff, but there is a shuttle bus which leaves every hour between 11 am and 11 p.m. which drops you off and picks you up from the town centre if you don't want to drive. The lodges were clean and well equipped, our two bedroom one had a bathroom both upstairs and downstairs. The bedroom we were in was quite small and it became quite hot, the windows only open slightly although there were fans in the cupboard. Shame there is no air conditioning, as it was only the end of May not sure what it will be like in August? Lots of facilities for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights in Rocky Mountain Resort while visiting Banff. We were very impresssed by the Resort. The room we stayed in was excellent, it was very well equipped with a small kitchen, sofa and gas fire. The overall atmosphere of the resort is very friendly with very helpful staff. We would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.