We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
San Diego, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in Junior Suite which is pretty spacious for two of us. It has a gas fire place and fire woods could be delivered at additional charge. It also has a small refrigerator, flat screen TV, love seat couch and sofa chair. Location is nice and quite but not quite a walking distance to Banff downtown especially at night. We had good rest at night we stayed. Breakfast was not included but discount coupon was given. Furniture was a bit aged. They also seen to host in-house activities and check them out if you are interested. Overall a good valued stay within the vicinity of Banff. It would be a nice choice for family to stay.

Room Tip: Corner room facing back road would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    212
    112
    38
    22
See reviews for
161
199
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of May via an RCI exchange. We really prefer to have a kitchen accommodation when we are in the parks and hiking around so this worked out well. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The unit was good for the two of us but it is noted as sleeping 6. To be honest I would have been very dissapointed if I had come with just even one other couple. The bedrooms, upstairs, were very small, although they were comfortable, they were simply almost too small to get around. Also in general the upstairs area is very compact and shares a bathroom. The downstairs was better but sofa wasn't the most comfortable so I'm guessing as a sofa bed it wouldn't be great. Their was a fireplace and a decent kitchen area. All in all I would stay here again if the opportunity presented itself but wouldn't ever plan on 6 people.

FYI their Restaurant / Bar had very good buffalo wings!

Room Tip: I understand across the streets the units are more hotel like and not timeshare. Be vigilent when r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked this property sight unseen through AA, using miles. What a gem! Peaceful, quiet, cozy - could not ask for more.
There was some confusuion about our reservation at check in. Kudos to Emma and James at the front desk for their help. . We had to wait for the manager because it was his day off. the staff could not have been more accomodating and pleasant. We stayed in a loft style the first night, then asked to be moved because of the skylight over the bed. Too much sunlight on a long summer day. Probably ok in the winter. Enjoyed the gym and the trails and the spectacular view. I highly recommend buying firewood and building a fire. The soap and shampoo are top notch. It rained almost the whole time we were there. I asked Emma, at the front desk, if she could find some sunshine. The last day we were there, the sun came out. Thanks, Emma! . I can't say enough good things about this resort! Would definitely come back.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the one bedroom wolf condo for 4 nights in May 2013. Would recommended choosing the wolf upgrade for the extra room and full kitchen with new appliances. Very roomy for 2 people, service was excellent and the hotel even has a coin laundry on site. We liked that the resort was located a 5 minute drive out of town, was quiet and we had a lovely view of the mountains from our room. Convenient having parking on site.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Highlight of the early May weekend stay in Banff was the Wolf Condos accomodations. From the floor plan, decor, furniture, amenities and cool wolf prints, it really felt like a home away from home and really wanted to stay longer. Loved the fireplace and firewood delivered to the door. The resort staff was quick to help, courteous and professional. Since the weather was so amazing that weekend, I asked to have dinner on the sun deck outside the resort lobby. The steak sandwich from their onsite restaurant Peppers was tasty. Didn't have time to check out the other amenities however they were popular with the other guests. I prefer to stay away from crowds, so I enjoy the fact the resort is located on the way into town and away from Banff Avenue traffic. Only minus for some folks might be climbing stairs and some rough sidewalks if mobility is an issue. On your next trip to Banff, take the opportunity to check out Banff Rocky Mountain Resort and ask for Wolf Condos availability; it was a comfortable and relaxing stay. I will definitely return!

http://www.bestofbanff.com/banff-rocky-mountain-resort/index.html

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked through Expedia for $89. It is not along with all the other motels on Banff Ave. It is by itself to the East on Banff Ave. Even our GPS was fooled . It is quite a walk to downtown , so we took our car to the shopping area. Checkin is quick because we did use Expedia , all they asked for was the credit card we used to book , and within 30 seconds we had directions to our our 8 unit building and checked out the room. Very cozy, clean, with gas fireplace. Could use some newer ammenities, ie furniture , bedding etc , but was just fine. Step outside the door and look out to some beautiful views of gorgeous mountains. Great price , value, and clean. What more could you ask for .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon offer. Nice location for us because we were looking for peace and quiet. We take day trips, so close proximity to the highway was good. If you want to be in the heart of it all in the Townsite this place is not so good. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room had obviously been renovated recently and was very nice. Everything pretty much new and very clean. Everything we needed. Kitchen fully equipped for families. Shuttle service worked with our dinner plans. No need to worry about that after dinner drink before driving. There is a restaurant on site that we did not try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.