We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Banff
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I went there in early May, it's more a resort than a hotel. But not much of activities at this time of the year.

The staff was very useful and friendly. My TV broke, and after 5 minutes the tech guy just come in and change it. I was very surprised by their efficiency!

It's a little bit far from "downtown", you'll need a car to get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    190
    90
    36
    19
See reviews for
145
179
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The front desk clerk at the resort office was very pleasant and helpful with directions to local attractions. We found plenty of parking by the walkway to our 2nd-floor unit. We had a working fireplace — fully stocked with split wood and dry kindling. A big comfy leather couch faced it. Throws and couch pillows were out for our use. Overnight the heaters worked great. A flat screen TV worked fine. Our loft bed was firm yet comfortable. We didn’t like the bed's pillows — our only real complaint here. Our kitchenette had all basic necessities: silverware, plates, bowls, and glasses. Everything in kitchen cabinets was clean. Coffee maker was a snap to use; coffee was palatable. Bathroom linens and surfaces were spotless. Shower water was plenty hot. Highway noise was barely discernible. We hated to leave so soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in Banff. We chose the new One Bedroom Wolf Condo and it was excellent, mostly because it was new.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly. They provide you with maps aever plain the town really well (this was our first trip to Banff). The hotel is just outside of the town area in Banff (a 5-10min drive into town). The hotel also offers a free hourly shuttle that runs upto 11pm.
Our room, being relatively new, was very well equipped. Although I would think it was the perfect amount of space for a couple, it can accommodate up to 4 persons. The kitchen was well equipped, and the living area was quite cosy. The bathroom was large and nice (although one of the lightbulbs in the bathroom wasn't fixed). The minor gripe with the bedroom is that it had no luggage storage space. There was some available in the living room area though. The bed was super comfortable.
The resort has a decent gym, squash courts and a pool, but when you are in Banff, you would rather be hiking up the mountains for exercise.
The resort does have a hot tub, but I didn't like where it was located as it didn't really offer any views of the surrounding area.
To sum it up, I think it's worth paying extra to stay in the newer wolf condos at the resort.
I would definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Last Saturday, May 4th, 9 ladies stayed there for a overnight stagette. They had everything we needed except ice. Every hotel in Banff should have an ice machine or at least a convenience store where we can buy ice. The 4 bedroom we stayed in was very nicely decorated. The beds were quite comfy I hear (I was the odd woman out so got the pull out - not as nice). They should also put mirrors in the bedrooms. With 9 ladies getting ready for an evening out, the two mirrors in the 2 full bathrooms resulted in some congestion. Fortunately the jello shots prevented any hair pulling. LOL. Parking was at a premium as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Each spring we spend a week at this resort. Although we still see winter snow and the weather is cool, we view it as a start of spring.
The staff at the resort are friendly and helpful. Any concerns are dealt with quickly. Suggestions re activities are made along with the hourly shuttle to the Banff townsite.
The units have been renovated within the last few years and are clean and comfortable.
The resort also has an activities coordinator and these activities are planned daily. Besides this is the exercise facility, indoor pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor hot tub.

Room Tip: When booking, let them know your vacation wishes and they will plan it to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed a week at Banff last fall and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We have traveled through Banff a number of other times on our many trips to Winnipeg and back home again but had never stayed for longer than a couple of hours. We decided to go to Banff last fall and spend a week there. What spectacular scenery! We stayed at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, which is just outside of the town itself about a mile or so. We were just far enough out that the rates were weren't as expensive as staying in town, but we were close enough to have a short trip into the town itself. It was nice and quiet also and we were right at the foot of "Cascade Mountain. What an impressive view! The Rocky Mountains are sedimentary upheaval mountains and the wildlife find salt deposits in the rocks to lick. I hadn't realized just what the mountains themselves were made of before, I had always thought that they were solid granite, but I was wrong. The wildlife around Banff are all protected and are in mass profusion. Lake Louise is a short distance from Banff and you can take a very scenic drive up through Jasper to the North all the way to the town of Jaspar itself. You won't be sorry for going there, believe me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was an RCI stay for us, and we loved it! We had a 2 BR unit upstairs for my husband, mom and me. Kitchen was very nice. Unit was immaculately clean. Bedrooms are small, but worked for us. Ventilation in upstairs bedrooms could be better... we opened the window a bit, which might not be practical year round. They had lots of activities available... walks ranging from easy to difficult, movies, board games, kids' activities. We went on the historical walking tour which was wonderful. Based on what we learned there, we decided to visit the Whyte Museum, which we loved. We made good use of their shuttle... runs on the hour 11am to 11pm and picks up from the back of Mt. Royal hotel at :15 past each hour. Pool and hot tub were great! There is one computer for public use downstairs in the restaurant. My only complaint: this property is as far from "handicapped accessible" as possible. Stairs to 2nd floor unit (all 2 BRs are 2nd floor), then stairs inside unit to both bedrooms. In the lobby bldg, stairs downstairs to the computer, the pool and the minimally used restaurant. Same in town... many businesses, such as restaurants and salons, require steps and don't have elevators. Best bet for accessible restaurants... those on Bear St. (Bear St. Tavern, Wild Flour, etc.) and Old Spaghetti Factory in Clock Tower Mall.. up escalator or elevator 2 levels). I was able to handle the stairs but noticed it and felt it. Overall, a very enjoyable stay, and I'm glad I was physically able to do this.

Room Tip: Lower level are all 1BRs. Upper level are all 2 BRs. No ramps or elevators. To stay at this prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#5 of 33 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
City Center, Bu...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.