We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stagette Worthy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stagette Worthy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Last Saturday, May 4th, 9 ladies stayed there for a overnight stagette. They had everything we needed except ice. Every hotel in Banff should have an ice machine or at least a convenience store where we can buy ice. The 4 bedroom we stayed in was very nicely decorated. The beds were quite comfy I hear (I was the odd woman out so got the pull out - not as nice). They should also put mirrors in the bedrooms. With 9 ladies getting ready for an evening out, the two mirrors in the 2 full bathrooms resulted in some congestion. Fortunately the jello shots prevented any hair pulling. LOL. Parking was at a premium as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    219
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
166
206
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Each spring we spend a week at this resort. Although we still see winter snow and the weather is cool, we view it as a start of spring.
The staff at the resort are friendly and helpful. Any concerns are dealt with quickly. Suggestions re activities are made along with the hourly shuttle to the Banff townsite.
The units have been renovated within the last few years and are clean and comfortable.
The resort also has an activities coordinator and these activities are planned daily. Besides this is the exercise facility, indoor pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor hot tub.

Room Tip: When booking, let them know your vacation wishes and they will plan it to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed a week at Banff last fall and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We have traveled through Banff a number of other times on our many trips to Winnipeg and back home again but had never stayed for longer than a couple of hours. We decided to go to Banff last fall and spend a week there. What spectacular scenery! We stayed at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, which is just outside of the town itself about a mile or so. We were just far enough out that the rates were weren't as expensive as staying in town, but we were close enough to have a short trip into the town itself. It was nice and quiet also and we were right at the foot of "Cascade Mountain. What an impressive view! The Rocky Mountains are sedimentary upheaval mountains and the wildlife find salt deposits in the rocks to lick. I hadn't realized just what the mountains themselves were made of before, I had always thought that they were solid granite, but I was wrong. The wildlife around Banff are all protected and are in mass profusion. Lake Louise is a short distance from Banff and you can take a very scenic drive up through Jasper to the North all the way to the town of Jaspar itself. You won't be sorry for going there, believe me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was an RCI stay for us, and we loved it! We had a 2 BR unit upstairs for my husband, mom and me. Kitchen was very nice. Unit was immaculately clean. Bedrooms are small, but worked for us. Ventilation in upstairs bedrooms could be better... we opened the window a bit, which might not be practical year round. They had lots of activities available... walks ranging from easy to difficult, movies, board games, kids' activities. We went on the historical walking tour which was wonderful. Based on what we learned there, we decided to visit the Whyte Museum, which we loved. We made good use of their shuttle... runs on the hour 11am to 11pm and picks up from the back of Mt. Royal hotel at :15 past each hour. Pool and hot tub were great! There is one computer for public use downstairs in the restaurant. My only complaint: this property is as far from "handicapped accessible" as possible. Stairs to 2nd floor unit (all 2 BRs are 2nd floor), then stairs inside unit to both bedrooms. In the lobby bldg, stairs downstairs to the computer, the pool and the minimally used restaurant. Same in town... many businesses, such as restaurants and salons, require steps and don't have elevators. Best bet for accessible restaurants... those on Bear St. (Bear St. Tavern, Wild Flour, etc.) and Old Spaghetti Factory in Clock Tower Mall.. up escalator or elevator 2 levels). I was able to handle the stairs but noticed it and felt it. Overall, a very enjoyable stay, and I'm glad I was physically able to do this.

Room Tip: Lower level are all 1BRs. Upper level are all 2 BRs. No ramps or elevators. To stay at this prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My past experience with hotels offering kitchens is that they are much better equipped. This resort doesn't even give salt and pepper. There are no pictures on the walls, although I did like the duvets on the beds.Note the free shuttle only runs until 11PM and a taxi is $12.00 to town With a few extras this resort would be far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had a problem with the hotel right from the very beginning because I don't appreciate being mislead. I booked through Groupon which always provides a deal. However, afterwards, when I looked on booking.com I discovered that the booking would have been cheaper through them. I wouldn't have stayed at the hotel if it hadn't been for Groupon. In any event, I soon discovered how vacant the hotel was and it became clear why the resort needs Groupon to attract business.

The rooms are old, but clean despite the wear and tear and hideous color scheme. The walls are paper thin. We could hear every movement and conversation in the condo above us. In the kitchenette, there was a coffee maker but no coffee filters. The room cleaner began his rounds early and was knocking on our door as early as 9:00 a.m. This was not appreciated. Our condo was also right next to the highway which brought a lot of noise at night.

The pool and outdoor BBQ area are very practical and well maintained.

The food in the restaurant is very good - not the greasy pub food one would expect. The soups were home-made, daily, and even something as simple as chicken fingers were prepared from scratch and with fresh ingredients. The food was a welcome surprise.

All in all, I'd stay again, but not for $139.00 per night.; The one bedroom condo is worth about $99.00 per night. That's all I'd pay at any time of year.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked in here as part of a last minute deal, one of the only places offering a room with a kitchen within our budget. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which to our surprise had a full sized kitchen. Rooms clean and newly renovated. You are a little way out of town, but the shuttle service is great, especially for those of us that didn't have a car. The resort is also one of the major stops for the us to Lake Louise and Sunshine. They also have fantastically cheap international call rates from the rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.