We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay...lots of steps, but lots of amenities also” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great stay...lots of steps, but lots of amenities also”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was an RCI stay for us, and we loved it! We had a 2 BR unit upstairs for my husband, mom and me. Kitchen was very nice. Unit was immaculately clean. Bedrooms are small, but worked for us. Ventilation in upstairs bedrooms could be better... we opened the window a bit, which might not be practical year round. They had lots of activities available... walks ranging from easy to difficult, movies, board games, kids' activities. We went on the historical walking tour which was wonderful. Based on what we learned there, we decided to visit the Whyte Museum, which we loved. We made good use of their shuttle... runs on the hour 11am to 11pm and picks up from the back of Mt. Royal hotel at :15 past each hour. Pool and hot tub were great! There is one computer for public use downstairs in the restaurant. My only complaint: this property is as far from "handicapped accessible" as possible. Stairs to 2nd floor unit (all 2 BRs are 2nd floor), then stairs inside unit to both bedrooms. In the lobby bldg, stairs downstairs to the computer, the pool and the minimally used restaurant. Same in town... many businesses, such as restaurants and salons, require steps and don't have elevators. Best bet for accessible restaurants... those on Bear St. (Bear St. Tavern, Wild Flour, etc.) and Old Spaghetti Factory in Clock Tower Mall.. up escalator or elevator 2 levels). I was able to handle the stairs but noticed it and felt it. Overall, a very enjoyable stay, and I'm glad I was physically able to do this.

Room Tip: Lower level are all 1BRs. Upper level are all 2 BRs. No ramps or elevators. To stay at this prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    211
    112
    38
    22
See reviews for
161
198
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My past experience with hotels offering kitchens is that they are much better equipped. This resort doesn't even give salt and pepper. There are no pictures on the walls, although I did like the duvets on the beds.Note the free shuttle only runs until 11PM and a taxi is $12.00 to town With a few extras this resort would be far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had a problem with the hotel right from the very beginning because I don't appreciate being mislead. I booked through Groupon which always provides a deal. However, afterwards, when I looked on booking.com I discovered that the booking would have been cheaper through them. I wouldn't have stayed at the hotel if it hadn't been for Groupon. In any event, I soon discovered how vacant the hotel was and it became clear why the resort needs Groupon to attract business.

The rooms are old, but clean despite the wear and tear and hideous color scheme. The walls are paper thin. We could hear every movement and conversation in the condo above us. In the kitchenette, there was a coffee maker but no coffee filters. The room cleaner began his rounds early and was knocking on our door as early as 9:00 a.m. This was not appreciated. Our condo was also right next to the highway which brought a lot of noise at night.

The pool and outdoor BBQ area are very practical and well maintained.

The food in the restaurant is very good - not the greasy pub food one would expect. The soups were home-made, daily, and even something as simple as chicken fingers were prepared from scratch and with fresh ingredients. The food was a welcome surprise.

All in all, I'd stay again, but not for $139.00 per night.; The one bedroom condo is worth about $99.00 per night. That's all I'd pay at any time of year.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked in here as part of a last minute deal, one of the only places offering a room with a kitchen within our budget. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which to our surprise had a full sized kitchen. Rooms clean and newly renovated. You are a little way out of town, but the shuttle service is great, especially for those of us that didn't have a car. The resort is also one of the major stops for the us to Lake Louise and Sunshine. They also have fantastically cheap international call rates from the rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

5stars. Clean rooms friendly staff and a short drive into downtown banff, shuttle service is a plus since there is not much parking on the weekend. Love the pool. In the suites you can light a fire.
As well as a deck where you can BBQ. 3 things I would change a newer shuttle(the one they have is dirty and broken) educate the staff on tourist attractions and update the pool change room, because there are too many mirrors and no privacy.
Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed staying in then upper level 2 bedroom condo with our dog and friends. The condo was newly renovated and had excellent cooking supplies.

The food the hotel offered was great and the service for the wood was fast and reliable.

Other areas of service were not the best. Although I understand this is Banff and not everyone is the most professional. We had a very rude employee talk to us while we were enjoying the hot tub facilities.

The location is a downside but we loved being outside the city with our dog.

Overall we had a great stay and we look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I certainly got my money's worth staying in this excellent hotel with courteous staff. The only downside is that it is about 7 minutes drive to downtown Banff unlike the other jokes in Banff which is right on the heart of the town. But they have shuttle buses to take you around.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.