We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our ski trip some much better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Banff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Made our ski trip some much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked in here as part of a last minute deal, one of the only places offering a room with a kitchen within our budget. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which to our surprise had a full sized kitchen. Rooms clean and newly renovated. You are a little way out of town, but the shuttle service is great, especially for those of us that didn't have a car. The resort is also one of the major stops for the us to Lake Louise and Sunshine. They also have fantastically cheap international call rates from the rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    196
    101
    38
    20
See reviews for
154
186
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

5stars. Clean rooms friendly staff and a short drive into downtown banff, shuttle service is a plus since there is not much parking on the weekend. Love the pool. In the suites you can light a fire.
As well as a deck where you can BBQ. 3 things I would change a newer shuttle(the one they have is dirty and broken) educate the staff on tourist attractions and update the pool change room, because there are too many mirrors and no privacy.
Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed staying in then upper level 2 bedroom condo with our dog and friends. The condo was newly renovated and had excellent cooking supplies.

The food the hotel offered was great and the service for the wood was fast and reliable.

Other areas of service were not the best. Although I understand this is Banff and not everyone is the most professional. We had a very rude employee talk to us while we were enjoying the hot tub facilities.

The location is a downside but we loved being outside the city with our dog.

Overall we had a great stay and we look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I certainly got my money's worth staying in this excellent hotel with courteous staff. The only downside is that it is about 7 minutes drive to downtown Banff unlike the other jokes in Banff which is right on the heart of the town. But they have shuttle buses to take you around.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Banff Rocky Mountain Resort is a little gem! Our reservation was made with great ease and terrific service direct to the Resort's toll free line. At check-in Kathryn, from Halifax, was pleasant, welcoming and very helpful. She was a terrific first impression of the resort and made this quick little family get away extra special by providing us with an upgrade and gave the kids each a welcome package of crayons and a coloring book. Thank you Kathryn! Our 2 bedroom condo was a great fit for the 4 of us. The room was very clean, and provided lots of room and comfort. There was a kitchen complete with toaster, dishes, bowls and cleaning supplies. The 2 bedrooms had comfortable beds and blankets but they are a little small if you like to have some room for suitcases, etc. It would also be nice to have a full length mirror in the condo. 2 bathrooms is always a plus, especially since the downstairs bathroom also includes a nice shower. The soap was from the Rocky Mountain Soap company which is a great local business and nice to see supported in the hotel. The sofa sleeper makes this a condo that easily sleeps 6. The wood fireplace is a great added bonus, especially with the snow falling, even in April! The $7 wood bundle was more than adequate as it came with kindling, paper and lots of dry wood. It was also delivered before we even got into our room. Great service! It would have been helpful to have matches as part of the bundle though. The pool area is good for the kids and having an outdoor hot tub is great, except for the couple who felt obliged to smoke their cigarettes on the patio right next to the hot tub. The planters are not an ashtray folks! The change rooms were a little dirty and the towels are almost at the point of needing replacement but those are minor issues. Lots of foam on the indoor hot tub and the jets kept going on and off, so may be some things to look at. There were many dogs at the resort but we didn't hear any noise nor did we see any big messes. The resort is spread out but it only takes a few minutes to reach the main hotel housing the pools, restaurants & main desk. The staff were friendly and efficient at check out. The resort is outside of the town center but they offer a shuttle service and it is an easy drive into town. We were also given a coupon book that offered some great discounts on food and merchandise in town. If we were staying for a longer time, it would be nice to have a TV with DVD player and a second hairdryer in the downstairs bathroom. It would also give me seating room in the living room if the TV was replaced with a flat screen. Overall, this was a great place to stay in the winter but we hope to bee back in the summer when we can make use of the tennis courts.

Room Tip: The upper 2 bedroom condo didn't have a great view of the mountains but it was quiet. The 1700...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the 4BR wolf condo. They only have two of these large condos at this property. This was an excellent condo. The place was recently renovated and had comfortable beds and was very quiet. The kitchen was well equipped. The staff is quite prompt they brought us extra blankets upon request and a second hair dryer. We had maid service every day. There is a larger gym on the property which we did not use. There are decent laundry facilities in the main building which we did use. They were clean and well maintained. Change is provided by the bar next door. The pool and hot tub were mobbed by kids and families when we were there so we did not use them. The condo itself was very nicely decorated in knotty wood and the wolf motif both on the walls (pictures of wolves) and the cabinet handles (wolf-shaped). The walls were a little thin we could hear a bit from the condo next door but it was not a huge problem. Overall an excellent place to stay in the cold season in Banff.

Room Tip: The wolf condos are newly renovated and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in a two bedroom unit (#1906) close to the main building. The unit was updated and everything was quite nice. The unit was a bit smaller than expected for a two bedroom which was a bit of a challenge with lots of ski equipment but we found a way to manage.

The staff were friendly and helpful when we dealt with them. The pool and hot tubs (one indoor and one outdoor) were cleaner than many resorts I've experienced.

Small problems were weak internet in the evenings, only one old TV, and the small rooms.

Room Tip: The 1900, 2000, and 2100 units are beside the main building so it is very close to access the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.