We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I certainly got my money's worth staying in this excellent hotel with courteous staff. The only downside is that it is about 7 minutes drive to downtown Banff unlike the other jokes in Banff which is right on the heart of the town. But they have shuttle buses to take you around.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    204
    107
    38
    21
See reviews for
160
194
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sherwood park, alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Banff Rocky Mountain Resort is a little gem! Our reservation was made with great ease and terrific service direct to the Resort's toll free line. At check-in Kathryn, from Halifax, was pleasant, welcoming and very helpful. She was a terrific first impression of the resort and made this quick little family get away extra special by providing us with an upgrade and gave the kids each a welcome package of crayons and a coloring book. Thank you Kathryn! Our 2 bedroom condo was a great fit for the 4 of us. The room was very clean, and provided lots of room and comfort. There was a kitchen complete with toaster, dishes, bowls and cleaning supplies. The 2 bedrooms had comfortable beds and blankets but they are a little small if you like to have some room for suitcases, etc. It would also be nice to have a full length mirror in the condo. 2 bathrooms is always a plus, especially since the downstairs bathroom also includes a nice shower. The soap was from the Rocky Mountain Soap company which is a great local business and nice to see supported in the hotel. The sofa sleeper makes this a condo that easily sleeps 6. The wood fireplace is a great added bonus, especially with the snow falling, even in April! The $7 wood bundle was more than adequate as it came with kindling, paper and lots of dry wood. It was also delivered before we even got into our room. Great service! It would have been helpful to have matches as part of the bundle though. The pool area is good for the kids and having an outdoor hot tub is great, except for the couple who felt obliged to smoke their cigarettes on the patio right next to the hot tub. The planters are not an ashtray folks! The change rooms were a little dirty and the towels are almost at the point of needing replacement but those are minor issues. Lots of foam on the indoor hot tub and the jets kept going on and off, so may be some things to look at. There were many dogs at the resort but we didn't hear any noise nor did we see any big messes. The resort is spread out but it only takes a few minutes to reach the main hotel housing the pools, restaurants & main desk. The staff were friendly and efficient at check out. The resort is outside of the town center but they offer a shuttle service and it is an easy drive into town. We were also given a coupon book that offered some great discounts on food and merchandise in town. If we were staying for a longer time, it would be nice to have a TV with DVD player and a second hairdryer in the downstairs bathroom. It would also give me seating room in the living room if the TV was replaced with a flat screen. Overall, this was a great place to stay in the winter but we hope to bee back in the summer when we can make use of the tennis courts.

Room Tip: The upper 2 bedroom condo didn't have a great view of the mountains but it was quiet. The 1700...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the 4BR wolf condo. They only have two of these large condos at this property. This was an excellent condo. The place was recently renovated and had comfortable beds and was very quiet. The kitchen was well equipped. The staff is quite prompt they brought us extra blankets upon request and a second hair dryer. We had maid service every day. There is a larger gym on the property which we did not use. There are decent laundry facilities in the main building which we did use. They were clean and well maintained. Change is provided by the bar next door. The pool and hot tub were mobbed by kids and families when we were there so we did not use them. The condo itself was very nicely decorated in knotty wood and the wolf motif both on the walls (pictures of wolves) and the cabinet handles (wolf-shaped). The walls were a little thin we could hear a bit from the condo next door but it was not a huge problem. Overall an excellent place to stay in the cold season in Banff.

Room Tip: The wolf condos are newly renovated and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in a two bedroom unit (#1906) close to the main building. The unit was updated and everything was quite nice. The unit was a bit smaller than expected for a two bedroom which was a bit of a challenge with lots of ski equipment but we found a way to manage.

The staff were friendly and helpful when we dealt with them. The pool and hot tubs (one indoor and one outdoor) were cleaner than many resorts I've experienced.

Small problems were weak internet in the evenings, only one old TV, and the small rooms.

Room Tip: The 1900, 2000, and 2100 units are beside the main building so it is very close to access the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had booked a one bedroom but it would have been so claustrophobic! Also, all of the one bedroom units were on the first floor so you almost had to keep your curtains closed at all times. We upgraded to a loft and it was really nice. Beautiful mountain views out of the windows upstairs and it had a bath and a half which was great (One bathroom upstairs and the half bath downstairs.) It was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. It has a full kitchen and I was amused to notice that every single appliance was a different brand, strange. They all worked fine however so that was okay. They had walks and talks by the staff which were fun. They have an indoor and outdoor hot tub. The outdoor one was great, we did not try the other one. There is also an indoor pool. The pool towels were postage stamp sized which they really need to do something about. You really needed two of them to dry off. One other item is that since you are in the National Park you have to have a national park pass which adds to the expense of staying there.

Room Tip: Get a loft. They have recently been upgraded and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here, and enjoyed our stay quite a bit.

The staff, from check-in to check-out, paid great attention to us and answered questions honestly. Their concern made us more forgiving for some of the smaller problems we had (weak wi-fi, glitchy pay-per-view movies).

The suite was comfortable, with a gas fireplace that gave wonderful ambience. (And heat!) The location is a little bit away from Banff proper, which means you avoid the bustle of the crowds.

There was an issue with an extremely loud patron arguing on the phone early in the morning, but this couldn't be predicted or easily dealt with by the hotel.

We were looking for a quiet getaway and found exactly that! It might be different during high-season, in terms of your experience, but it was great for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rocky mountain resort is a brilliant place to stay,after checking in we were given a ground floor suite but wanted something bigger and on the top floor. The staff were very helpful and changed us to the wolf suite which was just amazing. i would definately stay here again.The only let down was the restuarant on site,the food was poor and not value for money.The daily shuttle to banff town was really handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.