We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff Ski Trip - Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Banff
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Banff Ski Trip - Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in a two bedroom unit (#1906) close to the main building. The unit was updated and everything was quite nice. The unit was a bit smaller than expected for a two bedroom which was a bit of a challenge with lots of ski equipment but we found a way to manage.

The staff were friendly and helpful when we dealt with them. The pool and hot tubs (one indoor and one outdoor) were cleaner than many resorts I've experienced.

Small problems were weak internet in the evenings, only one old TV, and the small rooms.

Room Tip: The 1900, 2000, and 2100 units are beside the main building so it is very close to access the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    200
    105
    38
    20
See reviews for
156
189
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had booked a one bedroom but it would have been so claustrophobic! Also, all of the one bedroom units were on the first floor so you almost had to keep your curtains closed at all times. We upgraded to a loft and it was really nice. Beautiful mountain views out of the windows upstairs and it had a bath and a half which was great (One bathroom upstairs and the half bath downstairs.) It was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. It has a full kitchen and I was amused to notice that every single appliance was a different brand, strange. They all worked fine however so that was okay. They had walks and talks by the staff which were fun. They have an indoor and outdoor hot tub. The outdoor one was great, we did not try the other one. There is also an indoor pool. The pool towels were postage stamp sized which they really need to do something about. You really needed two of them to dry off. One other item is that since you are in the National Park you have to have a national park pass which adds to the expense of staying there.

Room Tip: Get a loft. They have recently been upgraded and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here, and enjoyed our stay quite a bit.

The staff, from check-in to check-out, paid great attention to us and answered questions honestly. Their concern made us more forgiving for some of the smaller problems we had (weak wi-fi, glitchy pay-per-view movies).

The suite was comfortable, with a gas fireplace that gave wonderful ambience. (And heat!) The location is a little bit away from Banff proper, which means you avoid the bustle of the crowds.

There was an issue with an extremely loud patron arguing on the phone early in the morning, but this couldn't be predicted or easily dealt with by the hotel.

We were looking for a quiet getaway and found exactly that! It might be different during high-season, in terms of your experience, but it was great for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rocky mountain resort is a brilliant place to stay,after checking in we were given a ground floor suite but wanted something bigger and on the top floor. The staff were very helpful and changed us to the wolf suite which was just amazing. i would definately stay here again.The only let down was the restuarant on site,the food was poor and not value for money.The daily shuttle to banff town was really handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

One bedroom units are on the ground level with larger units above. There is no sound insulation between the units and felt like the people above were in our unit.

One bedroom units are very cramped. If you plan on having anyone over you better be prepared to stand.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the ground level due to noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Rocky Mountain resort for Thanksgiving and the location and views were awesome! We stayed in a one bedroom suite in the older part of the resort because we had our dog with us. But the suite was still very nice and had everything we needed, full kitchen, bathroom, bed, fireplace, sofa, etc. The resort offered a free shuttle into town so that was a nice feature, but get in line earlier as it is only a van so if it is full you will have to wait until the next round, but normally we didn't have an issue. The pool and hot tub was nice, nothing fancy but nice to relax in the hot tub at night. We did not eat at the resort, as we were generally gone during the day and then went into town for dinner. But overall the resort was very nice and the staff was very helpful!

Room Tip: Like i said we said in the older section of the resort across the street from the lobby, but they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this resort in February for a brief holiday. The resort is on the outskirts of Banff and is a bit of walk into town but on a nice day, it is not difficult and is rather refreshing. It took us maybe 15 -20 minutes. There is a shuttle to downtown and back that runs every hour which is really convenient, especially if you go out for dinner and have a couple of drinks in town. The staff were very nice and helpful and really seemed to know what was happening in the area. We had a small two bedroom suite with kitchen and two bathrooms. It was all very clean except the fan above the stove. While we were cooking, we noticed grease dripping down from the mesh fan cover! As clean as the rest of the suite was, it was obvious that area had been overlooked! Hopefully the cleaning staff read our note when we left and addressed this problem and gave it a good scrubbing! The bedrooms were small but sufficient. Just a comfortable place to sleep after a day exploring the mountains. The pool was clean and in great shape, however, the outdoor hot tub area could use a bit of sprucing up as the paint on the fence was peeling. The hot tub itself was quite nice though. Cannot comment on the food as we mainly did our own cooking or grabbed a bite in town. Overall, a good place to spend a few days and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.