We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what e expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not what e expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Actually I expected better.

Had a 1 bedroom suit. Main floor. It was dark and small. Nice to have the fireplace but the room smelled like fire all the time. Also it's dark due to the structures outside te main window. No natural light getting in.
Hot tub was OK, would like if the are could get opend up to enjoy the scenery a bit more while soaking. Staff seemed stressed/overworked

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor suit. More natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    191
    90
    36
    19
See reviews for
145
181
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a find, we moved here after our first 7 days of hell from the Caribou Lodge which needs shutting down! And what a refreshing change, all the staff are so friendly and make sure you have a fantastic stay. The facilities here are great and have so much to do on the grounds. The hotel bar is ace and we meet a lot of nice people from Calgary who we ended up drinking with till very late. The hotel is a bit far away compared to other hotels however the hotel puts on a minibus to and from town (only 5min). The rooms are basic but very comfy and has everything you will need to have a great time. We found the prices in Banff restaurants to be very expensive since we last came to Banff so appreciated being able to cook a couple of times.

I we was to come back to Banff I would book here without doubt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Room was small and left limited space for lounging in the living room. The pull out was springy, lumpy and uncomfortable. Bathrooms were newly upgraded and quite nice. Shower and tub were great. When we asked for wood for the fireplace a guy brought some within a few minutes and was super convenient with kindling and an ignition block. Lighting was terrible in the rooms. Bright overhead spot lights instead of pleasant ambient light which pretty much wrecked any mood in the evening. we went to the hot tub later in the evening which was very nice, unfortunately the mens bathroom hadn't been cleaned or towels picked up for probably most of the day and the floor was nasty (maybe someone was having a bad day). Lots of parking and most stalls were conveniently close to the rooms. i would stay again but a one queen bedroom including the pullout couch would be a shoebox for any family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This resort was great. Our room was at the far corner of the resort close to the wooded area. It was very quiet and homey. We had a fireplalce that was very nice at night.

We arrived to a warm, sunny, clear Banff, so we did alot of mild-weather hiking. A few days into the week, Banff dropped the first snow of the season to reveal even more beautiful landscape. Banff is definately at the top our favorites list and we are looking forward to going back. It was elk rutting season, so a ride through the golf course was very educational. Maple syrup, Maple candy, and Maple ice cream - anything you want!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We paid top dollar to stay here and got mediocre accomodations.Old furniture,nonexistant wifi,heat didn't adjust properly, it was either to hot or to cold.Bedsheets didn't fit properly on very uncomfortable beds.Doors didn't latch.The only good thing was that it was clean.

Room Tip: This place is not in town so we had to drive everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We looked online to check out Banff and area Pet Freindly hotels, and with the information on their web site, we decided to check them out, and glad we did.

We ensured that they knew we wanted a Pet Freindly room and right off the bat we were given a pet treats package, with Milk Bones and a note of their policies for our companion.

That was followed by a dog water bowl and food dish along with a very comfortable doggie bed / cushion for our little Sheba Inu.

The Check in gentlemen were very friendly, accomodating, full of good knowledge of their resort and area.

The room was equipped with a fireplace, bar fridge and large bathroom. The layout was very homey and well laid out.

They had a large outdoor hot tub, and indoor pool and hot tub there as well. A cozy, bar type cafe overlooking the pools was quite inviting.

This is a great choice if you are traveling with Mans best freind for sure!

Room Tip: If traveling with your pet, either call in advance for high travel times or let you know you are req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights they had a special on and if you paid more then could stay in the newer renovated wolf rooms . They were tastefully decorated. They only had two chairs in the kitchen area so it was awkward for 4 people. There was concerns about the housekeeping or lack of. They came at 630 at night after we had just arrived back for the day. The next day I called the front desk and requested they come before 3:00 . The room was not clean in that it required some dusting and to pick up items such as another patrons ear plugs. Upon leaving no one asked about our stay. It is a distance out of banff but they have a shuttle that leaves every hour. Pool and hot tub ok. Restaurant is more like a Cantine with a few groceries. We went into town to eat or cooked at the room.

Room Tip: The Reno rooms look better because of the decor. If you plan to use the pools then its better to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.