We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views, Pet Freindly resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Awesome Views, Pet Freindly resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We looked online to check out Banff and area Pet Freindly hotels, and with the information on their web site, we decided to check them out, and glad we did.

We ensured that they knew we wanted a Pet Freindly room and right off the bat we were given a pet treats package, with Milk Bones and a note of their policies for our companion.

That was followed by a dog water bowl and food dish along with a very comfortable doggie bed / cushion for our little Sheba Inu.

The Check in gentlemen were very friendly, accomodating, full of good knowledge of their resort and area.

The room was equipped with a fireplace, bar fridge and large bathroom. The layout was very homey and well laid out.

They had a large outdoor hot tub, and indoor pool and hot tub there as well. A cozy, bar type cafe overlooking the pools was quite inviting.

This is a great choice if you are traveling with Mans best freind for sure!

Room Tip: If traveling with your pet, either call in advance for high travel times or let you know you are req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    202
    107
    38
    21
See reviews for
159
193
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights they had a special on and if you paid more then could stay in the newer renovated wolf rooms . They were tastefully decorated. They only had two chairs in the kitchen area so it was awkward for 4 people. There was concerns about the housekeeping or lack of. They came at 630 at night after we had just arrived back for the day. The next day I called the front desk and requested they come before 3:00 . The room was not clean in that it required some dusting and to pick up items such as another patrons ear plugs. Upon leaving no one asked about our stay. It is a distance out of banff but they have a shuttle that leaves every hour. Pool and hot tub ok. Restaurant is more like a Cantine with a few groceries. We went into town to eat or cooked at the room.

Room Tip: The Reno rooms look better because of the decor. If you plan to use the pools then its better to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at The Banff Rocky Mountain Resort for 2 nights while on a mini ski-cation. We booked a 1 bedroom "wolf" suite online with a comment that we needed an animal free room due to one of our kids being allergic to dogs. On arrival they didn't have the room requested but immediately corrected the problem and were very apologetic and accommodating. The front desk staff were professional, organized and polite (and we arrived with the masses so they were busy!).
Our room was probably the furthest away from the main lodge ( a 1 min walk) and close to the road but we did not hear traffic...did see an elk in the forest from our room though! It was renovated and very comfortable (kitchen well stocked, beds cozy, and very very clean). We used the pool and outdoor hot tub after skiing....a little dated but clean and fun for the kids. We also used Peppers restaurant for room service..food was great, service was fast and reasonably priced (don't know why anyone would comment that it was expensive...that reviewer has never been to Banff restaurants!) We have stayed at a few resorts in Banff and Canmore (Hidden Ridge, Mystic Springs, Delta, Fox Suites) and I think this resort was the best for the money. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Banff Rocky Mountain for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to restaurant and pool ask for a room close to the main lodge...and if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Bit pricey over xmas. Great 1 bedrm condo with nice fireplace and kitchenette. Resort is a stretch but great hot pool outside.

If you're looking for luxury this isn't it. It is a very nice place with children and a dog. Can't say anything bad about it. We enjoyed our stay at xmas and labour day. Staff is from Australia and atlantic Canada and were always professional and accomodating.

Bit out of town but it gives a more nice rural feeling to it.

We got what we came for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pleasant stay, quiet, warm. Courteous staff. At our request they promptly delivered a microwave.
Hot tub, outside hot tub (-24 C !! when we were there), sauna, pool, all good. Ask for a padlock at reception for locker.
Plug-in parking (excellent for freezing temperatures in winter)
We would definitely go back next time.
Emilia and Alex.

Room Tip: our room 915 has mountain view
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights in Banff over Christmas at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort and it was just wonderful! This was our second stay at this resort and I am very glad we chose it again for our Christmas getaway. We had originally booked a studio suite and when we arrived we asked to be upgraded and we were able to be and were put into a loft suite. It was really nice to stretch out and having the extra bathroom was great. It is so nice to stay in a hotel that has a kitchen and being able to make breakfast and lunches saves a great deal of money so that is a huge help when going on vacation. We ate out at The Keg at Caribou Lodge on Christmas Eve and Christmas and having the meals made for us and cleaned up on Christmas was really stress free and enjoyable. The hot tub and pools were also really good and the change rooms were really clean. The only thing about the change rooms is that they are attached to the restaurant so when you are changing for swimming people come in to use the bathrooms, which is a little weird! All in all it was a wonderful vacation and I will be staying at this resort on any future trips to Banff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.