We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for a kitchenette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Banff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best value for a kitchenette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Bit pricey over xmas. Great 1 bedrm condo with nice fireplace and kitchenette. Resort is a stretch but great hot pool outside.

If you're looking for luxury this isn't it. It is a very nice place with children and a dog. Can't say anything bad about it. We enjoyed our stay at xmas and labour day. Staff is from Australia and atlantic Canada and were always professional and accomodating.

Bit out of town but it gives a more nice rural feeling to it.

We got what we came for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    197
    103
    38
    20
See reviews for
155
186
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pleasant stay, quiet, warm. Courteous staff. At our request they promptly delivered a microwave.
Hot tub, outside hot tub (-24 C !! when we were there), sauna, pool, all good. Ask for a padlock at reception for locker.
Plug-in parking (excellent for freezing temperatures in winter)
We would definitely go back next time.
Emilia and Alex.

Room Tip: our room 915 has mountain view
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights in Banff over Christmas at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort and it was just wonderful! This was our second stay at this resort and I am very glad we chose it again for our Christmas getaway. We had originally booked a studio suite and when we arrived we asked to be upgraded and we were able to be and were put into a loft suite. It was really nice to stretch out and having the extra bathroom was great. It is so nice to stay in a hotel that has a kitchen and being able to make breakfast and lunches saves a great deal of money so that is a huge help when going on vacation. We ate out at The Keg at Caribou Lodge on Christmas Eve and Christmas and having the meals made for us and cleaned up on Christmas was really stress free and enjoyable. The hot tub and pools were also really good and the change rooms were really clean. The only thing about the change rooms is that they are attached to the restaurant so when you are changing for swimming people come in to use the bathrooms, which is a little weird! All in all it was a wonderful vacation and I will be staying at this resort on any future trips to Banff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were bed ridden with cold and fever for pretty well our entire stay here. I can say though that the accommodations are very nice and roomy. There is a real wood fire place which would probably be better off being a gas log fireplace in this day and age, but it would be nice and romantic none the less.
I would not recommend the onsite restaurant “peppers’. We tried it one night and waited about an hour for a chicken madras and a chicken wrap. Am suggesting that the kitchen drove to the supermarket and bought a frozen dinner, then plated it. It was disgusting. Even the server was embarrassed by it and didn’t charge us. Give this place a big miss, but stay at the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for 5 nights for some R&R and I'm glad we did. We originally booked a one bedroom condo, and upon arrival we were upgraded to a newly renovated wolf one bedroom condo! The room was very clean and we loved the full kitchenette :) We also made use of the indoor and outdoor hot tubs, which were nice as well. Also, the staff was very helpful and pleasant when we asked questions. We loved the location as it took only a few minutes to drive into town, and was relatively close to the ski/snowboard parks. If we ever want to go back to the mountains for some R&R, we will definitely go back to this resort!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay we us. We we very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff helpful. Best wishes for the holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staying in Banff is not cheap...so we decided on Banff Rocky Mountain Resort since they had a free shuttle bus to and from Banff center which was just a short drive. It was a pleasant surprise to see how BIG our room was! It had a nice sitting area with a coffee table & TV, as well as a small desk and kitchenette. Yes, the decor was a little dated...kind of reminded me of a ski chalet, but I didn't mind that at all. My only issue was the bed & pillows! The mattress was super super soft & the pillows were so high, it hurt my back & neck. I think we ended up getting rid of the pillows in the middle of the night, lol!

The staff who checked us in were helpful and friendly. I found it interesting that the hotel check in & our room were not in the same building, you had to walk across the street. Overall, a reasonable option to stay around Banff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for you comments. Our beds have feather beds on top which many guests enjoy. We would gladly have removed it for you to make your bed more comfortable for you. The Front Desk is located in our gatehouse which has the restaurant, gym, pool, outdoor hot tub and meeting rooms. The guest rooms are located in building which surround the gatehouse. Glad you enjoyed your time in Banff and your stay with us. We hope you enjoy the festive season with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idar-Oberstein, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Arriving in the evening,from Greyhound-station,I took Taxi, prize 10,50CAD, resort is about 2 miles outside town,other side.They provide shuttle-service complimentary at
15 mins past the hour from town-Center,and at every hour on the hour to town. Staff very helpful and friendly,but at check-in deposit required for cases of damage(350CAD per week, to be refunded) Wild animals around resort,like elks + other.Full kitchen,with free bags of coffee(being replaced upon request free at check-in-desk) Bed had 3 pill ows. TV with many channels,but no radio avlbl(sorry) On Wednesday was a cleaning in the room,with new towels. Good for couples,too!

Room Tip: Rooms(timeshare)were on opposite side of street,prepare breakfast yourself, Peppers provides,but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your time with us. The clock radios in the bedrooms do have a radio as well as a dock for an ipod. We appreciate the comments about our helpful staff. Best wishes for the holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.