We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Generally Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was essentially what I had expected. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. They responded to every request with one exception. When I asked for extra pillows I was told there were some in the room, which there weren't, and when I called to get some more, they forgot the first time and I had to call again. I also expected a flat screen in the room based on the online description, but there wasn't one in the room. I also did not realize this hotel was so far from the townsite itself.

All in all however, I felt the staff were very accomodating and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We apprecaite hearing from you and your comments about the service we provided. We have reviewed the importance of following up on requests with the front desk team. We were glad to hear that you found the staff very accommodating. There are flat screen tv's in the newly renovated wolf suites and our junior suites and we are placing them in the rest of the rooms sometime in the new year. It sounds like you would have preferred to be downtown. We have sister properties in the town please have a look at bestofbanff.com. Thanks again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    204
    107
    38
    21
See reviews for
160
194
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite - great value and well equipped. Nicely located out of town but still accessible - especially with the courtesy bus operated by the Resort. The children enjoyed the pool and tennis courts and staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and beds very comfortable. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Really happy to hear that your family enjoyed their time with us! We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again and to visit beautiful Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber, Ab
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

All the staff were great and courteous. Our room was freshly re-modeled and very nice. The whole property appeared to be going through renovations, I'm guessing we just got lucky and got one of the rooms that were done already. The Indoor pool and spa were great, however the outdoor spa was in some disrepair. The food at Peppers Grill is pretty good and the wait staff were excellent. We will definitely come stay here again someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort and in Banff. We are always pleased to hear that our staff have made you feel welcome and taken care of and that the food was good. We have dealt with your concerns about the outdoor hot tub. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stayed twice now, in the two bedroom suite. We rented it from someone who owned a timeshare and got it for their fees around 900 a week. Great value for a two story suite. It was really spacious and had two nice washrooms. It is way on the end of town, but is very handy if you are doing a lot of hiking, you can hop on the highway without having to drive through town.
The kichen is well stocked to prepare meals. The safeway in town is pretty $$$ so if you can get food in Calgary buy there. I found that the company website is pretty expensive compared to sites where people try to rent their timeshare. Most will rent for the yearly costs, but the hotel marks it up. It's a great little spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This resort is just off the highway entering into Banff, and a good 2 miles from the townsite, so do not plan on walking into town as a large stretch is on highway. If you do not wish to drive to townsite, there's a resort shuttle taking you there, operating every hour on the hour going out, and quarter past the hour coming back from town. Hours that shuttle operate is 11 am to 11pm.

The same shuttle bus also takes resort guests on twice a day " guided hikes" around the area, conducted by resort Activities staff, typically young men or women working for half a year to a few years here to live the Banff life. These walks are generally 1.25 to 1.5 hrs, held once in the morning and once in the afternoon, and described as easy or moderate.

Other resort activities are described in the photo that I will try to post.

We stayed there as RCI exchange guest for two weeks in August. While it can be warm in July, the mountain climate in August is such that once the sun sets, it cools off quickly. With a couple of fans in our two bedroom unit, we fortunately did not find it unpleasantly warm. Bedrooms are tight, and no space to walk around inside, so suitcases will have to be stored in the hall way closet. Bathrooms have been renovated and very functional, including the one on the main floor . Second floor contains 2 bedrooms and a bathroom, main floor has a bathroom ( with shower) kitchen with 4 burners, oven, microwave, full size fridge. There is a kettle, as well as coffee maker. Dining table is small, only fit for 4. Pull out sofa and a couple more chairs occupy the rest of this floor.
The unit is only 600+ sq. ft, so for us 4 people would be comfortable but not more. Banff is part of National Park, and land is leased, so it's hard to build large hotels with big rooms. This resort provides what we want in the apartment type facilities so we will come again in the future.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom units require walking up one flight to the door, and once inside, bedrooms are on second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We were glad to hear that your enjoyed your time at the resort and had the opportunity to go on some of the intrepretive walks and partake of other resort activities. Many guests enjoy using the shuttle as the don't have to concern themselves with parking when they are downtown. We appreciate your comments and the fact that you took the time to write about your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked this resort with our time share in August. Weather reports looked outstanding until we arrived. Snow & cold. Many roads and sights were closed ... even their welcome centers. The resort is very nice, the front desk outstanding and the rooms clean . The kitchen had everything that we needed. We prefer breakfast and brought what we wanted, which was perfect for us. Nice TV ... unit very small, but certainly adequate for only 2 ... would not want to try and put someone on sleeper sofa, however!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It is true that it it is hard to predict the weather in the Rockies. All the skiers in town were excited by the early snowfall! they can't wait to get on the slopes. We really appreciate receiving your comments about your stay. We hope you return to Banff soon. September is beautiful here the hiking is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

on checking in there were three [ 2guys and 1 gal] on reception it was quiet but these were some of the best reception staff we have seen in canada. really helpful and obviously enjoyed imparting information to us. the young lady managed to sort out my wife,s phone which was a lifesaver. great gym and pool the main restaurant was closed and didnt use the deli bar but noticed they sold a great wine [naked grape shiras] the apartment was spectacular everything was there but from a personal point of view could have done with a couple of oven trays. wood was available for a real fire which we ordered but please note the instructions on how to open the damper could have been clearer [ sorry about setting off the smoke alarm] thoroughly our week and would reccomend this to anybody

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We agree our staff are our best asset. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Banff again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.