We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom unit. The room was at floor level and we have upstairs neighbors which sometimes on night were a little bit noisy but did not bother us. The room was very clean with a full kitchen and a nice bathroom.
The living room had a fireplace and indeed the TV was not the LCD type but who goes to Banff to watch TV anyway?
The bedroom is tiny basically is just the bed and closet.

The rooms were very clean the maids were so nice they even washed our coffee cup which we just left in on counter to put in dishwasher after we return.
They had even on night a firecamp for kids, and as amenities the resort has a swimming pool with an outdoor hot tub. We did not have enough time to use it. They do have also a gas barbecue area.

The resort is not in Banff about 1-2 km from town site and we enjoyed the location very much. Right on front of resort is the biking/walking trail going up to Canmore which was very convenient to us. That’s really a nice activity to do it if you don’t have a bike there are some for rent at resort.
Staff was very polite and accommodating.

It is not the best place I stayed in Banff but is much better than dozen others. I would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    244
    123
    44
    25
See reviews for
189
226
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Travelling with son needed 2 sleeping areas and kitchen. Given renovated room that had everything. Only complaint was that promised wifi that did not work. The manager eventually offered to put us up in another hotel, which we did not take up sa had already started cooking. By 8.30 the next morning there was a technician walking around outside our room to check that his fix had worked. Bravo for customer service. Enjoyed the spa and pool provided FOC. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for posting your review, your comments are greatly appreciated.

I am happy to report that we have just spent a significant amount of capital on a new and improved resort wide WIFI system that should result in better speeds and less interruption in services. The service will also offer continuous roaming throughout various hotspots around the town of Banff, it will not just be limited to the resort.

We hope to have this new system in place in the coming weeks but in the meantime our current system continues to provide our guests with free WIFI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a 1-bedroom unit, through a timeshare exchange with VRI arriving on a Sunday. We had called a week ahead to confirm our reservation and requested for a secluded and updated unit, based on reviews from other travellers. The resort was easy to find and close to town. The property was divided/run across a secondary highway Tunnel Mountain Road. (Travel on this road and within a couple of miles, this leads you to a parking lot with a trail where see Hoodoos and a breath-taking majestic view of the Bow River valley and the Cascade mountains.)

The staff were polite, nice and accommodating. The front desk staff was helpful in providing us tips on hiking trails based on our 'likes'. They also have a complimentary van service to town, departing every hour from 11am-11pm which was convenient if you didn't want to drive.

The unit was small (would suggest no more than 2 people in the 1-bedroom unit) and came with a fireplace. You can order for firewood (approx $7). The bedroom was tiny and there was room for only 1 night table which had a radio clock and a phone (the only one phone in the unit which was hard to get to in this tiny space.) There was a closet space adequate to stuff your suitcase and hang clothes, as well as a built-in wall cabinet. The lighting was not adequate to allow one to read in bed. The queen-sized bed mattress was comfortably firm and bedsheets were ok. There was not enough lighting to be able to read in bed. The kitchen was equipped with your basic cookware - pots, pans (mostly thin stainless steel + 1 non-stick frying pan), glass baking dish, collander and shredder. The knives were serrated (although we were provided with a good un-serrated cutting knife upon request). The kitchen tools were made of plastic and were hard to cook with.

On one night (and only one), we had other occupants on the 2nd floor and next door. We had to call security to politely ask guests to quiet down as we can hear television, footsteps, talking and crying at 11pm. It worked!

We made use of both the indoor and outdoor hot tub and sauna room -- nothing fancy. The resort also had a small indoor pool and squash court, outdoor tennis court and barbeque grills close to the outdoor hot tub.

Money-saving tip: Purchased an All-Season pass for $70 (mid-May price + tax) which included 2 tickets on Banff Gondola and buy-1-get-one-free on Icefield tour (and Lake Louise cruise although this was not available yet in mid-May). Glacier tix were purchased @ Icefield for $50/ticket + tax). Total savings: $30 savings for 2. We did the Gondola (highly recommended) and Icefield glacier tour, recommended if you haven't been to any glacier. Another option would be the Gondola-Icefield package for $5 savings/adult.

Room Tip: Call ahead to request for an updated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Interior finishes are painted wall surfaces, and stucco, with nary a hint of wood anywhere. However, facilities are immaculately clean, bathrooms are spacious and spotless, and suites have a (unfortunately gas) fireplace.

The (free) hourly shuttle into town is a Godsend, since this hotel is located a little farther than we would have liked from Banff town centre.

The beds are a little uncomfortable, and my partner and I woke up feeling fairly sore (we're in our late 30s) both mornings we awoke there.

Overall, outstanding value for money. Recommended if you wish to stay in Banff in clean, spacious surroundings on a frugal budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of or resort and for your kind words regarding the quality of our housekeeping and value for money. I truly believe that you will not find another room of similar quality and size in Banff for a better price and certainly not with the amenities that we offer here at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort.

It is true that the location is not for all but for some it is our best feature as it is close enough to the town centre to get there easily but isolated enough that you really feel like you are in the mountains, surrounded by wilderness, instead of just another populated urban town setting.

We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

This hotel markets itself as a family oriented hotel. We made a reservation for our 4 and 3 year old children in one of the upper floor 2 storey units. On the second night of our three we receive a complaint at 6:30 PM from Mike shift supervisor adivsing that the people downstairs had complained of noise. We're scratching our head at this as we were sitting down to dinner with our childen. The frontdesk continue to assert that we needed to "keep down the noise." This was ridiculous.

Shortly after that, we went out for the evening and left our children with a nanny service. We came back at 11 PM only to have hotel security banging on our door saying they have received numerouos noise complaints, and that if we didn't cease with the noise they would call the police to have us evicted. Well we couldn't believe this, so we told them to "fill their boots and call whoever they wanted" as our children had been sleeping for
hours, our babysitter was sitting on the couch reading and we had been out that whole time. However, the police (Contstanble Rice and Costanstable Rowe) showed up to give us a warning about noise despite there being absolutely no noise as my children had been sleeping for going on 3-hours and the sitter was quietly reading a book.

At no point did the hotel management take accountable for a) putting a family with small children above other guests who would be disturbed by the normal and reasonable noise that small children might make and b) that they never gave us as guests (paying $300 per night) the same benefit of the doubt as the guests below us who complained.

In closing, this is not a child friendly hotel and it is poorly managed. In terms of the hotel itself. Everything is alcarte and the the amendities are sub standard. For example, there is only 1 anticient TV in the unit in a 2 bedroom story unit, there's no DVD or VCR player and no way to hook one up unless you want to rent one of their units that hooks up through Lodge Net. They wood burning fireplaces but they provide no firewood. The units are poorly maintained with holes in the walls, thread bare carpets, cracked stained ceilings, rust stained tubs, dirty kitchenette with dirty dishes in the cabinets, etc.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone ... and especially not families.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
I will not go into too much detail with regards to this post but will say that there is indeed two sides to every story and our side to this one is very different.

I would however like to speak to a couple of specific complaints for clarity.
1. Despite the opinion of the reviewer, we are actually a very family friendly property and in fact a large portion of our guests are family's and choose to stay here for the size and value of our family units and the numerous child friendly activities we provide including kids games, kids crafts, kids movie nights, kids sports, childrens play area and camp fire and marsmellow roast, all of which are free of charge. We also provide play pens, stair gates and high chairs at no extra cost.
2. Some of our TV's are indeed older CRT TV's but by no means ancient and we are in the process of replacing them with brand new large flat panel TV's. Some have laready been replaced and the others will be within the next year.
3. We have DVD palyers and adapters, if you have your own, available at no charge from the Front Desk but we do post a deposit charge to the room that is reversed when the unit is returned to us.
4. We do provide firewood to anyone who wishes to purchase it for $7 a bundle. This is not a service we make money on, we mearly cover our costs.
5. It is no secret that a portion of our rooms have not been updated in some time and as we have already posted, it is our intetion to rectify this within the next year or so and are very excited about the upcoming plans for both the remaining un-renovated rooms and eventually the main building but we will always maintain that our housekepping staff do a great job of keeping all of units nice and clean.

Thank you for reading this reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We got a deal from a group buy website for this hotel, and did get a great deal - $200 for two nights. Upon check in, the staff were friendly and helpful. However, when we arrived at our room we decided to order firewood for the wood burning fireplace. After placing our order we waited an hour and a half for it to be delivered, only after another phone call to find out if it was actually coming. The man who delivered it was snarly and seemed to hate his job.

We also received a free breakfast with our stay, and the staff at Peppers were wonderful. Great service there, the food wasn't anything to write home about.

We utilized the pool facilities, the pool area is outdated and not very clean. The hot tub gave me a quite serious rash, and my husband complained he was itchy after leaving.

The room is nice, the fridge is a bit loud, but the fireplace is a nice touch. The noise is my biggest concern about this hotel. The sound from above is brutal. Any time someone turns on the water, it sounds like a waterfall is coming through the walls, every footstep sounds like elephants are above. Also, I could hear the television from the suite next door, and the phone ringing (I thought it was our phone, that is how loud the sound comes through). It makes it VERY difficult to sleep at night, especially if the other guests stay up late or get up early. Not a very restful time.

Overall, the hotel is okay, I wouldn't stay here again. I would choose a different facility closer to town, and with a cleaner pool area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for the some of the nice things you had to say. I was sorry to hear that not everything was to your liking but I do apprecitae you bringing it to our attention and the information has been passed on to the necessary department heads for further action. We are planning a major renovation project in the comming years to update the rooms that have yet to be and we are also planning exciting things for the main building so I do hope that once these changes have taken place you will change your mind with regards to returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

very spacious room and bathroom; very quiet, not a sound heard in the night, yet close to the highway so that we could reach the ski hills quickly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.