We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good facilities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, good facilities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Overall a great place to stay in Banff -- easy access to downtown, but just far enough away.
The hotel facilities are great - The Meatball restaurant has great food, and in the spring a great atmosphere on the sidewalk patio.

Good value and comfort!

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    269
    181
    72
    41
See reviews for
162
321
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Ptarmigan Inn is a great place to stay. The staff are very friendly and the room is clean. We also love the location since it is in downtown. Arjun, the frontdesk manager gave us recommendation about the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

i stayed several nights, the mattress and pillows were very very old and completely worn,i had trouble sleeping,and i am usually a very sound sleeper. the room was very small and dirty. it was a very bad experience

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

this hotel is in an excellent location ,close to all the downtown attractions
the front desk and staff were very helpful and answered any questions i had
we had a beautiful room with a balcony ,which had a fabuous view of the mountains
the bar area was great and the bar staff were extremely friendly,pity it didn't stay open a bit later though
shuttle bus stop outside is convenient to take you to other venues if necessary

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

booked through last minute.com and had a superior room with balcany. Lovely room. room service was good. 2 spa pools which were never over crowded but Very hot with sauna and steam room. Plenty of towels although on the small side. Visiting Daughter who lives in Banff, staff gave her a key and welcomed her to come and go aswell which was lovely. Didnt eat at hotel so can't comment on their food. Brilliant position to town, literally 5 minute walk to Mall, shops, safeway, subway etc. Ski bus picked up and dropped off outside which was good. Also included free town bus pass which was useful. Staff EXTREMELY helpful nothing was to much trouble. Two very nice young lads in reception one was called Matt and cant remember other lads name might have been Tom. Had a really good stay. would definately stay their again. Free internet access with use of computer which was also really good to keep in touch with family at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We recently spent one night in Banff, after spending the day skiing with some visiting Irish friends. The location of this hotel is great and for us had been the selling point. We were in Banff for such a short period of time we wanted to be able to easily walk to restaurants, shops, and pubs.

We found the rooms basic, but clean. Front desk and bar staffs were friendly. We had a standard room that opened up to an indoor courtyard (no fresh air). While we noticed that the room was a bit warm and stuffy upon check-in, the hotel’s air conditioning / air circulation problems seemed to become more noticeable at night. We felt like we were trying to sleep in the middle of a summer heat wave, and tossed and turned most of the night. Our first clue probably should have been that the room came with two desk fans, one of which was set up on the dresser, having recently been used (who needs a fan in the middle of winter in the Rocky Mountains)? Our Irish friends had a similar standard room down the hall and had the same experience. As we were checking out, we mentioned the problem, and while staff indicated they appreciated the feedback, it was clear from their reaction that this was a frequent comment from guests.

The location is wonderful, and if the standard rooms had a well functioning air conditioning system, this hotel would be good value. I expect the exterior facing superior and premium rooms would be better as you’d have the option of letting cool air in from outside, but unfortunately our experience was ruined by the poor sleep we got, and we won’t be back. Next time we’ll go back to our tried and true favorites, The Rim Rock or the Delta Royal Canadian Lodge, which although less conveniently located and a little more expensive, have always been a great experience for us.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you reserve and pay for a premium or superior room, and even at that, I would be cautious about staying here in the height of a hot Alberta summer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We booked through Inghams to ski at Banff and were delighted by the Ptarmigan Inn. Our room was a 'superior', well-decorated with 2 very comfortable queen beds, TV, ensuite bathroom and external window with stunning mountain views. (Beware the rooms which have internal windows facing into a quadrangle, as we think that these might suffer from lack of fresh air at night - these may be the 'standard' rooms). A fridge would have been appreciated, but there were ice-dispensers on each floor so drinks could be kept cool in the ice bucket! There is a very nice bar, a restaurant serving both a la carte and an excellent buffet breakfast ($14 plus tax for unlimited cold & hot selection) and specialising in pizza & pasta in the evenings (we can't report on the evening meals as we always ventured out into the town, 2 minutes walk away). The steamroom, sauna and 2 hotpools were much enjoyed after a day's skiing and were a great place to socialise. In spite of its central location, our room was blissfully quiet, the silent nights only being gently disturbed by the dolorous hooting of distant trains as they passed along the Canadian Pacific Railway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.