We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Nuneaton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Repeat visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Just been reading the reviews for the Ptarmigan Hotel. I have stayed there now for 7 years and have always been very happy with it. Like any hotel occasionally bad things will happen but that's life. The rooms are large / spacious and always clean. On the downside they are sometimes too warm, and most nights I have to drink a few litres of water. That said I have had both standard and superior rooms and they all have their own drawbacks, but nothing to put me off going back again.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the amenities are of a good standard. The food is very good, especially the bar meals.

Location wise, the hotel is well placed for the town and a very short walk for shopping / eating and drinking. All in all I would highly recommend it for a good value ski hotel.

If you want to pick fault, it's always possible to find something in any hotel, even the Springs.

In the words of Arnie, "I'll be back!".

  • Liked — Locatio of hotel
  • Disliked — The heat / dry air at night (Despite having a window).
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    301
    220
    85
    51
See reviews for
199
374
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quorn,England.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My son and i booked a Ski trip to Banff through Snowfinders of Market Harborough,England.Who arranged a package holiday with Inghams.Everything went very well,from the flights and transfers to the hotel and during our stay in Banff.The Inghams Reps were very helpful and arranged our Tri-area lift passes and three trips for us.
We stayed at the Ptarmigan hotel on Banff ave,which is close to the town centre.The hotel room we had was very comfortable and we found the staff very good.Due to the extreme cold,-40 on the first night,There was a problem with a burst pipe during our stay but this did not affect us.
We had breakfast on the first morning in the hotel.However it was not available the next day.From then on we went for breakfast at the Caribou Lodge Hotel on Banff ave,which is about 300mts from the Ptarmigan.The buffet breakfast there was fantastic,and only$14.00 each.The staff are excellent and very welcoming.We would not need to eat until the evening after such a feast.
Everywhere we ate in the evening was good,whether it was in a restaurant or one of the many bars.We were spending about $120.00 per day on food and drink.
The Skiing was great with lots of snow.We enjoyed Sunshine and Lake Louise more than Norquay.This was mainly due to the cold snap,most days it around -24.When we went to Norquay only a few of the lifts were open due to the cold.However Sunshine and Lake Louie had more lifts open each day.
We went two tours,Discover Banff and Johnstone Canyon which we would recommend.Both run by the same company,with excellent and friendly staff.We also went to an Ice Hockey match in Calgary.This was a very enjoyable night and finished off our stay.
Everyone we meet was very friendly,helpful and polite and we certainly enjoy going back to Banff

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent ski vacation, all of the great details will be so helpful to our future guest's. It really sounds like you received a true taste of the Canadian life. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope we will see you again next year.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

This hotel is one of the horrible place to stay!

It flood on the hotel???! The staff doesn't seem to know what to do or what's going on, front desk agent need to learn more English as we could not understand what they're talking about instead they gave us an opposite answer. We got our food after half an hour with cold chicken fingers and salty fries! Is that what you called a customer service? They should hire more PROFESSIONAL staff instead of the ones they hired now even the front desk manager have a kid at the desk???? Talk about professionalism!

Bottom line is; NEVER EVER again!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2008
Unfortunately the hotel did experience a flood due to a frozen pipe, as Banff was experiencing extremely cold weather (minus 42 degrees Celsius). Thankfully the staff on duty did respond quickly and we only had to shut down the water in the building for a few hours in the afternoon, as well as close the restaurant for one day. We do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused our guests, and always put our guests comfort first and foremost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

Location Location Location that's what it's all about. This is the 2nd hotel on Banff Ave. from the main downtown. So it's close to walk to restaurants and bars, especially nice later at night when its cold outside. They also have a great cozy bar with a fireplace, which is perfect for apres ski. I was especially impressed with the friendly staff. Bottom line is in it's price range it delivers more than promised.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We stayed early Dec 08 and in a 2 bed standard room. When we arrived the hotel looked pretty basic compared to the others we had passed with log fires etc however the location is fantastic right downtown. You get what you pay for with the room as it's on the lower end of the scale but the beds are comfy. However, I do not recommend that anyone stay in the standard room - if you're not kept awake by the ice-machines nearby and thin walls with people getting home at all hours and up at all hours, you will be kept awake by the heat in the room and lack of air circulation which resulted in quite a severe asthma attack. The cancellation is also 72 hours notice - so don't book in the first place - you'll regret it like we have!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of sleep!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed at the Ptarmigan for 5 nights and found it as excellent base for exploring Banff and the surrounding area. We had a family room with 2 singles and 1 double bed. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

On our last night it was my wife's birthday and as a surprise I had arranged with our family for her birthday cards to be mailed directly to the hotel. I had contacted the hotel via email and asked them to keep the cards at reception and for them to be brought to our table that evening in the hotel restaurant.

They brought the cards after the main course and with a "cake" which was a lovely surprise for us all. The chef even made a special pizza for our 4 year old.

I have absolutely no complaints or gripes about the service or standards of the staff or hotel. We even had deer in the street the night before we departed. Your in the centre of town but on the edge of the wilderness.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking when it was busy.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

I wrote a review in October 2008 and find it interesting that it has been deleted. We had a horrible stay at the Ptarmagin Inn and will never return! The hotel is old and in dire need of renovations. The room was so hot our baby could not sleep. When I mentioned it to the girl at the front desk she said that if we had stayed in one of the "superior" rooms we would have been cooler as the windows face outside. We stayed in a "standard" room which faced the courtyard (the courtyard was an empty room with a sofa and chair...tacky) I can only imagine what an inferno this hotel would be in the summer! I also filled in a review card and left it at the front desk, still waiting for a reply.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#29 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#21 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.