We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place for the price. Stayed here on a random at a moments notice trip. Room was good.

Wish the room had a fridge and microwave but wasn't the be all and end all.

The sauna had some black marks in the grout but still excellent value for the price.

Would stay here again. Great location tondownton

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    268
    179
    71
    41
See reviews for
162
318
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are spacious and hotel is reasonable for Banff. However, it just feels "dirty". Carpeting in the rooms is filthy (look at the bottom of your socks), bathroom was somewhat disgusting and overall, just doesn't give you that clean feeling. We upgraded to a premier room. Overall, I can live with the "dated" look of the rooms, etc., but the "dir"t will have us staying somewhere else next time we are in Banff.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was fine for a larger family group, easy on the budget, and included some amenities like the hot tub room that would not necessarily be included at that price. People considering this hotel should be well aware there is no AC, and the windows do not have bug screens. As well, the breadfast was good in terms of content, but ill-conceived in terms of service: they should just put coffee pots out so people could serve themselves rather than pretent they have a buffet with beverage service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Prairie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose eat at a restaurant that is in this hotel. While having dinner, my husband and I decided check out the hotel. The staff were friendly and everything was clean. Our room was nice, and the bed was comfortable, but no view. We had to park in the rear lot because the truck was to large for the underground lot. The breakfast was very nice and a good selection. We payed $100.07 including tax for our room and thought it was a far price. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in September and had a really nice stay, the hotel is in a good position in the town with underground parking. The rooms are large and clean and we had a small balcony for the fab views.
Breakfast was very good a good selection of hot and cold and a nice setting.
The staff were very helpful and polite. We would definitely come to this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The fire Pit in the main lobby wafted fire wood aromas all over the hotel.
We loved it.
The gym was good.
The hot tub was fun

Room was large
Room service was prompt
The hotel is very well situated to all the towns attractions

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was very clean and well maintained . Great view and super quiet. . We never heard a thing and slept very well
We also were able to enjoy a in room movie
This hidden gem is close to town which is better than other locations
We had supper in meatballs food was good but was pleasantly delighted with the Baked Alaska
Breakfast was ok in the morning

Two things that were irritating for us was service . Both times we were at the desk the staff were not at the desk but busy playing on the computer in a back office
Both times we had to shout out to them to get them to get up off the chair and help us

In the morning the waitress in the restaurant was rude SHE asked us if we wanted coffee which my husband said yes please as well we would like ice water This to us is a normal request. She told us we could get our water off the buffet which was warm and ice free. LAZY STAFF
Then after we got our one cup of coffee we never saw her again no refills no jams no service ,


  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.