We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great location, good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, just before the start of the main shops. There's ample options at breakfast, lovely locally made toiletries, and the staff are lovely. The only real complaint is that it was noisy outside my room as there was some sort of works going on in the street.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    250
    166
    68
    38
See reviews for
154
296
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Cheap hotel, and I guess you get what you pay for. It was in an excellent location and you could walk to all the shops and restaurants in Banff. The buffet breakfast that was included was enjoyable as well. Free parking also. The rooms were quite dated, but clean. Our main complaint was that it was not air conditioned and as it was 33 degrees, it certainly needed it! We were not told this when we checked in and it made sleep near on impossible!! Wouldn't stay here again because of this!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back look directly over the neighbours back yards, and if it is hot enough to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose this place as a pet friendly option for two nights in Banff. For 179 a night it is a great deal for summer rates in Banff. The hotel room was small but clean and mostly quiet. They provided a nice dog bed, bowl, treats and a you. The staff was very friendly. Parking is free but crowded. And breakfast is included, with options like omelettes, cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, bacon and the best little baby pancakes! My biggest complaint is that the hot tubs weren't great. The steam room smelled funky and had ants in it, also it got steamy but not hot. And the sauna was sub par. The whole hot tub area was dingy. This is really my only complaint. When we stay here again we will just go to the hot springs. I think a reno of the hot tub area is well overdue. But a definite safe choice if you want a bargain that is close to town.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised with the value in this hotel. The rooms could use renovating ( mainly the washrooms) but are very comfortable and clean. The bedding is especially nice and beds are better than average.
The location, included breakfast and comfort in rooms makes this hotel a great find for the price.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We traveled all over Alberta and decided to have a nice quiet night's stay in Banff. The Ptarmigan Inn was quiet, cool, and clean...along with well priced. There was free wifi in our room and a free breakfast buffet. I did not care for the restaurant "The Meatball" in the hotel. The food was way over priced, the service was very slow and the food was not very good (and burnt). But the hotel itself was great.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, but you may have an inside view vs outside view. We chose an inside view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloogrrl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was actually meant to stay at The Driftwood Inn, but got upgraded to the Ptarmigan at check-in. Beds were a good size and comfortable, but the bathroom was tiny and toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.) were very low quality. The free parking and the scrumptious buffet breakfast, however, made up for anything else the hotel lacked. Restaurant staff were cheery, but seemed to play favorites when seating their guests. Turn up the professionalism!

Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel seems to be set up more for winter travelers than summer. There isn't any air conditioning, but our room did include a fan, and the rooms weren't uncomfortably warm. We had a small deck, so we could keep the door cracked to help cool it down if needed. We were hoping the deck would overlook a view, but it faced the building next door so it wasn't very enticing to sit out there. The location is great, within very easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The Banff Fairmont Hotel was a bit longer walk than we expected, but still very manageable. The hotel includes free access to the bus system, which we though was great but then never used since the buses weren't frequent enough. We were only here for one night, so we may have planned better for the buses if we had a longer stay. We chose to go out to another restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room with a deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;