We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Air Conditioning!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No Air Conditioning!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

For the price paid at this hotel, it should have a/c. We were supplied with a table fan which did little to alleviate the discomfort. I noted a small space heater, so I'd be a little suspicious if there's heat in the room during the colder months. Both the room and bathroom were very small and the bare minimum amount of towels were supplied. The room and the entire hotel needs updating and feels shabby. It's obviously an older hotel since the hallways are very narrow. The only upside is the hotel's location in town which is very central and close to bars, restaurants, etc. If you have another hotel option, take it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    269
    181
    73
    41
See reviews for
162
322
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place looks great from far. But it is far from good. The beds are literary falling apart. They sag in the center and before I left I stripped the bed to discover the bed all torn up. The tiles in the bathroom were moldy and the icing on the cake was that there is NO AC in the rooms. I had to wait 30 min for a fan cause the only other employee working that night was scrubbing the floors.

The positive is the breakfast that was included.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Got a good deal on a 2 night stay before high season and with free breakfast, parking, and bus passes we couldn't pass it up. Had stayed here before about 20 years ago (ouch, that long!) and knew what to expect. Had a room overlooking an inside atrium (not the front lobby one) and it was surprisingly quiet. Room was small but we managed to fit family luggage creatively in the room. Did not like the lack of fresh air circulation in the room. I guess we could have left the atrium door open, but chain lock was broken.
Breakfast was bland on the buffet side, but the custom omelettes were very good.
Parking garage is very tight and does not leave much room around for full size cars. Easier to just go down one more level where we found almost no one else.
Bathroom was small with thin wall to room.
Only would stay here if you get a good deal or if you really just plan on sleeping in the room and can accept all its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Overlooking inside atrium (not lobby one) are quiet. Just leave balcony door open for some air circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with family in June, 2014.

The hotel looks pretty run down and kind of average for the rates they charge and the rooms and bathrooms are extremely small. The washbasin was outside the bathroom, which was pretty awkward and uncomfortable. Location though is very nice, right in the heart of the town.

The bed too soft and caused a bad backache for the next few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at The Ptarmigan Inn in Banff for three nights. Overall it wasn't a bad stay but we really thought the inn could do with a good clean up.
Our room was a very good size and had a balcony. The beds were comfortable and there were adequate facilities in the room for our stay. A good sized TV, not that we had time to watch it. Plenty of tea and coffee and good toiletries in the bathroom.
The room itself was a little shabby in places as was the bathroom. The room appeared quite clean but on closer inspection not so good. For example there were hairs stuck in a corner of the bathroom floor which I know were not ours.
Moving on to the public areas of the inn the cleaning had really not hit the spot. The lifts were quite dirty with loads of dirt, hair etc in the door runners. I went to use the computer to email home and it was covered with dust as were the desk it sat on and the surrounding areas. The shelf where a public phone sat looked as if it hadn't seen a duster for some while either.
We had breakfast at the inn which was buffet. It was average really. There was generally a shortage of glasses for juice and by the look of the tea an equal shortage of tea bags. There was a choice of a hot breakfast and continental whichever we preferred but to be honest there was not much choice in the pastries department. If the breakfast hadn't been included in our stay I don't think we would have paid for more than one day for the meal and would have found an alternative.
On the good side the inn was very central to the whole of Banff. Like all the other hotels/inns we stayed in there was free Internet available. Staff were friendly enough and provided all local information either verbally or in leaflet form. Another plus was the free bus pass for the local bus that takes passengers all round Banff on two different routes and we found this to be very handy.
Would we go back to the inn ? Probably not unless they gave it a good clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here as part of Rocky Mountaineer Train Tour, so only overnight, thankfully. Very shabby hotel, with very tired atmosphere. Didn't help that they were apparently in the process of replacing the carpets in the hallways, which added to the overall shabbiness ! Breakfast was appalling ( included in the room price) and unappetising , complete with two toasters, which should've been thrown out years ago. Lightly tinged two slices of bread in 4 minutes!! Needless to say there was a queue for toast. Staff did their best to please , but didn't have much of an atmosphere to work with. All in all,a disappointing stay in Banff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We returned to the Ptarmigan to celebrate our 40th anniversary, since we had spent our honeymoon here! A large addition and front façade had been added since the last trip, so it didn't look the same, but it is a nice 'lodge' look from the street. We were delighted with our champagne and choc-covered strawberries, a special welcome from the management. Our room was lovely, well-appointed, and spacious, with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. (This type of room overlooks Banff Ave., so sometimes there was pedestrian noise until late into the night.) The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. The front desk staff were very congenial, eager to answer our questions and give suggestions. The location is ideal for walking but Roam bus passes were also included in the room package. Great memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.