We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with a clean up !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ipswich, Suffolk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Could do with a clean up !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at The Ptarmigan Inn in Banff for three nights. Overall it wasn't a bad stay but we really thought the inn could do with a good clean up.
Our room was a very good size and had a balcony. The beds were comfortable and there were adequate facilities in the room for our stay. A good sized TV, not that we had time to watch it. Plenty of tea and coffee and good toiletries in the bathroom.
The room itself was a little shabby in places as was the bathroom. The room appeared quite clean but on closer inspection not so good. For example there were hairs stuck in a corner of the bathroom floor which I know were not ours.
Moving on to the public areas of the inn the cleaning had really not hit the spot. The lifts were quite dirty with loads of dirt, hair etc in the door runners. I went to use the computer to email home and it was covered with dust as were the desk it sat on and the surrounding areas. The shelf where a public phone sat looked as if it hadn't seen a duster for some while either.
We had breakfast at the inn which was buffet. It was average really. There was generally a shortage of glasses for juice and by the look of the tea an equal shortage of tea bags. There was a choice of a hot breakfast and continental whichever we preferred but to be honest there was not much choice in the pastries department. If the breakfast hadn't been included in our stay I don't think we would have paid for more than one day for the meal and would have found an alternative.
On the good side the inn was very central to the whole of Banff. Like all the other hotels/inns we stayed in there was free Internet available. Staff were friendly enough and provided all local information either verbally or in leaflet form. Another plus was the free bus pass for the local bus that takes passengers all round Banff on two different routes and we found this to be very handy.
Would we go back to the inn ? Probably not unless they gave it a good clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    283
    195
    75
    44
See reviews for
175
342
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rockhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here as part of Rocky Mountaineer Train Tour, so only overnight, thankfully. Very shabby hotel, with very tired atmosphere. Didn't help that they were apparently in the process of replacing the carpets in the hallways, which added to the overall shabbiness ! Breakfast was appalling ( included in the room price) and unappetising , complete with two toasters, which should've been thrown out years ago. Lightly tinged two slices of bread in 4 minutes!! Needless to say there was a queue for toast. Staff did their best to please , but didn't have much of an atmosphere to work with. All in all,a disappointing stay in Banff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We returned to the Ptarmigan to celebrate our 40th anniversary, since we had spent our honeymoon here! A large addition and front façade had been added since the last trip, so it didn't look the same, but it is a nice 'lodge' look from the street. We were delighted with our champagne and choc-covered strawberries, a special welcome from the management. Our room was lovely, well-appointed, and spacious, with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. (This type of room overlooks Banff Ave., so sometimes there was pedestrian noise until late into the night.) The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. The front desk staff were very congenial, eager to answer our questions and give suggestions. The location is ideal for walking but Roam bus passes were also included in the room package. Great memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Banff Ptarmigan Inn is a great place to stay. Fantastic location, clean rooms, friendly staff and a complimentary breakfast. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Banff. This hotel is great value for money. The rooms are slightly outdated (as are most in Banff), but Banff is about the outdoors anyway!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is like a labyrinth, with rooms in all directions and unfortunately for us ours was in one corner at the end of a million corridors. We had a lot of luggage and it was a task getting it to the room and then fitting it in. The room was tiny!
The guy at the reception is rude and bored, couldn't care less about the guests checking in as they have a lot of tie ups with tour operators and schools too. The hotel seemed full and buzzing with groups and school kids. Breakfast was a huge line up and waiting with milk getting over and the waitresses hating being told about it. The guy behind the egg station was extremely sweet and tried to serve everyone according to their specifications. Can't say the same about the waitresses!
Not a beautiful place to stay in beautiful banf.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. The location was the best part of staying at this hotel. It was a few minutes walk to downtown, shopping and restaurants. The room had one queen and two twin beds. It was nice for the kids to have their own bed. The room was pretty clean, except for the coffee stains running down the bathroom door. Bed was ok. I think they used a feather bed to cover up the dips in the mattress. Wifi was ok too. The room had a coffee maker, kettle, blow dryer and iron with ironing board. The hallways had a weird smell. The hotel has underground parking.

Breakfast was good. There was cereal, toast, pastries, croissants, muffins, yogurt, cottage cheese, fruit salad, hashbrowns, pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon and an omelet station. Service at the restaurant was not great. It took a long time to get refills on our coffee and tea.

I think the best reason to stay here is the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

So you want to go to Banff, but you don't want to pay that Banff Springs Fairmont price tag, where do you go? The Ptarmigan is a fine choice, however, as with most hotels in the town of Banff prepare for a higher than average room rate and a very average hotel experience - basically you pay the price for a W, and get a Best Western. But hey, your in Banff and you're not suppose to spend time at the hotel, you're suppose to spend time out in the mountains and rivers and lakes etc. Breakfast was included when we stayed here, and it was, you guessed it, pretty average - I recommend getting an omelet made in the kitchen over the buffet scrambled eggs. The location is good, on the main street and easy walking to any of the shops/restaurants as well as the Banff Info Centre to get your park passes, trail info etc. One highlight of the Ptarmigan was the "spa" centre, which included two large hot tubs with different temperatures of water, a steam room and a sauna, a welcome respite after a long day of hiking in the mountains. The spa seemed under utilized, and when I went I had the place to myself. Its located on the bottom level, ask the front desk for the keycode.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies, which are great for hanging sweaty hiking cloths and dirty/wet boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.