We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Creston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

When in Banff, I usually stay at the Remote Crossing at the North end of the Park. Since my son had a friend with him, I wanted to stay right in town where there would be no temptation to drive anywhere. The Ptarmigan provided an excellent location, walking distance to all the downtown night spots. I was left alone with no worry of young drivers on vacation.
Another positive was the excellent breakfasts that were included in the very reasonable price. I found this hotel on Priceline but I quickly found a better price on the hotel's own website.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    269
    181
    73
    41
See reviews for
162
322
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was also with the Crescent Ski Council group. My room was actually cool - I think it depends on the floor - I was on the top floor. I had a larger premium room with a fireplace and larger bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. I found the property to be very clean - the daily cleaning service was excellent. I agree with Skibumlong that the breakfast was top notch and the bar on the 1st floor was great with excellent bartenders who could make any drink we wanted!! The location was very convenient to town. It isn't a 5 star hotel but is very nice and great for the price. I stayed at another hotel in Banff in the past and trust me, there is such a thing as a 1 star property and Ptarmigan was a pleasure after my past experience in Banff lodging. Saturday night was a little loud on Banff Avenue when I understand the locals from Calgary head up to Banff but after that it was fine. I would stay there again without question. The front desk crew was the best!!! They brought our luggage right to our rooms after arrival and picked it up outside the rooms on our departure day. Thanks to Mary, Stefan, Kerry, Dennis and Hugo for a great stay. Hope to be back again in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Request a premium room if it's available and ask for an upper floor and on the corner if possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here with the Crescent Ski Council. The rooms were comfortable...but a bit on the warm side. The Breakfast in the morning was top notch. The Front Desk crew was wonderful. Thank you for a great stay: Hugo Bishop, Kerry James,& Mary Nelson!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Even if Ptarmigan Inn is not a five star hotel, in comparision to the quotation in my understanding it is on the lowest level. The inn generally - except the lobby - is really dirty and it has a tremendous lack of maintanance regarding floors, bed- and bathrooms. Rooms are generally smaller than usual in the U.S. and Canada. Breakfast is included in the roomrates but in terms of quality (and quantity) not worth to discuss, better alternatives are nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here for a week as part of a package deal with a ski club so I don't know what the specific lodging costs were but I would recommend looking elsewhere. The hotel is on the edge of the downtown area which is great, but everything else about the place is less than what I would hope for. A local told me it's a converted motor lodge. The room sink was located in the room, not in the bathroom. Lots of plumbing sounds from other rooms. Our first floor room was so hot we never turned the room heat on and slept with the window open in March. Mattress had strange pad on it. No workout equipment. Dysfunctional hot tub and could never get the steam room hot. You have to wait to be seated in order to get coffee or breakfast in the morning and the breakfast doesn't open until 7:00 am...difficult to catch early shuttles to the ski resorts. The lobby does have a nice bar in it and the bartenders were great!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can??
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There was a long line for the 7 am breakfast buffet every morning because the first buses left at 7:45 for Lake Louise and 7:55 for Sunshine Valley. It makes no sense that they do not open at 6:30 am. The omelet station would not open until 7:05. It was a good buffet but could not enjoy it properly.

Also avoid room 111. It was supposed to be a Superior room which we paid extra for, but it was a short room compared with others in our ski group. When we went to ask for a different room, they said they were all booked up for all 7 nights.

The convenience to town and ski buses and ski lockers were great. Snowtips was excellent for renting skis. We would take 1 ski boot to the store for adjustment and they would drop off new skis to try and pick up the old ones at the hotel. The skiing was absolutely fabulous!

Room Tip: Avoid room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The location of this hotel to downtown Banff is wonderful, the beds were comfy, and rooms clean. But there were numerous other issues. The rooms were extremely hot, even with heating turned off and a fan in the room, it was uncomfortable (and only max of 40 F outside). The included breakfast was nice, but started too late in order to get to the mountain when the lifts opened without inhaling the food. One of the hot tubs was not working. And although some staff were nice and helpful, others were downright rude. I wouldn't be likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.