We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast too late and not a Superior Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast too late and not a Superior Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There was a long line for the 7 am breakfast buffet every morning because the first buses left at 7:45 for Lake Louise and 7:55 for Sunshine Valley. It makes no sense that they do not open at 6:30 am. The omelet station would not open until 7:05. It was a good buffet but could not enjoy it properly.

Also avoid room 111. It was supposed to be a Superior room which we paid extra for, but it was a short room compared with others in our ski group. When we went to ask for a different room, they said they were all booked up for all 7 nights.

The convenience to town and ski buses and ski lockers were great. Snowtips was excellent for renting skis. We would take 1 ski boot to the store for adjustment and they would drop off new skis to try and pick up the old ones at the hotel. The skiing was absolutely fabulous!

Room Tip: Avoid room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    271
    184
    73
    44
See reviews for
165
329
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The location of this hotel to downtown Banff is wonderful, the beds were comfy, and rooms clean. But there were numerous other issues. The rooms were extremely hot, even with heating turned off and a fan in the room, it was uncomfortable (and only max of 40 F outside). The included breakfast was nice, but started too late in order to get to the mountain when the lifts opened without inhaling the food. One of the hot tubs was not working. And although some staff were nice and helpful, others were downright rude. I wouldn't be likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The first thing we noticed when we stayed was the narrow hallways with ripped up carpets that were far from clean. That followed by a horrible smell on the first floor. I'm thinking maybe mold or something rotten. This smell never went away. Our room was far from clean. Probably the dirtiest room I have ever stayed in. The carpets were dirty, the walls were dirty and the bathroom was the worst. The bathroom door was so smudged up and had dried drips of something all over it. I don't think the tolilet or bathroom floor had ever been washed. Everything about this room was dirty. Will never ever stay here again and will not recommend to anyone. Complained to staff and they really didn't care, they must hear this a lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am truly sorry for the negative experience you had with us here at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn, we do pride ourselves in our customer service as well as our cleanliness. We are planning on replacing all of our hallway carpets in the hotel by Easter which we hope will improve the ambiance as well as the overall guest experience. I do hope you contact me at the hotel directly in regards to the other issues you had with your room as this is not something we take likely, and I would like to discuss the matter with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent location, helpful and nice staff, good restaurant/bar. There were only two minor negative things: The heating system was quite noicy (and with -25 C it was needed!) and the light in the room could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel in Banff so we went with an open mind as mixed reviews.
Our first impressions were good. Yes its dated but looked clean and the beds are gorgeous like sleeping on marshmallows.
The water was always hot and plenty of clean towels. Shower good.
We had a room on the outside with balcony and lovely mountain views. Some of the rooms face the atrium so no natural light but I emailed and asked for one on the outside and was given one at no extra cost.
Breakfasts included and its very good and as much as you can eat.
The negatives are at our time of visit there were many rowdy, noisy singles staying there who woke




us several times in the early hours. Not what you want when such an early start skiing.
The worse complaint and one that shocked and disgusted me was what I found under the bed on our last day.....a used condom!! Yes thats correct! It had been there all week!
I complained to the management and was told the cleaner would be spoken to.
So remember to check under the beds on arrival and take earplugs and you should be fine!




We also felt too intimidated to use the Jacuzzi facilities as they were hogged by the same youngsters.
I did receive a complimentary bottle of wine when I complained though but as I dont drink it wasnt much compensation!
The biggest

Room Tip: Ask for outside room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada!
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was clean and decent for the amount paid and the breakfast was decent but the building and parking seemed to be pretty open to the public, no real security. Don't leave things in ur car or truck if you are concerned. Also there's no gym. The corner in the hot tub room had a broken treadmill and 2 free weights. Good location and helpful staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Banff Ptarmigan Inn is an ultra-convenient hotel for skiiers visiting the slopes at Lake Louise, Sunshine and Norquay resorts. Door to door service via tour buses eliminates the need for a rental or personal car. The hotel is one of several bus stops for the ski resorts. Its central location in Banff''s shopping district puts everything you need within walking distance. New this year is the breakfast buffet included in your room rate. Kerry and Mary are 2 of the very helpful and friendly concierge staff. Stephan, Kate and Chef Steve will certainly add to the delight of your meals! This hotel is comfortable and affordable. It was a lucky find three trips ago. We just completed our 4th ski/stay in February and certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Check with the front desk for recommendations depending on the # of people per room. They will matc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.