We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent location, helpful and nice staff, good restaurant/bar. There were only two minor negative things: The heating system was quite noicy (and with -25 C it was needed!) and the light in the room could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    272
    188
    73
    44
See reviews for
170
330
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel in Banff so we went with an open mind as mixed reviews.
Our first impressions were good. Yes its dated but looked clean and the beds are gorgeous like sleeping on marshmallows.
The water was always hot and plenty of clean towels. Shower good.
We had a room on the outside with balcony and lovely mountain views. Some of the rooms face the atrium so no natural light but I emailed and asked for one on the outside and was given one at no extra cost.
Breakfasts included and its very good and as much as you can eat.
The negatives are at our time of visit there were many rowdy, noisy singles staying there who woke




us several times in the early hours. Not what you want when such an early start skiing.
The worse complaint and one that shocked and disgusted me was what I found under the bed on our last day.....a used condom!! Yes thats correct! It had been there all week!
I complained to the management and was told the cleaner would be spoken to.
So remember to check under the beds on arrival and take earplugs and you should be fine!




We also felt too intimidated to use the Jacuzzi facilities as they were hogged by the same youngsters.
I did receive a complimentary bottle of wine when I complained though but as I dont drink it wasnt much compensation!
The biggest

Room Tip: Ask for outside room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada!
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was clean and decent for the amount paid and the breakfast was decent but the building and parking seemed to be pretty open to the public, no real security. Don't leave things in ur car or truck if you are concerned. Also there's no gym. The corner in the hot tub room had a broken treadmill and 2 free weights. Good location and helpful staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Banff Ptarmigan Inn is an ultra-convenient hotel for skiiers visiting the slopes at Lake Louise, Sunshine and Norquay resorts. Door to door service via tour buses eliminates the need for a rental or personal car. The hotel is one of several bus stops for the ski resorts. Its central location in Banff''s shopping district puts everything you need within walking distance. New this year is the breakfast buffet included in your room rate. Kerry and Mary are 2 of the very helpful and friendly concierge staff. Stephan, Kate and Chef Steve will certainly add to the delight of your meals! This hotel is comfortable and affordable. It was a lucky find three trips ago. We just completed our 4th ski/stay in February and certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Check with the front desk for recommendations depending on the # of people per room. They will matc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The location is superb. The daily included breakfast is robust. Lounge has a varied cocktail menu and attentive staff. 2 hot tubs for relaxation after after a day of skiing. Our room had 2 queen beds and was perfect. There are rooms that the 2 beds are separated by the bathroom which are perfect for a non-couple couple, if you know what I mean. The only draw back we have seen so far is if you are looking for a full fitness room, it is not here. My suggestion is walk the steps for 15 min to warm up for your skiing. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is located on Main Street in Banff, right at the corner of the shops and restaurants. It’s a great location for seeing the town of Banff. We had easy ski access to Norquay, Sunshine Village and Lake Louise with the shuttle bus. The rooms are a good size with everything you need, including a comfortable bed. The rooms are nothing fancy, but nice, clean and very comfortable. The staff was very nice. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Nice bar off the lobby. We traveled there with our ski club, and everyone seemed pleased with their stay.

Room Tip: Try for a second or third floor back street room with an outside view. They have spectacular view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in February, had booked a room with 2 queen beds. When we checked in we had a room with one bed ! Unfortunately, the room was on the ground floor with a patio door to an indoor atrium, therefore we had to keep the curtIns closed and did not have a window. The room was very stuffy and badly lit, however it was clean.
Breakfast was poor enough. The fruit salad was chopped up so small and was starting to turn brown. If you don't want to die of the thirst don't have the potatoes ( so salty ) both mornings we were nearly finished eating by the time we finally got a coffee. They did have a separate omelette station which was good.
The location of the hotel is perfect to see banff but for the money there are better hotels in town. If you do stay please make sure you ask for an outside room with a window. Ask for a room close to the lift too if you have many bags as the corridors are endless and rooms can be quite far from the lift.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an outside room with a window, not on the ground floor. If you have trouble wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.