We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could find better....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Banff
cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could find better....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in February, had booked a room with 2 queen beds. When we checked in we had a room with one bed ! Unfortunately, the room was on the ground floor with a patio door to an indoor atrium, therefore we had to keep the curtIns closed and did not have a window. The room was very stuffy and badly lit, however it was clean.
Breakfast was poor enough. The fruit salad was chopped up so small and was starting to turn brown. If you don't want to die of the thirst don't have the potatoes ( so salty ) both mornings we were nearly finished eating by the time we finally got a coffee. They did have a separate omelette station which was good.
The location of the hotel is perfect to see banff but for the money there are better hotels in town. If you do stay please make sure you ask for an outside room with a window. Ask for a room close to the lift too if you have many bags as the corridors are endless and rooms can be quite far from the lift.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an outside room with a window, not on the ground floor. If you have trouble wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    242
    156
    67
    37
See reviews for
148
283
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is well situated on Banff Ave. Once we returned from a day of skiing, we parked the car and were able to access shops and restaurants easily. The hotel is showing some age in the bathrooms and carpet in the hallways, but the friendliness of the staff and especially the diligence of the housekeeping staff in maintaining our room made the experience a very positive one.The hot breakfast buffet was excellent and we were well fortified before we hit the slopes. Underground parking was certainly a large part of our decision to stay at the Banff Ptarmigan as well.
We would definitely stay here again when visiting Banff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Can't say enough about the friendly staff and amenities at the Banff Ptarmigan. The hotel was perfectly situated within easy walking distance of all the restaurants, pubs and shops downtown.
Accommodations were very good, but the hospitality, diversity and friendly personalities of the staff will KEEP ME COMING BACK and happy to make referrals!
Big thanks to Dennis, Devin, Mary, Kerry and Hugo! Awesome experience. Feb 2014

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last September, the room was nicely decorated and very clean. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, and the breakfast was also very good but you have to get there early or you may have to que.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very good value and great location. Rooms are a bit old but very clean and fairly spacious. This is definitely a 3-star hotel. No more. No less. The breakfast (included) is very good: omelet station, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, pancakes, toast, yogurt, fruit, etc. Comparing with friends that stayed at two other hotels, the breakfast at the Ptarmigan is by far the best. The bus to the resorts stops right in front of the hotel. The hotel is only a few steps away from all the shops, restaurants, etc. in Banff. There is a Safeway (grocery store) right around the corner. My only complaint is that one night I decided to stay in and ordered a pizza from the restaurant and it was subpar.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very good value for money and in a perfect location on the edge of downtown Banff (this becomes very important when the temp is -30c, you really don't want to walk too far down Banff Avenue to get back to your hotel!) and ski bus pick up at the front door. Friendly helpful staff always on hand. My room was at the back of the hotel with a lovely mountain view and was quiet enough. Extremely comfortable bed and bedlinen, no fridge but the balcony served that purpose. The free breakfast was a real bonus with a good choice and made to order omelettes. Enjoyed the hot tubs too.... who needs treadmills after all that skiing? Would definitely stay again, but avoid the 'standard' rooms with the internal atrium 'view'.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed 6 nights as we were in town to see our son. The hotel itself is what you would expect for the money and does seem good value. Our room was on the second floor at the end of a corridor which meant we didn't have many neighbours so it should have been quiet. However, we were woken early every morning by people getting up early bathing and flushing the toilet. We have stayed at enough hotels to know you will always hear noise but this seemed overly loud to us and meant we were awake by 6am every day.

Breakfast is "free". Its not too bad although hubby didn't enjoy the sausages and egg. It was a nice surprise to find pancakes and there did appear to be something for everyone, although on busy days items didn't seem to be replaced very quickly. We also ate at the on site restaurant (The Meatball) and their food was so good we returned for a second night.

Location is fantastic, staff are friendly and when our kettle stopped working it was replaced immediately. Wi-Fi rarely worked in our room but if you wandered nearer to reception you could usually get a signal.

Overall, Banff is an expensive place to stay and the Inn is great value for money but if I return I will try somewhere else and hopefully get a little more sleep! However, if you're an early riser try it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.