We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here 1 night before going too another hotel for a hockey tournament. Soon as we checked in the staff were warm and welcoming,the rooms were pretty average a bed,a TV and a table.I went to the hot tubs and they were very well maintained,The breakfast was pretty good with bacon,hash browns,pancakes,sausage,omelette station.The location is great right in town.Overall If I could I would give this place, a for and a half stars

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    243
    156
    68
    38
See reviews for
147
283
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed in 10+ different hotels in town but find myself always coming back to the Ptarmigan. Nothing matches it in terms of value for money, location and the friendliness of the staff who work there. The rooms are well kept, the beds are AMAZING and the workers there can't do enough to help you. For people who are saying the rooms need an update, go stay at the Fairmont and pay $450 a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week and had an incredible time!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were eager to help us get our room ready before regular check in time, friendly at the buffet and restaurant/bar, and helped us plan our Johnston canyon ice walk.

We also loved the location of our hotel. We were within walking distance of the town area. It was only a couple blocks away, and that was really nice.

Our hotel was kept clean and our room was spotless. We also found our room a good size with a little balcony overlooking the lobby!

We would definitely stay here again, and look forward to it :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I booked this hotel without reading the reviews...it was in need of an update! The rooms are just ok as the beds were old and had lumpy padding under the sheets, the bathroom was very old and tire, the toilet seat was broken (yet the staff fixed it quickly), the "Health Center" was pitiful (just eliminate it as it's that bad).

On the bright side, staff was great, the price was competitive and the location is smack in the middle of Banff!

All in all...this hotel works for the ski bum on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Friendly reception staff, very dated room but clean. Lumpy bed and very 'tired' bathroom. Would imagine could be very noisy when full. Definitely not above 2 star standard felt very budget type standard. Probably suited to younger clientele. Restaurant food surprisingly good quality and very good value for money. Good central position. Nearby train track whistles provided an interesting lullaby. Breakfast was a very crammed experience as guests all wanted to eat at same time to get on coaches, but shared table with very nice Japanese couple. Good choice of well presented food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had such a beautiful stay at this hotel, my girlfriend and I. They couldn't be more helpful. We were advised about a wonderful restaurant and many things to do in Banff. As well as good advise on the shops of the town as we were looking for specialized items. A wonderful breakfast, with many options. We had arranged a dog sledding morning, which meant we wouldn't be able to check out at the appropriate time. This was no trouble for them, what so ever and they even gave us more time than we needed. Which was excellent, so we didn't need to rush. The same morning we had dog sledding, we didn't have time for breakfast, this was also no trouble and they supplied us with take containers. Wonderful service. Only problem I had was having to leave. Wonderful town and wonderful hotel. When I go back I'll certainly stay there again. All shops in walking distance from hotel. Look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked to stay at the Ptarmigan through Canadian Affair. We were given a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and our standard room had comfy beds, a good sized en-suite and a good range of free TV channels. The housekeeping staff were great and the room was always spotless when we came back at the end of the day. The buffet breakfast was included in our package and was a good option. Cererals, toast and cook breakfast items were available from the buffet and the chef was on hand to prepare omelettes to individuals tastes. The same restaurant did good family meals in the evenings too and at reasonable prices. The staff couldn't do enough to help. The location is only a few hundred meters from the town centre. Close enough to go out for a walk in the evening to visit the other restaurants and bars if you want but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. (If you visit in winter there is a free to use ice skating rink really close and skates can be rented cheaply). Thoroughly recommended and we will have this hotel firmly on our wish list when we next return to Banff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.