We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Back Packers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best for Back Packers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Friendly reception staff, very dated room but clean. Lumpy bed and very 'tired' bathroom. Would imagine could be very noisy when full. Definitely not above 2 star standard felt very budget type standard. Probably suited to younger clientele. Restaurant food surprisingly good quality and very good value for money. Good central position. Nearby train track whistles provided an interesting lullaby. Breakfast was a very crammed experience as guests all wanted to eat at same time to get on coaches, but shared table with very nice Japanese couple. Good choice of well presented food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    235
    141
    64
    37
See reviews for
138
269
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had such a beautiful stay at this hotel, my girlfriend and I. They couldn't be more helpful. We were advised about a wonderful restaurant and many things to do in Banff. As well as good advise on the shops of the town as we were looking for specialized items. A wonderful breakfast, with many options. We had arranged a dog sledding morning, which meant we wouldn't be able to check out at the appropriate time. This was no trouble for them, what so ever and they even gave us more time than we needed. Which was excellent, so we didn't need to rush. The same morning we had dog sledding, we didn't have time for breakfast, this was also no trouble and they supplied us with take containers. Wonderful service. Only problem I had was having to leave. Wonderful town and wonderful hotel. When I go back I'll certainly stay there again. All shops in walking distance from hotel. Look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked to stay at the Ptarmigan through Canadian Affair. We were given a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and our standard room had comfy beds, a good sized en-suite and a good range of free TV channels. The housekeeping staff were great and the room was always spotless when we came back at the end of the day. The buffet breakfast was included in our package and was a good option. Cererals, toast and cook breakfast items were available from the buffet and the chef was on hand to prepare omelettes to individuals tastes. The same restaurant did good family meals in the evenings too and at reasonable prices. The staff couldn't do enough to help. The location is only a few hundred meters from the town centre. Close enough to go out for a walk in the evening to visit the other restaurants and bars if you want but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. (If you visit in winter there is a free to use ice skating rink really close and skates can be rented cheaply). Thoroughly recommended and we will have this hotel firmly on our wish list when we next return to Banff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were put up in The Ptarmigan by Canadian affair for our family Christmas holiday ski trip to Canada.
The Hotel is in a great position close to the main town, shops and restaurants. There is also a safeway supermarket round the corner. The ski bus stops right outside. Bar and restaurant is really good for families, and reasonably priced, for example we had the set Christmas dinner which was $70 for a family of 4 plus drinks. Breakfast buffet is excellent with hot and cold choices to please everyone, and the omelettes to order are also fantastic. Room was comfy enough with 2 big double beds, not too cramped. No issues with the Hotel, and staff on the front desk dealt with any request quickly and efficiently, including sorting some transport problems for us. We also used the free Roam bus tickets avaliable from reception. Nothing bad to say, a great location, friendly and reasonably priced Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Everyone we dealt with was great. Called for availability on Christmas day and just showed up without a prior reservation. Great location if you want to walk around. Quiet and clean. Will go back again. Only small thing was that service in lounge was a little slow. She was very up-beat and funny so made up for the wait. An extra bartender would have fixed it. No complaints otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over Christmas 2013.

Picked this hotel because it allowed pets.

The $25 per night charge was well above what others charged but the room was arranged to accommodate the pet and was conveniently located close to a door to take the pet outside.

Staff was quite good and helpful.

Indoor heated parking was nice.

Hotel was clean.

Price included a hot breakfast which was nice and convenient.

Only suggestion would be to have a small fridge in the room. This seems almost standard these days in most hotels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very nice hotel in the middle of downtown Banff, right on the main drag! Very nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff and nice location makes this a nice Inn for your skiing experience. Nice restaurant and bar, ski storage and hot tub area with sauna and steam. Buses to the ski hills of Sunshine Mountain and Lake Louise pick you up right out in front. Downtown and attractions are a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.