We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Didsbury, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Everyone we dealt with was great. Called for availability on Christmas day and just showed up without a prior reservation. Great location if you want to walk around. Quiet and clean. Will go back again. Only small thing was that service in lounge was a little slow. She was very up-beat and funny so made up for the wait. An extra bartender would have fixed it. No complaints otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    269
    180
    72
    41
See reviews for
162
320
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over Christmas 2013.

Picked this hotel because it allowed pets.

The $25 per night charge was well above what others charged but the room was arranged to accommodate the pet and was conveniently located close to a door to take the pet outside.

Staff was quite good and helpful.

Indoor heated parking was nice.

Hotel was clean.

Price included a hot breakfast which was nice and convenient.

Only suggestion would be to have a small fridge in the room. This seems almost standard these days in most hotels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very nice hotel in the middle of downtown Banff, right on the main drag! Very nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff and nice location makes this a nice Inn for your skiing experience. Nice restaurant and bar, ski storage and hot tub area with sauna and steam. Buses to the ski hills of Sunshine Mountain and Lake Louise pick you up right out in front. Downtown and attractions are a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Well, I should have known before I even got to the room. The front doors of the hotel were broken so I had to use the side doors next to them. Not a good sign....
The 'indoor parking' was only on site for vehicles less than 6ft, so there goes any SUV or truck. I had to park in a lot that looked like it belonged to another hotel outside.

I get to my "premium" room ($190/night) to find all of the tables and chairs with wood have water damage and are visibly cracked, the fireplace is so oppressively loud it's a joke to have it on, I can't turn down the heat far enough so I open a window, all the hallways and doorways have numerous scuffs, dents and paint coming off, the shower is so small even a small person like me can barely turn around, there is a 1980s-sized TV, and lastly, of all annoying things, the walls are so thin they let every tiny noise through, so much so they were comparable to a south american hostel I recently blew $20/night on.

What is there to say good about this place? Decent enough service and close to downtown. It's not worth it. I stay at dozens of hotels per year. This is right down at the bottom for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We found this a very good value hotel for our stay of 4 nights. Clean, very comfortable beds, very warm (almost too warm despite being -20 outside, we had to turn off the heating and open the window for sleeping). The breakfasts were great, staff very accommodating, especially Kerry and Lewis on the front desk, and Sophie and Lorna. Love the local soap supplied in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms quiet, no street noise, noisy guests on one night only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel. Great breakfast included. Friendly. Clean. Great position in Banff and good price. If you ever need to refurbish we would have liked a quieter heating system, but realise it has to be hot when its -20 outside!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

It's a close walk to down town Banff which is very handy. The rooms were comfortable enough, a bit small. The hotel was clean but the insulation is poor and we heard people in the bar and walking around all night even on the top floor. We got a free hot breakfast with our room. Did the trick for a night, but not where you want to stay if your looking for something fancy or relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.