We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Overall Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location and Overall Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight on September 20th and had a great stay overall. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the third floor, which was more than adequate. Check-in and check-out was smooth; underground parking was available.

Breakfast with the omelette station was great. There was an assortment of cold and hot foods available. I enjoyed a freshly-prepared omelette while my vegan partner enjoyed the selection and the fresh fruit salad.

Location was fantastic on Banff Avenue.

We also liked the Rocky Mountain soaps in the room; the company is located in Canmore, Alberta, and it's great to see that the hotel was supporting locally-made products.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I can't speak for those on the other floors, but our room was great on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    235
    141
    64
    37
See reviews for
138
269
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived in Banff a day earlier than what we had booked on a beautiful weekend in September. Unfortunately with a busy weekend there weren't any availabilities however the staff were more than happy to ring the local hostel to arrange accommodation. When we did book I asked for a new room (wasn't happy with a view of the parking lot after paying for a Superior room) they provided not just a new room but an upgrade to a premier room. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

The staff were helpful with any questions. The buffet breakfast offered great variety and the perfect start to the day. All in all a great place that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go the premier room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There are two hotels close by, one owned by the same chain, the other is the Torquin.
Choose either of those.
There is an air of chaos about the Ptarmigan, breakfast is mayhem. Lines over thirty feet at eight in the morning.
The food is very average, the rooms the same.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good hotel, sure they have small rooms but who stays in their room in Banff. The walls are thin and you can hear the pipe rattling but once everyone settles down it's a quiet place. The free breakfast is great, (hot and cold rations complete with an egg and omlette station). The location couldn't be better as it's only a short walk to all the shops in Banff's downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor, they're quietier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just an average hotel. Room was a good size, We had dirty tissues on the floor beside the nightstand. GROSS! Breakfast was included, was fine. Waitress seemed to be understaffed, They offered coffee/tea, but got side tracked and we had to ask. Great location, able to walk to shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was an excellent value for the price paid. Location was right on the main strip, just a block or two from where all the shops/restaurants started. Property and decorations are a little dated, but the rooms were just what was needed - beds and a good shower. The room had a small balcony, which was nice. My only complaint was that there was no climate control in the room - I like to crank the A/C! However, the room did have a plug-in fan, so that made it a little better. The breakfast was outstanding - complete with an omelette man! Underground parking was included, but no elevator from the lowest level, only the first level. Oh, and if you dial *44 on the phone, you can hear a majestic rocky mountain elk!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

For the price we paid I would say we got what we paid for. The rooms were ok, the hotel was ok, however the breakfast which was included in our price was better than ok. By far, it exceeded your typical continental breakfast. Lots of hot and cold options to choose from including the omelette station. The biggest complaint was no air conditioning. Seems like a major downfall in this day and age. We couldn't really sleep with the window open either as the window openend onto the parking lot and there was lots of vehicle noise. I would likely try somewhere else next time. Although I must say the location was great. Easy one block walk to all the shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.