We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but still full of promise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tired but still full of promise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews i was not looking forward to my stay here my friend booked it,but all i can say is wow
1=location is wonderful short walk on the main drag but still quiet when you sleep at night
2=Staff are very very helpful i could not ask for better staff
3=price includes Breakfast
4=never had to drive my car as a free shuttle bus is included that takes you all over Banff
the only negative thing is the bathroom is a little tired,and the rooms need a bit of up dating ..
but really are you not here to see Banff ??
How much time do you plan on staying in your bathroom ??
And that is the only reason i am not giving Ptarmigan 5 out of 5 ...I had a wonderful time and got a good price through Hotels.com

Room Tip: we did up grade to a superior queen and had a balcony over looking the side of the hotel not one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    269
    181
    72
    41
See reviews for
162
321
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel 10 years ago and I think they must have the same carpet in the hallways as they did 10 years ago! The hallways are narrow and cramped - if you meet the cleaning crew with your bags, the cart must be moved. The rooms are small with no AC - we ran 2 fans all nite. The window opened at ground level to a parking lot - not a very nice view. We used the hot tub area after we scared off a group of neighborhood teens who were helping themselves to the pool and showers. The location is good as it is only a short walk to downtown. The rates were very high for the quality of the room. Next time we will stay at the Aspen Lodge just up the street where I stayed last winter on a ski week.

Room Tip: If you can't get a room with a balcony, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed for one night in this hotel and our experience was really good! The hotel was very clean, front desk agents were very proffessional, and the room was really big. We have stayed in the Premium room, so One king bed and a full bathroom with a jet-tub. The room was really convenient with the fire place, and we had also a mini fridge. Location was really great as we were located on the main avenue and near from every shops in the area. Big breakfast buffet was also included, and was quite good. Really enjoyable stay and really good quality for the price you'll be paying! The style of the room seems a bit old, but It is the style of a country canadian rockies hotel, so we enjoyed it !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First and foremost the staff, other than house keeping should take a few courses on hospitality! When asked for simple things such as a new key or some advice the same elder man would only give the response "yup"! Another condescending staff member who was rude, fake, non helpful and made everything possible a hair pulling experience. We had a complain because our room was +30 all night with two kids and three fans made no difference. We later find that our room was ontop of a boiler in the kitchen underneath us. When asked to switch rooms the "aussie" said well you cant till one cause someone had a late check out.

All in all poor poor hospitality, non welcoming staff and non helpful or cooperative staff will make this family NEVER STAY HERR AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am sorry to be reading your feedback this morning. The experience you shared is certainly not representative of the quality we strive to provide each guest and for this I apologize. Even the best hotels can make a mistake but it is the service and solutions that set the best hotels apart. I would welcome you to contact me directly to ensure your concerns are voiced. Again, I am truly sorry your experience was less than exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

A well run hotel that is very well serviced by the staff. The hotel is on the busy road through Banff but aside from big trucks moving through in the early morning the traffic noise is of little consequence. The 'complimentary' breakfast offers a wide range of both cold and hot food to cater for the international clientele. Try especially the spinach and cheese omelette. Young people, often in the midst of 'world tours' appear frequently as waiters in the restaurant and their comradeship adds to the feeling of warmth. The evening restaurant is a trifle disappointing and perhaps takes advantage of the regular and frequent coach trips from the UK and the USA meaning the clientele changes rather than the unadventurous although well cooked menu. The hotel also offers a hot tub, massage and beauty therapy for clients. The below stairs parking is small although generally large enough because many clients arrive by coach. The free wi-fi has limited reach and there's often a need to relocate elsewhere in the hotel for a better signal. The hotel also provides free renewable three day passes for the local bus service. All in all we were very pleased, comfortable and welcomed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling with a Titan tour, with this as our last scheduled stop. We had however extended our Canadian trip by a few days to meet up with cousins. when we returned from Lake Louise with the tour, our relatives were already there, but to their credit reception would not divulge their room number, they however rang through, and guess what - they were right next door, planned by the hotel. We had met them before, but it was a wonderful meeting. They had travelled from Medicine Hat specially for the family reunion, on the following day we were shown sights, not on the Titan itinery, which included the Olympic village of Kananaskis. As for the hotel, it was great, central, breakfasts first class, and service extremely good. All in all the service was very Canadian, always friendly. Will stay again if we return to Banff. Of the resort itself, there is nowhere more beautiful that I ave yet seen.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We traveled as a couple for our one year anniversary it was an awesome experience we will keep coming back. We did have a couple of problems like there was guys coming from golfing and were puking in front of us and we couldnt sleep at night cause people dont understand the quiet time i understand it was saturday but still Also there was another problem that the hot tub in the ptarmigan inn was way too hot and the other hot tub was really cold. The reason i say this is because it burned mine and my husbands skin. We also didnt have any A/C. There was no other problem the room was great, the food was great and i would stay again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.