We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experienced!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experienced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff were very friendly! awesome service from the front desk up to the resto. the room was perfect, bathroom was excellent! Reasonable price with great buffet breakast! location wise perfect near downtown

Room Tip: i will recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    297
    208
    82
    47
See reviews for
189
361
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this hotel because of its reasonable rates and convenient location. The room was okey but in need of updating. We requested a room change and we were moved to an updated and much brighter room. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. The complimentary breakfast was great...both hot and cold selections. Good value for the money especially if you get one of their better rooms.

Room Tip: When booking request an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast was quite good and was included with the room. This hotel needs a serious update to its rooms and dreadful carpet in the hallways. The beds in our room needed new mattresses.. We had as all balcony which was good so we could get some fresh air as there was no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been to Banff many times over the years and this trip we were heading back from Salmon Arm. I booked online for the last room @ $174 for a double. The hotel, admittedly, is in an excellent location. If you're interested in heading downtown for eats, shopping or people watching, it is so close and so close to the Safeway. Surprise to me though was this was the only hotel in our travels this summer that did not have a microwave or a fridge. Disappointing mostly on the fridge side of things.

Front desk staff were amazing upon check in and check out and the WiFi was good. We had been driving a lot and it was kinda windy and cool there on Monday, August 19 so we decided to stay in and eat at The Meatball - the restaurant in the hotel. Yah, well.... we really should have gone out as there are loads of great restaurants in the town. We paid $50 for three of us for a very mediocre meal. Wouldn't eat there again however... we did because they had the free bfast in the a.m. Beautiful thing about this is that they make omelettes but we were in a hurry so we had the buffet which had cold scrambled eggs, sketchy bacon but fresh hot hash browns which my husband did not experience as he went earlier in the a.m. My son and I were there about 930 and apparently the fryer had been on the fritz earlier that morning. The server told us where the water and juice was. they were out of water but got some juice for my son.

The parking is underground and was plentiful. Lots of available luggage carts and the elevators are fast. Even after we checked out, one of the fellows at the front desk said we could keep our car there while we walked around downtown for about an hour. The hotel has three floors.

Why wouldn't we stay here again? My husband did not like the room. We had two double beds but the room was awkward with one bed to your right as you walked in the door and then the bathroom and then the other bed. So only one bed got the TV, if that interests you. The room was hot as there is no AC in the rooms (the hallways have AC) and the window did open, nice big window though. There was a stand up oscillating fan though. My husband thought the room was not very clean and it was a bit noisy in the parking lot next to us around 100 a.m. The worst part, in my opinion, was that our room was very close to the lobby, even though we were on the second floor. There are a certain number of rooms from floors 2 and 3 that open up to the lobby, if that makes sense. You come out of room and look down into it. So this morning, at 600 am I'm awakened by what sounds like a party down the hallway. Loads of people talking, laughing, etc. I'm all for fun and stuff but at 600 am I was tired and had been awake since 400 a.m. off and on. For at least half an hour it went on and on and finally I go out there and there are about 30 people in the lobby all lining up for breakfast (bfast is from 630-1030). It was like a tour or something as all the luggage was lined up on the second floor outside of every room. Ugh.... do not stay in room 241. or 242. Please ask for a room away from the lobby area - that's my best advice. Also I was awakened by the water turned on either in the shower or the toilet flushing in other rooms above us and next to us.

Room Tip: Any room away from the open lobby, interior courtyard - far less noise that you'll get from all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On arrival the impression was excellent - the front desk staff were friendly and very helpful (and continued to be throughout the stay). The room was OK but not quite as good as the other 3* rooms during the rest of our tour of Canada. Our room opened onto the atrium area which made it a bit airless with no window to the outside world or fresh air. That said the bed was comfortable and the room was clean & well presented.

The restaurant was not of the standard I would expect. There were not enough staff working on all the days we were there and they appeared to be more interested in wrapping cutlery in paper napkins than they were in clearing tables after previous guests or making sure there was enough clean crockery. Great idea having the ability for guests to have an omlette made to order but the American chef was unbelievably rude to any guests who were unable to pronounce the names of the ingredients in a way that he could understand.

Were it not for the great front desk staff this would be a very poor rating.

Room Tip: Avoid an atrium room if you want fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pros: Proximity to the shops and restaurants on the main strip in Banff and their big breakfast buffet included in your stay. Especially enjoyed the omelette prepared the way you want it. Friendly and efficient lobby and restaurant staff. Nice bedsheets. Appreciated the outside parking for our oversized van that did not fit into their undergound garage.
Cons: No A/C but 2 fans to a room. We were there early August and it was a little stuffy especially since we had no windows to the outside. Our room overlooked the hotel lobby. Would request a room with a window or balcony to the outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid July as part of our tour of Canada. This was one of my favourite places. Right from the start the reception staff were really helpful and kind. The hotel had acknowledged the fact that this was a special occasion holiday and there was a bottle of wine and card waiting for us in our room. This nice touch was much appreciated.

I do think we were lucky with our alloted room. It was at the front of the hotel with a beautiful windowbox running the full length of a balcony and then beyond fantastic views. I think it was room 245. Room decor a little bit tired but room was spacious and had everything we needed.

We had a side window that was screened to keep the bugs out and we found that was a godsend as there was no air conditioning. I'm not sure if I would have enjoyed our stay so much if I had been in any of the side rooms as I read in other reviews.

However we were lucky and this did influence our stay. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice, good service but as with most places in Canada terrible coffee!! The restaurant staff at The Meatball were super helpful and we ate there outside on our first night but were tormented by Mosquitos so didn't go back.

The Inn is located in a great place, nice and central and we found no problems with the parking whilst we were there.

Thanks to all the staff who made our stay special we would love to return.

Room Tip: We loved our room - No 245.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#29 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.