We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Reception, OK Room, Average Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
SE London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Reception, OK Room, Average Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On arrival the impression was excellent - the front desk staff were friendly and very helpful (and continued to be throughout the stay). The room was OK but not quite as good as the other 3* rooms during the rest of our tour of Canada. Our room opened onto the atrium area which made it a bit airless with no window to the outside world or fresh air. That said the bed was comfortable and the room was clean & well presented.

The restaurant was not of the standard I would expect. There were not enough staff working on all the days we were there and they appeared to be more interested in wrapping cutlery in paper napkins than they were in clearing tables after previous guests or making sure there was enough clean crockery. Great idea having the ability for guests to have an omlette made to order but the American chef was unbelievably rude to any guests who were unable to pronounce the names of the ingredients in a way that he could understand.

Were it not for the great front desk staff this would be a very poor rating.

Room Tip: Avoid an atrium room if you want fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    260
    174
    69
    40
See reviews for
159
309
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pros: Proximity to the shops and restaurants on the main strip in Banff and their big breakfast buffet included in your stay. Especially enjoyed the omelette prepared the way you want it. Friendly and efficient lobby and restaurant staff. Nice bedsheets. Appreciated the outside parking for our oversized van that did not fit into their undergound garage.
Cons: No A/C but 2 fans to a room. We were there early August and it was a little stuffy especially since we had no windows to the outside. Our room overlooked the hotel lobby. Would request a room with a window or balcony to the outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid July as part of our tour of Canada. This was one of my favourite places. Right from the start the reception staff were really helpful and kind. The hotel had acknowledged the fact that this was a special occasion holiday and there was a bottle of wine and card waiting for us in our room. This nice touch was much appreciated.

I do think we were lucky with our alloted room. It was at the front of the hotel with a beautiful windowbox running the full length of a balcony and then beyond fantastic views. I think it was room 245. Room decor a little bit tired but room was spacious and had everything we needed.

We had a side window that was screened to keep the bugs out and we found that was a godsend as there was no air conditioning. I'm not sure if I would have enjoyed our stay so much if I had been in any of the side rooms as I read in other reviews.

However we were lucky and this did influence our stay. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice, good service but as with most places in Canada terrible coffee!! The restaurant staff at The Meatball were super helpful and we ate there outside on our first night but were tormented by Mosquitos so didn't go back.

The Inn is located in a great place, nice and central and we found no problems with the parking whilst we were there.

Thanks to all the staff who made our stay special we would love to return.

Room Tip: We loved our room - No 245.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice Banff hotel located just a block from the beginning of the shopping district of Banff. Free full breakfast buffet and bus passes. Make sure to get a room with a window or balcony to the outside, some rooms look into an interior courtyard, And check everywhere for deals here, this place can get pricey because of its location. Bathrooms are very small, just the toilet and bathtub, with the sink located in the room.

Room Tip: Get an outside window, for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked this off the web. Stayed in Banff a few times, but not here. Over on a road trip to show off the Rockies with our UK family.
Banff is a great place, and this hotel was fine.
Yes it does need a little TLC, but I understand they are building new place next door and this will become their "low price" offering.
As soon as we arrived we were shown our two rooms. Quite funny really as the "balcony" was actually an inside view of their lobby. Very strange, and dark, and no idea what the weather was like outside..
We asked to have a different arrangement, and reception made it so by shuffling around some other bookings. That was great and much appreciated.
Rooms were perfectly OK, no big issue.
Price included breakfast downstairs which was OK. In fact, the personal omelettes were great.
Location is excellent, right on the edge of the main street.
Only complaint (by my family in the other room) was the train horns 5 times during the night. Can't really blame the hotel for that!
All in all, a good place, and fair value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal "atrium" view rooms. You will never know what its like outside, or what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is located in a nice area in downtown Banff. Easy walking to shops and restaurants but we were unimpressed with the room. No microwave or refridgerator. Just a plain room. Not worth the cost. Hot tub had kids all over it and there was one treadmill and a couple weights (work out room??) in the same area as the hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

They allowed us to check in early and were extremely helpful with any questions we had about the Banff area and attractions. The hot breakfast included with the room price was amazing. On our next trip to Banff this hotel will definitely be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.