We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but no air condioning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location but no air condioning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is located very near anything you want to do in Banff. The rooms are nothing special but have great mattresses and pillows. There are 2 hot tubs, steam room and a sauna.

The only real problem with the room is there is no air conditioning. Our room overlooked the lobby area. We had a door with a corner deck that we could open to move air through but it was very noisy from restaurant areas below. The room does come with a fan so we could move air around.

Breakfast is complimentary and was a standard buffet. A variety of hot and. Old options to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    236
    141
    64
    37
See reviews for
138
270
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has real potential as it is a nice hotel in a great location in town, and the breakfast was lovely. There was one major drawback though, which was the lack of air conditioning. We were there in June, when it was not particularly warm outside and we'd booked a superior room, which had a window. It was on the ground floor, and was absolutely boiling!! We complained when we checked in and were told they would turn the temperature down, but when we returned hours later it was still like a sauna. We asked to move rooms but there was nothing else available that night, so we left the window and door open (for some reason the corridor was cool) but still couldn't sleep due to the heat. They did let us move to a room on a higher floor the next night, where the temperature was fine. They also gave us a food voucher and a bottle of wine to apologize, but I would've much rather been able to have a night's sleep. This problem is totally unacceptable and after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor, it's clearly one that the management know about, yet choose to ignore. Do not book this hotel if you wish to actually get some sleep in your room!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My two daughters and I spent two great days in Banff and stayed at the Ptarmingan Inn. On the positive side for the hotel, the staff provided outstanding service from the front desk, to the breakfast staff to house keeping. Requested a room change and considered a hotel change due to the heat in the room and the front desk was understanding, very pleasant and will to accommodate if they could. Breakfast was excellent which was included in the room rate and breakfast staff was very good. We left two items on the table and came back later and got them back. Thank you. The location of the hotel is very convenient on Banff avenue and provides very quick access to shopping and restaurants. On the negative side, the room we stayed in on the first floor was extremely hot. Noise from the portable fans and parking lot made it difficult to get a good night sleep. Of course we had to sleep with the windows open. It seemed that the lobby, restaurant and hallways had air conditioning but not the rooms.The two nights we stayed at the hotel, we had problems finding a parking spot. The hotel has underground parking which was full and two overflows on both side of the building. First night it took us 25 minutes to find a spot after circling the hotel 5 or 6 times. Wifi signal is extremely weak in our room. So weak that a laptop, a tablet and 3 smart phones could not pick up the signal in the room. However the signal was strong in the lobby area and there is one public desktop on the lobby floor. Would we stay there again during the summer? Not this year and we would recommend to our friends and family not to due to the overheated rooms. When the hotel gets the AC install next year, yes we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had 2 wounderfull days in Banff at Banff Ptarmigan.
We enjoyed it very much from arrival to leaving.
At the reception they were always nice and helpfull.
The parking was very convinient and restraunt was excellent including breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

From Check-In to Check-Out the staff at the Ptarmigan were warm and very helpful. The underground parking was great and the location was perfect. We were able to walk where ever we needed to be. As a group of demanding ladies the staff was quick to help us find great restaurants and provide us with an emergency sewing kit.
We did leave the windows open to enjoy some mountain air, better than air conditioning if you ask me.
The rooms were clean Breakfast was on till 11 and it was fabulous... you could even get an This Hotel had all the amenities you need and they were top notch.
5 Stars Ptarmigan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review - we're happy hear you enjoyed your time in Banff at the Ptarmigan Inn. I have shared your comments with my team and hope to see you (and the ladies!) for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

While the Ptarmigan is your average Banff hotel, the fact that they included breakfast with our one night stay was great. It was a hot breakfast with an omelette station! Since there was 4 of us I am sure we saved well over $100.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the inside rooms - they get quite hot as there is no window to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed only one night here. The room was really hot and stuffy and there was no air conditioning so we had to have the patio door open all night. Unfortunately, the drunken revelry in the bar patio below until the wee hours made sleep impossible. The tour busses showed up early belching fumes and running noisily outside our window. The room was poorly maintained; the shower leaked and dripped constantly, the sink was badly cracked and the floor was gouged. The service in the restaurant was horrible with us actually having to go into the kitchen to get coffee. The location is nice and central but we won't ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the rear if you can. Bring your own pillows as these are hugely overstuffed and unyie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I was sorry to hear of your experience. Our high standards of cleanliness and service were not represented well during your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. Our management team has discussed your experience and have corrected many of the problems you encountered. I would like to apologize again and welcome you to contact me directly - I believe you have my email address. On a positive note, we have heard our guests and are pleased to announce that air conditioning will soon be an amenity at the Ptarmigan Inn - our first prototype rooms with this feature will be rolled out next spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.