We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for the buck, this is it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bang for the buck, this is it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean, good service and in good location. Not much of a view from my room but the room was a good price. Clean and comfortable. I would stay here again. I did not stay here long enough to view all amenities but we stayed here on Canada day, it was very busy and our room was quiet. Traveling with kids this hotel made it easy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    301
    218
    85
    51
See reviews for
198
373
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Good - Parking under hotel free. Breakfast included in rate. Good location. Ironing board. Staff friendly enough. Nice patio.
Bad - Room badly designed. 2 double beds but separated by small bathroom between. No aircon. Wifi free but pretty hopeless. Room maintenance poor. Plug missing for bathroom sink. Asked 3 times for this to be fixed! Eventually asked someone who seemed to care and had it put right. Carpets stained. Housekeeper left dirty flannel, that had been used to wipe surfaces, on TV table surface.
I really don't liked leaving negative reviews but in this case I feel I need too. The hotel is a bit tired and not up to the standard that we have experienced or come to expect on this holiday.
Would I stay here again? - no.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Loved the natural soaps
NO views :(
Good service
Excellent location...its in the middle and close to everything but not walking distance to gondola if u get tired quickly esp. hard with families...
no microwave or fridge ...in house restaurant doesnt have many options...
free wifi and free parking was great

Overall I would say safe stay...wont go wrong. rate was okay too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were staying here during the major Alberta floods, where Banff was severely affected by road closures. There was a power cut and other issues all around the town, but the staff were very helpful to us throughout in trying to assist us with our travel issues as a result of the floods. The English receptionist with the long blonde hair was particularly helpful to us on a couple of occasions. Good location for getting out and about in Banff, but our room was straight over the main road, so a bit noisy. However, the location was more important. Breakfast was fine - we never ate in the restaurant at night as it was always a bit empty and wanted to get out. Would stay here again though - no issues. Another bonus - they have the underground parking and don't charge you for it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight and stressful drive we arrived at the Ptarmigan Inn it was very central and only complaint was we could have done with a sofa in the room, breakfast had good choice and bar staff very attentive. Loads to do and very good shops really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were originally booked in for 2 nites but reservations were cancelled because we could not get to Banff due to road closures. When we did arrive the second day the desk staff reopened our reservation and we ended up with a nice room on the second floor with a balcony so we could see the mountains. No A/C in the room so we left the balcony door open, which let in a fair amount of street noise most of the night. Very convenient to shopping, etc. The breakfast was good. We liked the "oldness" of the hotel -- they seem to have updated bathrooms and some common areas. Parking garage was handy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location on the main road in Banff, just a short walk away from the main shopping and restaurant/bar area. We were a large tour group but check in was easy and our bags were delivered quickly to our room. The room was on the 2nd floor, directly opposite the lift but we didn't hear any noise. Floor space was minimal so not much room to pack suitcases but the room was fine other than that. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster with everyone turning up just as it opened. They opened up the bar area at the front of the hotel and so we were able to grab food from the buffet and take it back there, but it wasn't ideal. Staff were friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#29 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#21 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.