We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've ever stayed at.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I've ever stayed at.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Tight fumed parkade hot elevator hot and narrow winding halls possible fire hazard no air cond worst bed ever. Large lump down centre no window or outside view stuffy and pricey too! Do not recommend couldn't wait to check out. Only to discover I'd left something sentimental behind in the room that was never turned in by housekeeping :(

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I'm truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. I appreciate that you stayed with us last summer and may have encountered unusually warm mountain weather. Any future guests booking with us can secure an exterior view, or a balcony, by choosing our Superior or Premium room types. Guest comfort and satisfaction is our goal - please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your visit further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    269
    181
    73
    41
See reviews for
162
322
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at other hotels during the skiing season in Banff but this is our first experience of the Ptarmigan. We were in a ground floor room at the rear of the hotel looking onto the parking lot. Our experience was very good. The room was adequately sized, very clean and well appointed. We asked for a couple of things (tub stopper) which were fixed immediately. We had had a bad flight experience and the hotel staff were wonderful. equipment security is good. The breakfast is excellent as is the bar.
If we had to be picky the temperature in the room was too high and could not be turned down.
Access to the town is very easy and the hotel even gave us a complimentary bus ticket to visit the sights.
We will be going back.

Room Tip: Next time we will ask for a low number on floor 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We, my wife and 2 friends, stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks to ski. The comments of others for stayed for a short time we find difficult to reconcile with our own experience.

We found the staff very helpful and pleasant in all areas of service. Contrary to what some others have said we found the hotel to be clean. When we needed service from the front desk we received it without question and in a timely manner.

The breakfast was great and the restaurant which we ate in provided good food, reasonably priced. The bar staff were very chirpy and we enjoyed 'Happy Hour' and the informal service. We prefer friendly staff who you can chat too and help the atmosphere along since we are on holiday.

In fact the service contrary to what others said is as higher as anywhere else in Banff. Our son also stayed for 9 nights and between the 3 rooms we had none of the experiences of others!

Our room was very comfortable and clean and needed updating. There is a limited range of TV channels but we don't go on holiday to watch TV. A movie channel would be nice though. The hot tub was great and very social. One did stop working and was freezing - lovely to jump into and was great to help with the sore muscles after a hard days skiing. Cup half full rather than half empty!

We will be returning to the Ptarmigan when Easter falls in March again. Having stayed on Tunnel Mountain and experienced the inconvenience and expense of getting into the town, the fact that the shops, restaurants, bars etc were 2 minutes away: the ski bus picks you up and drops you off outside and the ski lockers made the whole experience very relaxing and going skiing effortless.

Lastly, no one has mentioned the free local bus passes which the hotel provides which enabled us to get up to the Upper Hot Springs after skiing, something not to miss.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 313, 323 and 126.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - we're happy to hear your Easter visit was so enjoyable! You'll be happy to hear that we are currently investigating 'On Demand' Movies for our rooms and the option of Movie Channels. More immediately, we will be upgrading our cable package to include more channels, improved quality and HD options; Easter falls in March in 2016 so we'll certainly be ready for you if you have the opportunity to return! I have passed your feedback on to my team and thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent Monday and Tuesday nights in late March. Hotel is clean, rooms are cleans, beds are clean, bathroom small but clean. Must have been my luck as it was super quiet during my stay, no kids running around being Spring Break for some. Underground parking is a plus (spaces too cramped though). Adjacent ski lockers very helpful so one does not have to lug them up to the room. Breakfast buffet is great...omelette station very good indeed. Unfortunately, one must pay extra for a glass of milk. Located right downtown on Banff Street, Safeway just around the corner, shopping easily within walking distance.

Price is very good considering it includes breakfast...nothing super fancy, but then I just am there to sleep after a long day of skiing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Due to a previous horrible experience at another hotel in Banff I frequently stayed I was a little hesitant staying in another hotel in Banff. However Banff Ptarmigan Inn was great for what we needed. The room was pretty basic but the bathroom was huge, there was actually parking spots available at their underground parking lot, the free breakfast wasn't just bagels and muffins there was bacon, pancakes, eggs, ect. (the other Banff hotel I stayed at charged you $15 for their "continental breakfast" which was just bagels and muffins) and the service was very helpful. The best part of this hotel was the location as it was a 5 minute walking distance to downtown Banff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed a week in March. Breakfast was excellent and staff and servers were great. Rooms and common areas were kept very clean and tidy. Not a great selection of television stations (no CBS) but staff were going to look into. Consider avoiding the standard rooms as you may end up with one on the first floor which has poor air circulation; however great price if you can get one with an atrium balcony. Staff were very accommodating with any legitimate concerns.

Room Tip: Would suggest not go for the standard priced room as they don't have good air circulation and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pros:
1)Underground parking (VERY tight squeeze, though, I wouldn't bring a truck or bigger SUV)
2) Fabulous all included hot breakfast (this saves the hotel)
3) Comfortable beds (but awful pillows)
4) Great location (walking distance to downtown shops and resturants)

Cons:
1) The room was SOOOO HOT!! They do not have a/c in the rooms and it was hot, hot, hot!! It felt like the middle of summer but it was below zero at night.(march in Alberta is still winter, people) We had to sleep with the balcony window open and both fans going. (they leave you filthy, old fans on the floor behind the door) I complained 4 times of the heat (once at 3am) and they said, "Oh...it's warm?" "I will check the boiler system." We never heard anything back. I had the worst sleeps of my life and my son has to sleep in nothing but a diaper. In the day, we would leave the door open with the fan blowing the hallway a/c into our room. There is NO air circulation in this room - I wish I had noticed the other reviews that said this - I HATE SLEEPING IN A HOT STUFFY ROOM!! I could not imagine staying here in the summer. SERIOUSLY, PTARMIGAN INVEST IN SOME AIR CONDITIONING IF YOUR ROOMS HAVE SUCH POOR AIR CIRCULATION.

2) Filthy bathroom. There were old pee stains around the rim of the toilet, I felt like I needed to wear shoes in there. I can only imagine what the floor was like in the main area but it's hard to tell as it's carpet. But, i think the dried blood stains on the pillow cases was a good enough sign. Also, our "room/cleaning service" was poor. They made the beds, stocked the towels and left coffee. They did not clear away dirty dishes or wipe spilt coffee off the table or toothpaste off the bathroom counter

3) There was a flat screen tv in our room but the cable was broken at the back which made the TV fuzzy, I asked for it to be fixed....nothing.

4) Service was awful. The `bartender` (female) spent more time flirting with the 18 year olds doing shooters than serving us food or drinks. Everytime I called the front desk it took at least 4 eperate calls to have someone pick up the phone and they acted like none of my complaints were valid. (serioulsy, acting like you don`t know my room was HOT)?! The one man even said, "OH, I haven't gotten any other complaint".B.S!

5) Small rooms. We stayed in the "premium split room" so our 2 year old could have his own bed/area and, while the layout was nice, it's nothing like the blue print shows. His bed was right against the door and our's was practically touching the small table & chair & TV desk.

6) This hotel is for young adults looking to ski. That's it. The front entrance is nice but the room's definitely don't make you feel 'pleasantly surprised'. Not good for romance or a family. You will NOT want to spend time in your hotel room when it's hot, stuffy and only has a view of the parking lot/ hotel next door. This is clearly a party hotel especially with the old silly string stuck to the ceiling and cigarette burns in the window curtains.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you so much for your constructive feedback, I have spoken with all the relevant department heads and we are working diligently to insure that the issues you had do not repeat themselves. As mentioned in previous responses we are hoping to renovate the hotel in the future which will fix most of the issues you had, unfortunately due to our prime location so close to downtown we are surrounded by residential housing and other hotels. We are very pleased you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and have passed your comments onto our restaurant manager. Thank you again for all your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.