We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value overall!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value overall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed a week in March. Breakfast was excellent and staff and servers were great. Rooms and common areas were kept very clean and tidy. Not a great selection of television stations (no CBS) but staff were going to look into. Consider avoiding the standard rooms as you may end up with one on the first floor which has poor air circulation; however great price if you can get one with an atrium balcony. Staff were very accommodating with any legitimate concerns.

Room Tip: Would suggest not go for the standard priced room as they don't have good air circulation and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    236
    141
    64
    37
See reviews for
138
270
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pros:
1)Underground parking (VERY tight squeeze, though, I wouldn't bring a truck or bigger SUV)
2) Fabulous all included hot breakfast (this saves the hotel)
3) Comfortable beds (but awful pillows)
4) Great location (walking distance to downtown shops and resturants)

Cons:
1) The room was SOOOO HOT!! They do not have a/c in the rooms and it was hot, hot, hot!! It felt like the middle of summer but it was below zero at night.(march in Alberta is still winter, people) We had to sleep with the balcony window open and both fans going. (they leave you filthy, old fans on the floor behind the door) I complained 4 times of the heat (once at 3am) and they said, "Oh...it's warm?" "I will check the boiler system." We never heard anything back. I had the worst sleeps of my life and my son has to sleep in nothing but a diaper. In the day, we would leave the door open with the fan blowing the hallway a/c into our room. There is NO air circulation in this room - I wish I had noticed the other reviews that said this - I HATE SLEEPING IN A HOT STUFFY ROOM!! I could not imagine staying here in the summer. SERIOUSLY, PTARMIGAN INVEST IN SOME AIR CONDITIONING IF YOUR ROOMS HAVE SUCH POOR AIR CIRCULATION.

2) Filthy bathroom. There were old pee stains around the rim of the toilet, I felt like I needed to wear shoes in there. I can only imagine what the floor was like in the main area but it's hard to tell as it's carpet. But, i think the dried blood stains on the pillow cases was a good enough sign. Also, our "room/cleaning service" was poor. They made the beds, stocked the towels and left coffee. They did not clear away dirty dishes or wipe spilt coffee off the table or toothpaste off the bathroom counter

3) There was a flat screen tv in our room but the cable was broken at the back which made the TV fuzzy, I asked for it to be fixed....nothing.

4) Service was awful. The `bartender` (female) spent more time flirting with the 18 year olds doing shooters than serving us food or drinks. Everytime I called the front desk it took at least 4 eperate calls to have someone pick up the phone and they acted like none of my complaints were valid. (serioulsy, acting like you don`t know my room was HOT)?! The one man even said, "OH, I haven't gotten any other complaint".B.S!

5) Small rooms. We stayed in the "premium split room" so our 2 year old could have his own bed/area and, while the layout was nice, it's nothing like the blue print shows. His bed was right against the door and our's was practically touching the small table & chair & TV desk.

6) This hotel is for young adults looking to ski. That's it. The front entrance is nice but the room's definitely don't make you feel 'pleasantly surprised'. Not good for romance or a family. You will NOT want to spend time in your hotel room when it's hot, stuffy and only has a view of the parking lot/ hotel next door. This is clearly a party hotel especially with the old silly string stuck to the ceiling and cigarette burns in the window curtains.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you so much for your constructive feedback, I have spoken with all the relevant department heads and we are working diligently to insure that the issues you had do not repeat themselves. As mentioned in previous responses we are hoping to renovate the hotel in the future which will fix most of the issues you had, unfortunately due to our prime location so close to downtown we are surrounded by residential housing and other hotels. We are very pleased you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and have passed your comments onto our restaurant manager. Thank you again for all your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a romantic weekend away. We were very happy with the location. We were able to walk to the village in under two minuets, we walked to dinner, coffee etc. We were also impressed with the breakfast that was included in the low room price. They had hot and cold items as well as an omelet bar, far better than the usual continental breakfasts included with room rates. Underground parking was really nice, however you can't get in if your car is over six feet tall.

We enjoyed how quiet our room was as well as the size. For a couple's getaway a king sized bed would have been nice but this inn does not have them from what we could find. The room was also incredibly hot. There was a small old fan in the closet however, we just slept with the windows open. The room decor was pretty dated but the bed was very comfortable. We both slept well. The staff was friendly upon check in and check out. We liked it here overall, we might consider staying again...mostly because of the price, location and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on a special weekend getaway. I am sorry you were warm in your room I have passed on your comments to our maintenance manager so the issue can be resolved. We hope in the near future to renovate the hotel and rooms to deliver a better guest experience and improve up on existing amenities. We are so happy you enjoyed the complementary breakfast and have passed your comments on to our restaurant manager. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

For a Skiing vacation stay in Banff, walking distance to shops and restaurants in Banff, bus services to the slopes on the front door, clean, good breakfast included, this is the place. My wife and I, although accustomed at higher end hotels found this place perfect for the mission. We will definitely come back for our next ski trip in Banff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 218, we found it quiet at night, far away from the elevators,nice little balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night with friends just for a cheap getaway as we wanted to do the Banff nightwalk at Johnston Canyon. Our rooms were ok, clean and a good size as we were only staying here for the night we didn't use the pool or hotel restaurant however they were both busy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to deliver the very vest service we can. Although you did not use our hot tubs or restaurant you should know we also provide free roam passes for ease of getting around town. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Underground parking and breakfast were nice. Hot tub was broken and freezing cold unlike the room which were so stuffy we had 2 fans running and our door open to try and cool them off and this was in March!!! Worst sleep ever in this hotel, there is no air circulation and we had the heat off our entire stay! With all the other options for hotels we would never stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Welcome home and thank you taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. During your stay here there was an issue with the one hot tub which has now been resolved so I am sorry for that. With the fluctuating temperatures this month we have been trying our best to maintain a pleasant and comfortable temperature throughout the hotel; we do have air circulation throughout the hotel whether in our standard or superior rooms so we are investigating the matter to see why you had issues with this. If you would like any more information or have any additional comments please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night and all went well until the evening, from 10:00 pm to well after 1:00 pm young adults were screaming and yelling up and down the halls. I am sure those guests with young children did not appreciate this happening. Not once did I hear anyone from the hotel come up and advise these young kids to be quiet (believe me they could hear it at the desk). This is not away to run a hotel in a tourist town if they want to attract the middle aged group, my last time staying at the Ptarmigan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel. As you must have noticed from most reviews, we are typically not experiencing this type of problem at our hotel. Although our security guards were busy handling more than their usual share of disrespectful guests, they clearly did not have an immediate impact in all areas of the hotel. We are taking the opportunity to refocus our security agents and will ensure a repeat occurrence is avoided. I apologize again for our shortcomings and hope you reconsider our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.