We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a romantic weekend away. We were very happy with the location. We were able to walk to the village in under two minuets, we walked to dinner, coffee etc. We were also impressed with the breakfast that was included in the low room price. They had hot and cold items as well as an omelet bar, far better than the usual continental breakfasts included with room rates. Underground parking was really nice, however you can't get in if your car is over six feet tall.

We enjoyed how quiet our room was as well as the size. For a couple's getaway a king sized bed would have been nice but this inn does not have them from what we could find. The room was also incredibly hot. There was a small old fan in the closet however, we just slept with the windows open. The room decor was pretty dated but the bed was very comfortable. We both slept well. The staff was friendly upon check in and check out. We liked it here overall, we might consider staying again...mostly because of the price, location and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on a special weekend getaway. I am sorry you were warm in your room I have passed on your comments to our maintenance manager so the issue can be resolved. We hope in the near future to renovate the hotel and rooms to deliver a better guest experience and improve up on existing amenities. We are so happy you enjoyed the complementary breakfast and have passed your comments on to our restaurant manager. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    297
    208
    83
    47
See reviews for
189
362
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

For a Skiing vacation stay in Banff, walking distance to shops and restaurants in Banff, bus services to the slopes on the front door, clean, good breakfast included, this is the place. My wife and I, although accustomed at higher end hotels found this place perfect for the mission. We will definitely come back for our next ski trip in Banff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 218, we found it quiet at night, far away from the elevators,nice little balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night with friends just for a cheap getaway as we wanted to do the Banff nightwalk at Johnston Canyon. Our rooms were ok, clean and a good size as we were only staying here for the night we didn't use the pool or hotel restaurant however they were both busy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to deliver the very vest service we can. Although you did not use our hot tubs or restaurant you should know we also provide free roam passes for ease of getting around town. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Underground parking and breakfast were nice. Hot tub was broken and freezing cold unlike the room which were so stuffy we had 2 fans running and our door open to try and cool them off and this was in March!!! Worst sleep ever in this hotel, there is no air circulation and we had the heat off our entire stay! With all the other options for hotels we would never stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Welcome home and thank you taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. During your stay here there was an issue with the one hot tub which has now been resolved so I am sorry for that. With the fluctuating temperatures this month we have been trying our best to maintain a pleasant and comfortable temperature throughout the hotel; we do have air circulation throughout the hotel whether in our standard or superior rooms so we are investigating the matter to see why you had issues with this. If you would like any more information or have any additional comments please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night and all went well until the evening, from 10:00 pm to well after 1:00 pm young adults were screaming and yelling up and down the halls. I am sure those guests with young children did not appreciate this happening. Not once did I hear anyone from the hotel come up and advise these young kids to be quiet (believe me they could hear it at the desk). This is not away to run a hotel in a tourist town if they want to attract the middle aged group, my last time staying at the Ptarmigan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel. As you must have noticed from most reviews, we are typically not experiencing this type of problem at our hotel. Although our security guards were busy handling more than their usual share of disrespectful guests, they clearly did not have an immediate impact in all areas of the hotel. We are taking the opportunity to refocus our security agents and will ensure a repeat occurrence is avoided. I apologize again for our shortcomings and hope you reconsider our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I bought the Living Social deal that Ptarmigan Inn participated it and found it to be extremely worth it. When we got to the front desk, our dates had accidentally been mixed up but they fixed it for us right away. The room was simple, but clean and nice, and the staff was helpful. The breakfast was amazing! Definitely the biggest continental breakfast I've seen at a hotel.
The only issue we had was a completely naked man in the hall at 1 in the morning knocking on doors. Obviously a naked, drunk man coming to your door could be disturbing to many people, not to mention the children who were staying there. We called the desk and no one came up and the situation wasn't dealt with in a timely manner at all. The night guy even seemed irritated that we were bothering him. Aside from that, everything was great and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Welcome home and thank you taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were disturbed by the man in question; rest assured we do take matters like this very seriously as we a family orientated hotel. Our night manager was trying to locate this man as he seemed to be running around all over the hotel, once he was found he did end up sleeping the night in an RCMP cell. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn for 2 nights in late Feb 2013. We've been coming back to this wonderful little hotel for over 20 yrs and never been disappointed. When we arrived, they had upgraded us to a superior room with a fireplace and a view down Banff Avenue, plus staff had left a birthday wish and a bottle of wine on ice waiting for us in the room, as they'd picked up that it was a milestone birthday for one of us! Nice touch! The Ptarmigan is one of the best-located hotels in Banff, and you can just leave your car in the underground heated garage and walk right onto Banff Avenue - or an easy walk all the way to the Banff Springs Hotel if you love that fresh mountain air. When we're having a relaxing getaway and dropping in at little pubs & eateries in downtown Banff like we do, it's nice to be walking and not have to risk driving back to our hotel at the end of our day. Also, the Ptarmigan is one of the few hotels in Banff that offers a great breakfast buffet, which saves both money and daily searches for a nice breakfast joint. Room was very nice, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, as usual. There is nothing about the Ptarmigan that we didn't like, and we'll definitely be back there again to enjoy the majesty of Banff and the Canadian Rockies.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Banff Avenue have nice views and you can see all the action, but you're also lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#29 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.