We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had to change my reservation date which I thought was non-refundable and they were very accommodating in making this change. The service was great. If you have a standard room you need to know that there are no outside windows. Next time I will pay extra for a superior room. Easy walk to restaurants and shopping on main street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster56154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cowtown
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend using a Living Social coupon deal. Hotel is one of the closest to the downtown strip, nice to park the car and walk everywhere. Hotel is an unusual design as many of the rooms do not feature exterior windows and look out over an indoor courtyard or lobby. It probably wouldn't be a big issue except that the rooms were unbelievably warm and even though the hotel provided fans it was difficult to get the room to a comfortable temperature. The included breakfast featured an omelet station in addition to scrambled eggs, meat, yogurt, pastries and fruit. The fitness facility is a treadmill and hand weights in the hot tub area, plus steam room and sauna. Overall it was decent but personally I would pay a bit more for an exterior window. When I returned home I realized I had lost an earring and emailed the hotel to see if it had been found. I received a very prompt reply advising that they had not only checked with housekeeping but they had personally gone and inspected our room. I was impressed that they made that effort!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jewelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry about the heat issues you had with your room, this is something we battle with on a daily basis as we try to insure optimum comfort for all of our guest. With the changing temperatures we do not always hit the mark but we have implemented new monitoring programs and procedures to combat the heat in the hotel, so on your next visit we hope you see the difference. Also I wanted to mention that we do have complementary local roam passes available at the desk to get you around town and everywhere you can’t walk to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days while visiting Banff and the surrounding region. It is fabulously located, just off the Main Street. It's not luxury but it is clean and safe. We were given a large room, like a family room although there was only two of us but it was greatly appreciated. Would love to be there now! Thanks for everything.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenomahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn and there were improvements. This is your typical 3.5 star Banff hotel, rooms are very clean and the staff is great. Don't expect luxury though, as the hallways are narrow and the lighting could be better. The complementary breakfast is GREAT and the selection of the buffet is of a 4.5 star hotel (better breakfast than the Fox hotel anyways). The location was prime for hitting a pub on the Banff Ave as the walk is very short. Overall I'd stay again because of the value but would not bring somebody from out of town if wanted to "show off" Banff.

Room Tip: Stay on the main level closer to the parking and the lobby. There are elevators but they seem to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fly_Everywhere21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping in the near future to renovate the hotel and address the issues you had as well as improve the amenities the hotel has to offer. Please stay tuned for more information on this exciting news as we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We purchased a Living Social deal for the Banff Ptarmigan Inn, and we were thoroughly impressed. From the moment that we called in to make our reservations, we dealt with the most pleasant and wonderful staff, which continued for the entirety of our stay. This was seriously the most friendly staff I have ever dealt with. Even the cleaning crew went out of their way to say good morning to us, and to ask us how our stay was going. The standard room was decent. Not anything terribly fancy, but nice, clean and comfy. There was soap from the Rocky Mountain Soap Factory in the room, which was a nice touch. Very close to all of the shops and restaurants that we wanted to visit, and the continental breakfast was very nice.

The only real criticism that I could have would be that The Meatball, which is the in house restaurant, has menus up that say that they are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which is currently inaccurate, as they were closed for lunches during our stay. However, when I brought this up to the gent at the front desk, he apologized and said that they were just preparing to change those menus out for the updated information. Not really much of a complaint really, when they are in the midst of rectifying the situation. :o)

We will definitely stay here again, likely in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pros- Great price, great location, great free breakfast, safe and clean, free underground parking.

Cons- The rooms are very small.

The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything.

It seemed to be more of a party hotel for groups of people - which is a pro if that's your thing.

The bathroom is tiny. Sink is outside the bathroom with almost no counterspace and no counter space in the bathroom. We had old towels piled up next to the toilet.

The place is a bit of a maze once you are inside.

The hot tub area leave a lot to be desired. Nothing overly great, but they do the job.

Neutral - They didn't clean our room when we were gone for the day. It wasn't a big deal and they knocked 10% off the price without issue. This was very appreciated.

Overall, given cons above, I would otherwise never stay here again, or recommend i.... But.... the free full breakfast is great. Bacon, eggs, toast, sausage, an omlette station, and free OJ. This is huge value and make this place a place I would recommend and return to. There is huge value in this breakfast. Especially with food prices in Banff. The breakfast really saves this place and I suspect the owners know the downfalls of the hotel, and this is how they make up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The bed was comfortable. The room was spacious (the premium room). We loved the fireplace and hot water maker in the room. We made ourselves hot tea by the fireplace every day after skiing. The jacuzzi tub was definitely nice after a day of skiing as well. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The free breakfast and omelet station rounded out a perfect week at Ptarmigan Inn.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank QBM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#14 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing