We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had to change my reservation date which I thought was non-refundable and they were very accommodating in making this change. The service was great. If you have a standard room you need to know that there are no outside windows. Next time I will pay extra for a superior room. Easy walk to restaurants and shopping on main street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    247
    160
    68
    38
See reviews for
151
293
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cowtown
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for a weekend using a Living Social coupon deal. Hotel is one of the closest to the downtown strip, nice to park the car and walk everywhere. Hotel is an unusual design as many of the rooms do not feature exterior windows and look out over an indoor courtyard or lobby. It probably wouldn't be a big issue except that the rooms were unbelievably warm and even though the hotel provided fans it was difficult to get the room to a comfortable temperature. The included breakfast featured an omelet station in addition to scrambled eggs, meat, yogurt, pastries and fruit. The fitness facility is a treadmill and hand weights in the hot tub area, plus steam room and sauna. Overall it was decent but personally I would pay a bit more for an exterior window. When I returned home I realized I had lost an earring and emailed the hotel to see if it had been found. I received a very prompt reply advising that they had not only checked with housekeeping but they had personally gone and inspected our room. I was impressed that they made that effort!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry about the heat issues you had with your room, this is something we battle with on a daily basis as we try to insure optimum comfort for all of our guest. With the changing temperatures we do not always hit the mark but we have implemented new monitoring programs and procedures to combat the heat in the hotel, so on your next visit we hope you see the difference. Also I wanted to mention that we do have complementary local roam passes available at the desk to get you around town and everywhere you can’t walk to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days while visiting Banff and the surrounding region. It is fabulously located, just off the Main Street. It's not luxury but it is clean and safe. We were given a large room, like a family room although there was only two of us but it was greatly appreciated. Would love to be there now! Thanks for everything.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn and there were improvements. This is your typical 3.5 star Banff hotel, rooms are very clean and the staff is great. Don't expect luxury though, as the hallways are narrow and the lighting could be better. The complementary breakfast is GREAT and the selection of the buffet is of a 4.5 star hotel (better breakfast than the Fox hotel anyways). The location was prime for hitting a pub on the Banff Ave as the walk is very short. Overall I'd stay again because of the value but would not bring somebody from out of town if wanted to "show off" Banff.

Room Tip: Stay on the main level closer to the parking and the lobby. There are elevators but they seem to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping in the near future to renovate the hotel and address the issues you had as well as improve the amenities the hotel has to offer. Please stay tuned for more information on this exciting news as we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We purchased a Living Social deal for the Banff Ptarmigan Inn, and we were thoroughly impressed. From the moment that we called in to make our reservations, we dealt with the most pleasant and wonderful staff, which continued for the entirety of our stay. This was seriously the most friendly staff I have ever dealt with. Even the cleaning crew went out of their way to say good morning to us, and to ask us how our stay was going. The standard room was decent. Not anything terribly fancy, but nice, clean and comfy. There was soap from the Rocky Mountain Soap Factory in the room, which was a nice touch. Very close to all of the shops and restaurants that we wanted to visit, and the continental breakfast was very nice.

The only real criticism that I could have would be that The Meatball, which is the in house restaurant, has menus up that say that they are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which is currently inaccurate, as they were closed for lunches during our stay. However, when I brought this up to the gent at the front desk, he apologized and said that they were just preparing to change those menus out for the updated information. Not really much of a complaint really, when they are in the midst of rectifying the situation. :o)

We will definitely stay here again, likely in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pros- Great price, great location, great free breakfast, safe and clean, free underground parking.

Cons- The rooms are very small.

The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything.

It seemed to be more of a party hotel for groups of people - which is a pro if that's your thing.

The bathroom is tiny. Sink is outside the bathroom with almost no counterspace and no counter space in the bathroom. We had old towels piled up next to the toilet.

The place is a bit of a maze once you are inside.

The hot tub area leave a lot to be desired. Nothing overly great, but they do the job.

Neutral - They didn't clean our room when we were gone for the day. It wasn't a big deal and they knocked 10% off the price without issue. This was very appreciated.

Overall, given cons above, I would otherwise never stay here again, or recommend i.... But.... the free full breakfast is great. Bacon, eggs, toast, sausage, an omlette station, and free OJ. This is huge value and make this place a place I would recommend and return to. There is huge value in this breakfast. Especially with food prices in Banff. The breakfast really saves this place and I suspect the owners know the downfalls of the hotel, and this is how they make up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The bed was comfortable. The room was spacious (the premium room). We loved the fireplace and hot water maker in the room. We made ourselves hot tea by the fireplace every day after skiing. The jacuzzi tub was definitely nice after a day of skiing as well. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The free breakfast and omelet station rounded out a perfect week at Ptarmigan Inn.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.