We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Our group of friends always stays her when we are skiing in Banff! It is a great location (less than a 5 minute walk to downtown), and the breakfast is the best we have seen at any of the hotels in the area! Highly recommended and great value!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    295
    203
    80
    47
See reviews for
185
358
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple nights here, and would go again. The underground parking, the hot breakfast buffet, the location within banff, the cleanliness and size of the room were all amazing factors that would keep me coming back. Friendly staff and the hot tubs were also a plus. All of these positives, you would assume, would be expensive, except the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel was perfect. The rooms were very clean and service was awesome. I found the beds a lumpy and not the most comfortable. The brunch offered in the morning was a perfect start to the day

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. The location is walking distance to the downtown strip. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast (included) was phenomenal, the beds were very comfortable there was free underground parking, internet is complementary and though the hotel was almost at capacity there was no noise. We had an excellent stay and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Welcome home and thank you s much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you had an excellent stay. Just for your information we also offer complementary bus passes to get you all around town for free as well which are available at the front desk. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was looking for a deal to go and ski and stay, there were only deals if I was staying four nights and I could only get away for three. The Ptarmigan Inn was fantastic and a good deal. We were upgraded to a room with fire place for no charge. Hotel staff were weloming and helpful. We had such a great time there. Just so you know, the Rose and Crown pub has a live band during the week, really great place for casual laid back evening:) I hope this helps.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your complementary upgrade. Also glad to hear you enjoyed the local entertainment, we always have tickets available for Wild Bill’s shows at the front desk or lounge that offer an array of musical talent and line dancing… they even have a mechanical Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from annual 11 night holiday in Banff. Hotel is ideally located on the edge of downtown and the ski buses stop right outside. The management and staff are so friendly and will do everything possible to make your stay an enjoyable one. We have stayed at this hotel many times and will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same facilities but we prefer an outside room with a balcony as they are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location is good - right on the main street. No mini fridge in the room. Our bed was very soft and quite uncomfortable. We stayed 5 nights and our room wasn't serviced twice (despite being out for the entire day - I guess they just forgot???) breakfast was included and was fine. Food at the Meatball was good. Twice we ordered room service and had to go down and pick it up ourselves (to avoid a delay as they were busy). The fire alarm went off at 3.30am (apparently set off by a guest and no fault of the hotel.) We chose the Ptarmigan because it was cheaper than other accommodation in Banff (I personally think Banff accommodation is completely overpriced).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I have passed your comments onto our Restaurant manager in regards to your room service experience, they are currently finding solution to fix the problem and avoid delays. For longer stays housekeeping usually don’t service rooms every day to reduce the environmental impact we have on town, but this can avoided by placing your ‘make up room’ sign on the door. We have the benefit in living in a picturesque mountain town which some may consider ‘overpriced’ but we do stay competitive with all the hotels in town. Should you require any additional information or have anything else you would like to mention please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.