We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service at this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Service at this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We got a free room upgrade because our's was a bit too hot, the management was wonderful! The breakfast buffet was also great and the hottubs and underground free parking!!!
The staff were super nice and accomodating! The hotel is a in the best location as its a hop and skip away from all the stores since its on Banff avenue and right next to the main downtown core.

Room Tip: Standard rooms cant control the temperature in them, so it gets pretty warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    250
    166
    68
    38
See reviews for
154
296
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

One night stay just after New Years. Hotel was showing its age, and didn't quite compare to other hotels in the area (such as the Banff Caribou Inn). A few minor things in our room, such as the patio door not locking, the bed was too soft, the TV image quality was poor.

But, the price was excellent, the included breakfast was likewise (the omelette station made it really good), and the staff was great, particularly those in the breakfast restaurant (called Meatballs I believe). It was half a block to the Safeway and the rest of Banff downtown. So if I was looking for a short getaway that won't cost too much, I'd definitely come back to Ptarmigan.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade during low season. When we were there, there must have been only 12-15 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn. I wanted to let you know that the patio door of your room has now been fixed and locks securely. We are also currently in the process of improving the reception and signal quality for all of our TV’s. As for the beds they do have our luxury mountain feather comforters on top of the mattress which is removable for a firmer sleep experience. We look forward to your next stay and should you have any additional concerns or questions please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. We actually had to buy a feather top for our bed because the beds here have 'em... And it's so comfortable.

The breakfast is great and included in the price and its worth it.

They are a few blocks away from where all the action is in the town site.

We'll definitely come back. We try to every year, at least once

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went down for New Years Eve with a group of friends and had a fantastic trip. The underground parking is very nice, rooms were well maintained and perfectly clean when we arrived. They sell themselves short on the website, the breakfast is more than a continental as there was freshly cooked pancakes, meats and eggs each morning as well as the omelette station. Location of the hotel is perfect, especially for New Years eve, it's right on the main drag and took us mere minutes to walk to wherever we wanted to go. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Loved this hotel so much , took a photo and framed it for my wall. Very pleasant stay, unusual inside. Staff very friendly. Had breakfast in one day as staying on RO basis, very good. Hotels location is perfect - walk down the road and you are literally on the most famous photographed street in Banff - unbelievable. Scenery to die for!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here with is us. You will be pleased to know that as of December 21st 2012 all rooms have breakfast included in the rate so on your next trip you will be able to enjoy our breakfast everyday of your stay for FREE!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Booked a superior room ages ago for our Banff adventure. Upon arrival we had been upgraded to a Premier room which was lovely. We were on the top floor overlooking the 'infamous atrium' that I have read so much about. We found the room to be very lovely and the nice part......it had a fire place. Beautiful. Nice big open room with seperate spacious bathroom where for once the bath and the shower were seperate!! Our room included breakfast (see seperate review for restaurant). We had no issues with noise from the atrium or the road. Excellent location, very close to township centre. Would happily stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are always trying to improve our guest service and amenities so I have passed on your comments about the buffet to the restaurant manager and kitchen manager. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us we hope to see you again in the New Year and take advantage of all of our amenities and see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Banff Ptarmigan for quite a number of years for our annual pre-season ski trip, and it is a great place to stay. Beds are comfy, pillows great, and rooms are fine.
Breakfast is always good, and included in the price.
It is a two minute walk to downtown and all the restaurants. Front desk staff have good advice on ski areas and you can buy discounted passes at the desk.
We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: A balcony is nice, but I have stayed on all three floors and the quality is good on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and it seems you took advantage of most of our amenities. Just remember if you’re heading up to the Gondola or further afield we do have complementary Roam bus passes available at the front desk. We all look forward to your next visit in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.