We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Nice and relaxing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Banff
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very good. Nice and relaxing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Booked a superior room ages ago for our Banff adventure. Upon arrival we had been upgraded to a Premier room which was lovely. We were on the top floor overlooking the 'infamous atrium' that I have read so much about. We found the room to be very lovely and the nice part......it had a fire place. Beautiful. Nice big open room with seperate spacious bathroom where for once the bath and the shower were seperate!! Our room included breakfast (see seperate review for restaurant). We had no issues with noise from the atrium or the road. Excellent location, very close to township centre. Would happily stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are always trying to improve our guest service and amenities so I have passed on your comments about the buffet to the restaurant manager and kitchen manager. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us we hope to see you again in the New Year and take advantage of all of our amenities and see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    242
    156
    67
    37
See reviews for
148
283
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Banff Ptarmigan for quite a number of years for our annual pre-season ski trip, and it is a great place to stay. Beds are comfy, pillows great, and rooms are fine.
Breakfast is always good, and included in the price.
It is a two minute walk to downtown and all the restaurants. Front desk staff have good advice on ski areas and you can buy discounted passes at the desk.
We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: A balcony is nice, but I have stayed on all three floors and the quality is good on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and it seems you took advantage of most of our amenities. Just remember if you’re heading up to the Gondola or further afield we do have complementary Roam bus passes available at the front desk. We all look forward to your next visit in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Goods: Great location close to all the shops downtown...literally 200 yards! We had a room on the 3rd floor which had 2 double beds. Great service at front desk!
Bads: Pillows were average and parking was very limited the first weekend of December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn. I will be speaking with my housekeeping manager about the conditions of our pillows to see which ones if any need replacing. Parking at the hotel especially on the weekends can be challenging but we do have 2 levels of underground parking and plenty of parking on either side of the building. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My mum and and I spontaneously decided to head to Banff for my 26th birthday! We decided we wanted to stay over night and since the Ptarmigan was so perfectly located, we decided to try it. We had no problem getting and excellent rate on a room at last minute, and had hoped to park in the underground parking early in the day if it was possible! They not only were great about letting us park there, they also offered for an early check in for us! After spending all day out and about, we came back to the room and we super happy to see the beds looked soo comfortable! We both had a fantastic sleep and awoke to head down for a hot breakfast that was already included in our great room rate! I personally have a lot of allergies and was content with just the fruit salad on the buffet, but Alex, the morning chef, happily offered to make me something off the menu that I could enjoy! It was bloody fantastic! Thank you for a great stay and a great celebration night for my birthday! We will see you again! Cheers! Xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was here over the weekend for a company xmas party. That being said, I think we got ripped off even though we didnt pay for it!

The positives:
Front desk staff: A+ Everyone from the front desk we encountered was excellent, very friendly and accommodating.
Parking: Very happy to have free parking, and a free bus pass (which we didnt use) as well.
Breakfast: Great hot breakfast in the morning, a bit of a limited selection, but the omelette station made up for it.

The negatives:
The room. Just awful. Dingy, dark, unkept. The bed had sunk in on two spots where people would lay, and it would show even through the bed when made - with sheets, comforter and everything. It was disgusting, and I barely wanted to sleep in it. The roof was cracking, and at some points I would look up and think we were going to be crushed by the ceiling (luckily we werent). There was also not enough light in the room, one wall sconce, one table lamp and one tall lamp for the whole room? It was awful.

Staff besides the front desk: The waitresses at the breakfast were complete [-]. So rude, probably just because they thought no one would tip them for a free breakfast. I brought some change to tip them, but after the service I received, hell no.

Housekeeping: Had to request housekeeping to come clean our room, and even after that, it still wasnt clean. I had a bottle of tylenol on the bedside table, and when I came back to the room it was knocked over, and there were pills all over the floor! It was all wasted, and they didnt even bother to clean up the mess THEY had made.

Hot tubs/workout area: Disgusting. Who wants to go in those nasty little tubs when there is someone working out 5 feet from you? I also saw people going from working out into the hot tubs without showering, and then going back. Nasty.

Overall, I would never stay here again. If a future company tries to put me up again here, I will not let them waste their money and my time again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am deeply sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations in all facets of your experience. Rest assured I have passed on all the details of your stay to the appropriate managers and we are working diligently to make sure that the experience you had does not happen again. I also wanted to let you know that in the near future the hotel will be renovating and making improvements to both our spa area and hotel rooms to hopefully end the issues you had during your stay. Although we will be renovating in the future, until then we will be making every effort to tackle the problems you listed to improve both our customer service and the guest experience. If you have any additional comments or would like more information please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I find myself in Banff quite often, and the Ptarmigan is always my go-to hotel. The staff is always very welcoming and accomodating, check in and out is painless and quick. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfy. Location is perfect, just a block away from the downtown shops and eateries. And the underground heated parking is very welcoming on the cold Alberta evenings.
Added bonus was the included full, hot breakfast in the morning. Much better than the standard breakfasts you find at most hotels.
Overall, I always enjoy my stay and always recommend it to friends and family looking for a great place, at a great price, to stay when visiting Banff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Welcome home Amber M and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. I see you made use of all of our amenities, I also wanted to mention that we do offer complementary bus tickets on the towns Roam bus to get you where you need to go. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel in November. The check-in and check-out were seamless, staff were pleasant, and the room, bed and bedding was fine. The hotel furnishings are a bit dated, but overall we had no problems. Underground heated parking was welcome, as was the easy walking distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. The two jacuzzi tubs were relaxing to soak in, one being a few degrees hotter than the other by design. Unfortunately, the timer for the jets wasn't working on one tub, and the other would cut out after 5 minutes. There was a water cooler there, but the cup dispenser hadn't been refilled and was empty. Bonus points for the steam and dry saunas....they were very enjoyable. The breakfast buffet was excellent....we avoided the skier's rush and went after 9 AM. Decent selection of items, and having an omelette station there was great. There are much nicer hotels in Banff, but considering the location, parking, and hot breakfast for two for under a hundred bucks, you can't beat the value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.