We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to all amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Close to all amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in the premium queen room with jacuzzi tub. I was hoping the the tub would be larger, but it is deep. Seperate shower which is always a bonus. This hotel was within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Parking was provided. The staff were very friendly. I would stay again as the price is fairly average for a stay in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    235
    141
    64
    37
See reviews for
138
269
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, having come to Banff for the Gran Fondo bike race. The room was clean, and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet and omelette station was very nice, though we skipped the restaurant and went down the street to check out the shops and eat dinner. My only complaint was that the open atrium made it loud at night until about 11, which was only a problem because we had a young infant who was trying to sleep.

Room Tip: Get the superior room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Having read the other comments I wonder why people don't do research and look on trip advisor before booking! I read that the standard rooms were inside facing the inner hall so booked a superior room on the outside with a balcony. I also knew that there was no air conditioning but we opened the door to the balcony in the evening and the room cooled down. Yes, the bathroom was small and the decor dated and I hate pillow top mattresses. But, the breakfast was fine, the omelettes good and the location great. We ate in the bar one night and the food was good, the free bus pass was good too. You get what you pay for and for hotel for 2 nights with breakfast and secure parking, it was fine. Banff isn't a cheap destination!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. One tip for future reference – our beds have a removable feather bed topper (feels like a pillow top) and we are happy to remove this for any guest which prefer a firm mattress, just let us know either prior to your arrival or even at check in and we will take care of it for you. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

On the plus side, this hotel was in a good location as far as Banff was concerned, as it was close to many of the area's attractions. As well, my room was clean and well maintained. However, the hotel was not air conditioned, which made it hard at times to sleep at night. In addition, I was given a room facing an indoor atrium, which was a disappointment for me, as I was looking forward to a view of the Rockies! When I return to Banff, I'll stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay in a room with an exterior view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent 2 hot August nights here. We are used to airconditioning, but that doesn't seem to be the norm in the Rockies. We had an interior room and it was stuffy and hot as it opened onto an inner courtyard. The staff were all very nice and they switched us to a room with a window for our second night. Much better! We had dinner at the restaurant both nights and buffet breakfast in the morning. Nothing special, but no complaints either. Very pleasant staff in the restaurant. The location is convenient right in the centre of Banff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Lovely airy lobby, great restaurant on a lower floor for an Italian meal, although the breakfast in the same place was mixed, cold coffee and juices were only available from the few staff walking around the room, otherwise good selection of breakfast foods. The bedroom was large and airy dueto a high ceiling, the bathroom was too small to use with my wheelchair but nice. Locked underground car park too

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Welcome home and thank you very much for writing your review. We are very glad to hear that you found your stay to be enjoyable. We also wanted to let you know that we have wheelchair specific rooms available, which may help to enhance tour stay in the future. Please just let us know if your request in the future and we will do our best to assign one of these rooms to you. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The owners/management of this place should be ashamed! Booking here is definitely an exercise in "buyer beware!" They fail to state that there is no air conditioning in the hotel rooms (nice to know in the middle of summer!). In addition, they somehow fail to disclose that a "standard room" is an inside room with no exterior windows and overlooking an atrium where the slightest noise can be heard by all. If they have an exterior room, you have to pay extra. The website we used to book this place is equally guilty in failing to demand the truth about these facts.

The absence of honesty and professionalism here is sad.

Room Tip: If you have any concerns, call the hotel and get verified confirmation of what has been promised. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however I did want to point out that we do actually specify on “OUR” web site - Standard rooms have either an atrium or lobby view and feature
• Two queen, or one queen Mountain Luxury bed.
• Cable TV, Coffee maker, tea kettle, hairdryer.
We are not in the practice, nor are many hotels, of listing items that are not available in the hotel or rooms, we are not trying to be dishonest, however do not feel it necessary to list items that are not being offered. Our Superior rooms (exterior rooms) are available at an extra charge over and above the Standard room rate, although when we have extra rooms available we may offer an upgrade free of charge, however in the summer months and other bust times we are very busy, and the guests that have booked and paid for a Superior room receive them first.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.